We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the jungle”
Review of Aninga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aninga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Living in the jungle”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Lodge consisting of a large number of wooden houses (2 persons each) directly in the jungle. The buildings are connected via wooden walk ways. We found the house comfortable and in good condition.
Food was very good and the staff friendly and helpful.
The lodge can only be reached by boat.
We took the 1h boat trip from Cano Blanco, which by itself is already a beautiful tour.
A place to recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GF_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    71
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
85
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Beautiful facility with abundant wildlife. As soon as we arrived on the way to our hut we saw a howler monkey with her baby right above us in the trees. That was just the start of our adventure as we saw many other critters over the following days including poison dart frogs, iguana, land crabs, big spiders, toucan and parrots. The huts are very clean - really comfortable cabins with ceiling fans. The windows are screened. For those who just have to have Wi-Fi, it is available in the dining area! But really this is such a lovely facility in a beautiful jungle environment you should really just lose you in the atmosphere and forget all worries. The staff is so very courteous and friendly. Food was buffet style and excellent. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dulamach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I loved this place. All the comforts right there in the jungle. Staff and food were great and there was lots of wildlife right above us in the trees. Monkeys, iguanas, parrots and macaws. They offer boat trips up the Tortuguera and penitensia rivers and the ocean is only 5 minutes away by boat. Lots to see everyday.

Room Tip: All the cabins have their own space with privacy and jungle around them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobboB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After a long bus ride to the river bank, we boarded our covered boat for a speedy ride to Ahninga Lodge. This took about 1 hr, 15 minutes. There was enough water in the river so we didn't have to push the boat.
We were warmly greeted upon arrival at the lodge's dock, and welcomed with an exotic non-alcoholic drink. It was delicious.
We were immediately served a buffet style lunch in the dining room, and were given keys to our private "hut". The huts and the walkways are built on stilts for a reason; to keep away any unwanted visitors. Warned to keep our door always closed, we were told "friends" may come to visit your room. These friends include, geckos, lizards, huge grasshoppers, and 3 feet iguanas!
We had no problems with any unwanted visitors as we did what we were told. If anything came into your room all you had to do was call the staff and they would remove the animals.
The staff was fantastic at the lodge. In the mornings they came around to your hut with a cart to offer you coffee, tea or hot chocolate, while you were getting ready in the morning, before you went down to the dining room for your warm buffet style breakfast.
Amila, the hotel manager went out of her way to make sure we had a good time. Hats off to her.
As we left the lodge on our boat two days later, Amila stayed on the dock waving goodbye, until we were out of sight. What hotel manager would ever do that? It was so appreciated.
Although the rooms were simple and rustic in decor, we did have a safe for valuables, a fan to keep you cool, and a private bathroom, with shower and toilet. There is no AC, due to the remoteness of the lodge, but found it part of the charm of being in the jungle. If you wanted to cool off, a dip in the "turtle" pool did the job. There are no alarm clocks either. The howler monkeys will take care of that. It was suggested to us to purchase a small flashlight, just in case the power went out, or to guide your way in the evening, even though the walkways are lit around the lodge at night. There is also a bar if you wanted to purchase a drink. There is free wifi in the lobby or you could purchase a wifi package if you wanted to use it in your room. The free wifi did go out for half a day, as we had a heavy rain during the evening and knocked it out for a while.
We had two separate river cruise excursions with Johnny. Johnny, a local guide, was fun, enthusiastic, and knowledgable.
If you want an exotic, laid back time in the jungle, this is the place to be. We had a great time.
Thank you Ahninga Lodge

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONE-CAN-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Howler Monkeys, sloths, tree frogs, basilisks and toucans - that was all within the first hour!!! Nestled in the middle of the jungle, our own individual little cabin was clean, bright and comfortable. The ceiling fan and screened windows helped keep it cool. We enjoyed spending time in the rocking chairs on the veranda- we saw lots of wildlife right from our porch- a possum, butterflies and birds by the dozens!
The swimming pool area was well maintained and the included meals were good.

My favorite though was the staff- they were friendly and very courteous. We received an amazing drink of pineapple, fruits, umbrellas and tropical flowers simply because it was our 25th anniversary during Calypso night! Additionally the maintenance guy showed us several poison dart frogs, basilisks and even a Mexican porcupine in a tree one evening- he really made our wildlife viewing trip very memorable!

While in Costa Rica we toured around the country and stayed in six different locations- this was definitely in the top two!! Definitely come and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were happy with our stay at the Aninga Lodge! It is little cabins/houses in the middle of beautiful nature. There are lots of monkeys and other wildlife like birds around. The cabins are really comfortable and clean! There is no internet or TV there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Aninga lodge was arranged for us by a travel agent who recommended it because of the individual bungalos. The cabins were basic but nice and clean. They had ceiling fans and screen windows. They had a lovely pool area and the food was all included. In the morning we were awakened by howler monkeys which we were able to see in the trees right around the cabins.
The safe was too small for a laptop and the wifi was only near reception.

Room Tip: A room very close to reception might be able to get the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igotmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aninga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aninga Lodge

Property: Aninga Lodge
Address: Canal Principal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aninga Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aninga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing