We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience”
Review of Toucan & Tarpon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toucan & Tarpon
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Great family experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I came to Costa Rica with my 2 kids (12 & 10) and my husband. Our first stop was in Tortuguero for an unknown number of days. I must say, our time there was excellent. We arrived via Nature Air from San Jose and Jeff was waiting there for us with the resorts boat to pick us up. It was raining pretty hard and was cool outside - Sue was waiting for us to return and gave us warm tea and coffee and fresh banana bread. We instantly felt welcome here.
We got into our 4 person cabana - which was awesome. there was shelves and room under the beds to put our luggage. It was also nice to have the kids sleeping in different beds and not having to share. I had the best nap that day - the cabanas have lots of screens around it instead of solid walls, so I could hear the rain, the monkeys and feel the breeze from the jungle. For the same reasons sleeping at night was some of the best sleeps - you are somedays woke up early by the howler monkeys, which is pretty cool. After all isn't that why you are in Costa Rice - to experience the jungle?
I was pretty hot there so the kids spent lots of time in the pool to cool off. It is a small pool, but big enough for the kids to have fun in and for me to cool off in only to return to the beautiful sunshine.
Jeff and Sue had a platform set up with fruit that encouraged toucans and other birds as well as beautiful butterflies to come feed at a close distance.
Being surrounded by the jungle made it easy to see wildlife and Jeff and Sue would point stuff out as they would see it throughout the day. We also did a night tour right from the property - that was awesome!!
If we needed anything - Jeff and Sue were more than happy to accommodate - from being up early to feed breakfast to making sure we had a water taxi to pick us up to seeing us off on our final day.
The highlight for my husband and son had to be the fishing. They caught a 90lb tarpon, a 40 lb stingray and some other fish. Jeff & the fishing guide were great in helping with bringing in these fish. The boat was great for getting the fishermen in and out of the sea.
All in all, this was the favourite part of our trip and definitely plan to return to Toucan & Tarpon Lodge in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandia41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    21
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

On our 17-days-trip through Costa Rica this Januarz, we stayed two nights in the beautiful lodge "Toucan & Tarpon" in Tortuguero. Our stay in Tortuguero at "Toucan & Tarpon" was definitely one of our highlights on our trip.
The lodge is situated at the riverside, just opposite Tortuguero village, in the middle of the jungle. If you really want to experience the Costa Rican rainforest wildlife, this is absolutely the place to do so. The very nice huts are situated just in between giant jungle trees. Hammocks at the riverside invite to relax in the sun and watch all sorts of exotic birds, howling monkeys, iguanas, colorful butterflies and many more interesting animals.
The huts are comfortable and clean and a separate kitchen offers everything, which is needed to cook your own meal. If one wants, it is possible to hike in the jungle area around the lodge, which gives a real feeling of costa rican jungle wildlife.

What we enjoyed most is the exceptionally warm and welcoming atmosphere of the lodge. Sue and Jeff are extraordinarily nice hosts, who really care about their guests. Sue prepared us the best breakfast in our whole time in Costa Rica and supported us, whenever we needed something. They also care very much about an eco-friendly concept of the lodge and try to make it a good place for birds, monkeys, butterflies and other animals.

It really felt like home throughout our stay and it was hard to leave after two nights. If we will come back one day to Tortuguero, it will definitely be at "Toucan & Tarpon".

Andy & Mareike

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooij, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed for 4 days, and really enjoyed our stay there in The middle of The jungle. Sue, our host was great! Her warmth and hospidilaty made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious (best self made cinamon rolls ever!) and she also cooked a nice meal for us.

At tucan and tarpon we could realy experiemce the jungle, there were spider monkeys above our cabin And at night you could here all kind of sounds from the jungle.
From out of our hammocks we could see all kind of birds passing by, (two kinds of tucans for excample) .

Last day we borrowed a canoe and made very nice trip into the parc, recommendable.

The cabin was plain, but nice. Lots of window from where you can see what happens around you in the jungle....!!!
Sue has a nice kitchen and there was lots of stuff we could use, perfect.

We have nice memories of tucan and tarpon and we will never forget our host Sue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesseljob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

All the previous posters are so correct, from sailingNorango's comments of Sue and Jeff's accommodating nature, to the location description by Jason as 'perfect' as the jungle shade means not having to listen to an A/C unit howl, and all the flora and fauna with your host's knowledge of what you are enjoying looking at and experiencing.
River fishing for me was as fun as the ocean (and believe me the action on the ocean was fabulous)
This Caribbean coast vacation location was sooo peaceful and relaxing compared to the ramped-up Pacific-side tourist hustle (although it is beautiful in most of this unique country), it is definitely the less hustle here.
I should be talking more about the fishing; when you hook into a tarpon, there really is nothing like it.
Thanks again Sue and Jeff.
Sherry and I will be back!!!
Hola, Ken

Room Tip: Rest peacefully, there is NO bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were heading to Tortuguero and had nothing booked. After reading all the great reviews about this place we decided to contact Sue the night before we arrived in Tortuguero, very short notice. The boat dropped us directly in front of Toucan and Tarpon's dock but Sue was waiting for us in town, not knowing that we would go directly. It was mid-afternoon when we arrived, and we loved the place instantly. Sue and Jeff greeted us with a nice cup of coffee and started telling us all about the animals on their nice property, just like what we would do with friends and we felt at home right away. We had our daughter with us so one cabin is bit too small. Sue generously provided us with two cabins for the price of one. The cabins are simple but nicely decorated with linens from Guatemala. The beds and pillows are super comfy, and the shower worked great. The cabins are right in front of a forest trail, so animals frequented very often. Within minutes we arrived, we spotted beautiful butterflies and birds at Sue's feeder. We booked an early canoe tour and Sue got up at 5 to prepare a nice breakfast for us, what a treat. We are so happy that we made a decision to stay even though there are tons of hotels in town. Toucan and Tarpon is unique. At the end of the trip, not only have we visited a magical place, we made two more friends who we would like to keep in touch in the future. If you are on your way to Tortuguero, definitely pay them a visit, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailingNorango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

What a perfect location. Town is just across the river and the ocean is just down river. The cabins are tucked into the jungle to shade them from the sun and the wildlife is right there. We saw more wildlife around the lodge than anywhere else on our trip. The fishing was great, you can stand on the dock and catch smaller fish in the river or go with Jeff on their fishing boat out to the ocean. The ocean was full of life and we saw tarpon rising all around the boat. The boat was very comfortable and had lots of room. The cabins were comfortable and Jeff and Sue are great hosts. This was the highlight of our trip

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a great spot for vacation! The rooms are situated at the edge of the jungle, so they are cool with tropical breezes. They also afford an experience second to none - with close up views of monkeys, birds and butterfly's. The location is terrific (across from the village, with a fun trip over in a water taxi), and out the back door are lovely trails through the jungle.

We liked the fact that the lodge is off - grid, and follows environmentally sound practices. We also liked the fact that there are only 3 cabina's, so it was quiet, and not overrun with other tourists. Sue, our host, is an excellent cook, and was able to book our family into fun adventures, such as a guided canoe tour, zip-lining for the kids, etc. The kids also like the splash pool!

Jeff our fishing guide hooked us up with river and ocean fish - my husband even bagged a tarpon! The kids enjoyed the river fishing. Very nice boat!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#12 of 34 in Tortuguero
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#9 of 34 in Tortuguero
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.0 mi away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#6 of 34 in Tortuguero
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toucan & Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan & Tarpon

Property: Toucan & Tarpon
Address: Across From the Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer nightly and long-term stays and also fishing packages (we owned & operated a fishing lodge in Canada's remote north for 18 years), and can arrange travel to Tortuguero from San Jose, as well as jungle and turtle tours with local guides. We are two minutes from the village centre yet completely removed from the hustle of village life. We offer a true jungle experience. We have a small yoga studio (the only one in Tortuguero), and a canoe to borrow (and which we use, with motor, for fully-guided river tours/fishing on a budget). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Toucan & Tarpon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing