We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staff Anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aninga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aninga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
St. Peters, MO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Staff Anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This property I believe is owned and managed by Pachira Lodge. The best thing about this place is that the units sit separately as individual units (like cabins) and you have windows on 3 sides of your unit. This is VERY important considering you do not have air conditioning in this region. Each has their own bathroom. All the windows are covered in fine screen & do not close so if you're chatting with someone, keep your voices down as it echoes in the jungle. The shower will give you "warm" water for about 5-10 minutes. I recommend taking a small flashlight with you when you are staying in this area as lighting is spread out. This area of Costa Rica has a LOT of humidity!!! They even have a handicap accessible cabin but you have to take a BOAT to get to this property. This is not an easy task getting in/out of a boat for someone with mobility issues!

The staff at this property is Fabulous! The manager does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable. Want to spot a Toucan or Slouth? Ask the housekeeping ladies and they will hand walk you to areas and find them in the trees for you! Nicest ladies ever!

The food was good but you get buffets for all 3 meals. This might not be the place to go for a really picky eater although they do try to accommodate special requests. Dinner they tend to offer 1 salad, 1 roll, 1 type of mixed veggie, rice, black beans, 1 soup, 1 fish option and 1 chicken or beef option. Along of course with 1 dessert. I didn't care for an of the cakes they had because the moisture ruins the bottoms and makes them soggy. The cheesecake they served was very good! The manager is right there serving food with the staff. They set aside tables so that parties traveling together can dine together.

I was told going in that this property didn't even have wifi access, that should I want it, I would have to go across the river into town to an internet café. I was pleasantly surprised to see that not only that they did have wifi access in their lounge room, it was FREE to guests. You have to bring your own laptop, ipad or smart phone because they do not have computers for you to use.

I did a fabulous tour that I booked through the front desk of the resort. August is egg laying season for the Giant Sea Turtles and they run 2 tours each night out to the beach to watch the turtles lay their eggs and then cover them up & head back out to sea (8pm & 10pm). They are limited to the # of people they take. It cost $40 and was one of the best tours I have ever had the pleasure to do. Some people will tell you that you need to take a "red" flashlight if you want to do this tour. Do not waste your money buying one because the only people allowed to use a red flashlight out on the beach to see the turtles are the conservation guides that take the group out there. No cameras, video recorders or phones allowed out on this tour...they are very strict about this.

I recommend doing a river cruise with a guide that will take you out to see the monkeys, slouths, caimens, birds etc. The guides are WAY more experienced with finding the wildlife than any of us would ever be.

The bartenders can make some really good pina coladas at the resort car.

I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a unique jungle experience at a place with a GREAT staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisegaldiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    69
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a Caravan tour. The road to the boat launch is an adventure in itself. I just found out there are cheap flights from San Jose to Tortugero that get you there in 25 minutes, which is what we might do when we return. The lack of A.C. was no issue; the cottage ceiling fan did the job. Consider buying a bug shirt or bug jacket and a flashlight with a red lens before you travel here. The beach is rugged, as is the village. If your idea of Costa Rica is Escazu, this place is not for you. We loved it. Local guide / naturalist named Johnny is outstanding.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millbrook2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked a 13 day Costa Rica trip through Gate 1 and didn't know what to expect at first, this was our first trip to the jungle. The 3 day and 2night stay at Aninga Lodge was as pictured in the information also as stated NO A/C, no problem, the room had a ceiling fan and that made it comfortable and quiet. We could hear the noises of the jungle. There are two pools that were not over crowded and the food was very good and fresh. We took the optional night tour to see the turtles lay eggs on the beach, there are better times of the year to see this. This was a relaxing and exciting experience. Suggestions, take bug spray, sunsreen, closed toe shoes ( old sneakers or shoes ) and don't forget a FLASHLIGHT with a red lens if you can find one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

On a tour of Costa Rica our tour company booked us at this hotel. It is only accessible by boat. It is totally in the rainforest, very unforgettable experience!! We had our own cabin with 1 double bed and 1 twin, desk, and bathroom with shower (hot and cold water). There is electricity but NO phone, NO TV, and NO AC. Very rustic in that way but it was all part of the experience. There WILL be bugs in your room, no matter how hard we would try somehow they got in, bring bug spray! Also the whole cabin is open to air with screens, no glass windows. You can hear all the noises of the rainforest day and night!! The food was typical costarican and it was average. There is no other place to eat and all of our meals were included. You have to be taken by boat into tortugero to buy anything. The pool area was nice. Bar was ok drinks ok. They have a spa which was nice and we had a massage for half price. We had guided tours which were great! There were tons of wildlife right out your front door! Howler monkeys and sloths with babies!! Soo cute! It was a once in a life time experience and I would recommend it more to the outdoorsy types!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGolamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Visiting for two nights as part of a 10-day Costa Rica package. Facilities are individual cabins with a porch with rocking chairs. No air conditioning but there were ceiling fans and that was enough in March. Pool area was great - the spa was nice - massages were reasonably priced and very nice. Food was simple and filling, some of the best we had on the trip. Boats into the canals for wildlife viewing were great - be sure to bring your camera. Local guide Adrian knew his stuff. Wildlife was everywhere - including a colony of howler monkeys who provided our morning wakeup call Staff was very friendly. wi-fi available in the lodge area - but no phones and no tv - but you don't come to Costa Rica to watch TV. Coffee served at your door on the first morning - but a 5:30, so don't plan to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoDDSTravelingteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here early February for a two night tour. The accommodation is in individual cabins with a verandah complete with rocking chairs. This is an ideal setting for observing and hearing the wildlife e.g. howler monkeys, toucans, spider monkeys etc. The guide for the tours was helpful as well as very knowledgeable. The food was served buffet style and although there was limited choice it was more than adequate. Be prepared for an early start on the first day! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired-08-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aninga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aninga Lodge

Property: Aninga Lodge
Address: Canal Principal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aninga Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aninga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing