We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay while exploring.”
Review of Aninga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aninga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay while exploring.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I loved this place. All the comforts right there in the jungle. Staff and food were great and there was lots of wildlife right above us in the trees. Monkeys, iguanas, parrots and macaws. They offer boat trips up the Tortuguera and penitensia rivers and the ocean is only 5 minutes away by boat. Lots to see everyday.

Room Tip: All the cabins have their own space with privacy and jungle around them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobboB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    74
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After a long bus ride to the river bank, we boarded our covered boat for a speedy ride to Ahninga Lodge. This took about 1 hr, 15 minutes. There was enough water in the river so we didn't have to push the boat.
We were warmly greeted upon arrival at the lodge's dock, and welcomed with an exotic non-alcoholic drink. It was delicious.
We were immediately served a buffet style lunch in the dining room, and were given keys to our private "hut". The huts and the walkways are built on stilts for a reason; to keep away any unwanted visitors. Warned to keep our door always closed, we were told "friends" may come to visit your room. These friends include, geckos, lizards, huge grasshoppers, and 3 feet iguanas!
We had no problems with any unwanted visitors as we did what we were told. If anything came into your room all you had to do was call the staff and they would remove the animals.
The staff was fantastic at the lodge. In the mornings they came around to your hut with a cart to offer you coffee, tea or hot chocolate, while you were getting ready in the morning, before you went down to the dining room for your warm buffet style breakfast.
Amila, the hotel manager went out of her way to make sure we had a good time. Hats off to her.
As we left the lodge on our boat two days later, Amila stayed on the dock waving goodbye, until we were out of sight. What hotel manager would ever do that? It was so appreciated.
Although the rooms were simple and rustic in decor, we did have a safe for valuables, a fan to keep you cool, and a private bathroom, with shower and toilet. There is no AC, due to the remoteness of the lodge, but found it part of the charm of being in the jungle. If you wanted to cool off, a dip in the "turtle" pool did the job. There are no alarm clocks either. The howler monkeys will take care of that. It was suggested to us to purchase a small flashlight, just in case the power went out, or to guide your way in the evening, even though the walkways are lit around the lodge at night. There is also a bar if you wanted to purchase a drink. There is free wifi in the lobby or you could purchase a wifi package if you wanted to use it in your room. The free wifi did go out for half a day, as we had a heavy rain during the evening and knocked it out for a while.
We had two separate river cruise excursions with Johnny. Johnny, a local guide, was fun, enthusiastic, and knowledgable.
If you want an exotic, laid back time in the jungle, this is the place to be. We had a great time.
Thank you Ahninga Lodge

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONE-CAN-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Howler Monkeys, sloths, tree frogs, basilisks and toucans - that was all within the first hour!!! Nestled in the middle of the jungle, our own individual little cabin was clean, bright and comfortable. The ceiling fan and screened windows helped keep it cool. We enjoyed spending time in the rocking chairs on the veranda- we saw lots of wildlife right from our porch- a possum, butterflies and birds by the dozens!
The swimming pool area was well maintained and the included meals were good.

My favorite though was the staff- they were friendly and very courteous. We received an amazing drink of pineapple, fruits, umbrellas and tropical flowers simply because it was our 25th anniversary during Calypso night! Additionally the maintenance guy showed us several poison dart frogs, basilisks and even a Mexican porcupine in a tree one evening- he really made our wildlife viewing trip very memorable!

While in Costa Rica we toured around the country and stayed in six different locations- this was definitely in the top two!! Definitely come and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were happy with our stay at the Aninga Lodge! It is little cabins/houses in the middle of beautiful nature. There are lots of monkeys and other wildlife like birds around. The cabins are really comfortable and clean! There is no internet or TV there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Aninga lodge was arranged for us by a travel agent who recommended it because of the individual bungalos. The cabins were basic but nice and clean. They had ceiling fans and screen windows. They had a lovely pool area and the food was all included. In the morning we were awakened by howler monkeys which we were able to see in the trees right around the cabins.
The safe was too small for a laptop and the wifi was only near reception.

Room Tip: A room very close to reception might be able to get the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igotmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Peters, MO
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This property I believe is owned and managed by Pachira Lodge. The best thing about this place is that the units sit separately as individual units (like cabins) and you have windows on 3 sides of your unit. This is VERY important considering you do not have air conditioning in this region. Each has their own bathroom. All the windows are covered in fine screen & do not close so if you're chatting with someone, keep your voices down as it echoes in the jungle. The shower will give you "warm" water for about 5-10 minutes. I recommend taking a small flashlight with you when you are staying in this area as lighting is spread out. This area of Costa Rica has a LOT of humidity!!! They even have a handicap accessible cabin but you have to take a BOAT to get to this property. This is not an easy task getting in/out of a boat for someone with mobility issues!

The staff at this property is Fabulous! The manager does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable. Want to spot a Toucan or Slouth? Ask the housekeeping ladies and they will hand walk you to areas and find them in the trees for you! Nicest ladies ever!

The food was good but you get buffets for all 3 meals. This might not be the place to go for a really picky eater although they do try to accommodate special requests. Dinner they tend to offer 1 salad, 1 roll, 1 type of mixed veggie, rice, black beans, 1 soup, 1 fish option and 1 chicken or beef option. Along of course with 1 dessert. I didn't care for an of the cakes they had because the moisture ruins the bottoms and makes them soggy. The cheesecake they served was very good! The manager is right there serving food with the staff. They set aside tables so that parties traveling together can dine together.

I was told going in that this property didn't even have wifi access, that should I want it, I would have to go across the river into town to an internet café. I was pleasantly surprised to see that not only that they did have wifi access in their lounge room, it was FREE to guests. You have to bring your own laptop, ipad or smart phone because they do not have computers for you to use.

I did a fabulous tour that I booked through the front desk of the resort. August is egg laying season for the Giant Sea Turtles and they run 2 tours each night out to the beach to watch the turtles lay their eggs and then cover them up & head back out to sea (8pm & 10pm). They are limited to the # of people they take. It cost $40 and was one of the best tours I have ever had the pleasure to do. Some people will tell you that you need to take a "red" flashlight if you want to do this tour. Do not waste your money buying one because the only people allowed to use a red flashlight out on the beach to see the turtles are the conservation guides that take the group out there. No cameras, video recorders or phones allowed out on this tour...they are very strict about this.

I recommend doing a river cruise with a guide that will take you out to see the monkeys, slouths, caimens, birds etc. The guides are WAY more experienced with finding the wildlife than any of us would ever be.

The bartenders can make some really good pina coladas at the resort car.

I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a unique jungle experience at a place with a GREAT staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisegaldiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a Caravan tour. The road to the boat launch is an adventure in itself. I just found out there are cheap flights from San Jose to Tortugero that get you there in 25 minutes, which is what we might do when we return. The lack of A.C. was no issue; the cottage ceiling fan did the job. Consider buying a bug shirt or bug jacket and a flashlight with a red lens before you travel here. The beach is rugged, as is the village. If your idea of Costa Rica is Escazu, this place is not for you. We loved it. Local guide / naturalist named Johnny is outstanding.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millbrook2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,063 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aninga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aninga Lodge

Property: Aninga Lodge
Address: Canal Principal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aninga Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a network of the scenic canals, this Lodge is located in one of the most exotic regions of the world, characterized by its rich flora and fauna. This lovely lodge has 32 comfortable spacious bungalows with comfortable beds, private bathrooms, hot water and ceiling fans, also there is a beautiful swimming pool. Aninga Lodge has an excellent restaurant and bar service and we also offer bilingual guided tours throughout the Tortuguero area. While designing the place, our priority was to respect the environment, that's why 80% of the hotel is constructed 1.5 m (5 feet) above the ground. Restaurant, bungalows and walking trails are built on stilts, it allows not only to protect the natural habitat of animals but also lets you enjoy the panoramic view of the tropical rainforest. Moreover our determination to preserve the environment inspired us to create a Water Treatment Plant that prevents contamination of the waters in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aninga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing