We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aracari Garden Hostel(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cabinas Beyetty(Tortuguero)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
All Rankins Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Koschny(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Coshnny(Tortuguero)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Meriscar(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Rana Roja Lodge(Tortuguero)
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pachira Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
72
25
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
25
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the rivercanoe tourwater taxinight tourbanana breadsolar powerno hot waterown mealstortuguero villageexcellent breakfastmain villageshared kitchenhowler monkeyscosta ricajungle experiencenational parkcool off
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

With a family of five we stayed two nights in Toucan and tarpon. A top spot on the other side of the river from Tortuguero, which reminded me a bit of Venice, so full of tourists. Understandably, because the egg laying turtles are unique. Still, we liked it a lot to have our home for two days away from the village. The host Ever is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area and it's flora and fauna. We did a night tour and a canoe tour with him, especially the latter is a not-to-miss.
Breakfast was great, all freshly cooked: banana bread, cinnamon rolls, toast, eggs and fruit in abundance.
We had one cabin that accommodated five ok. Room sufficient, beds ok, shower present

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Holger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We decided to stay here since the reviews were fairly good. However our experiences were a quit bit different. The excellent breakfast proposed to us on Booking did not occur. It was simple toast and jam for most days. Sometimes an egg was available but the wife of Ever had to be in a good mood. We agree with some reviews that she sometimes did not welcome guests as much as I would expect. The cabin was smaller than we thought it would be and there was no room to put your luggage, other than the bunkbed next to our own bed. It was very very hot and there is no fan available. There are also no shutters in front of the windows so all you have to keep anyone from seeing you are the drapes that do not completely cover the windows. The bed we slept on was really hard. Power kept failing, the first night it went out 4 times in 15 minutes. Other nights there was no power at all. Ever does his best but is also very occupied with running the place and preparing it for the high season. We were there in the low season and maybe that contributed to the feeling of not always feeling welcome. The surroundings are nice and we did see them trying but not always being up to the task of running the place as best as they problably could. All and all, I wouldn't really advise this accommodation to others, even though they do try.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Exuperance123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

4 days was not long enough. Fly fished from the dock! Ever took us on trips to see wildlife in national park by boat. Animals and birds all around the accommodation. One of the most spectacular and spellbinding places we have been to. Ever the host helped us get boat trip back for bus connection too. So good to be on this side of the river!! Fresh river fish very tasty too! Ever found us a sloth right next door and a small tree frog on our patio

Room Tip: All are in jungle and excellent
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Toucan and Tarpon is a resort like I've never been to before. It is located in the jungle and is opposite side of the river to the main town - the only way to get there is a short boat ride. We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in March 2017.

As it is in the jungle it is surrounded by a lot of wildlife, and during our stay we saw wild parrots, spider and howler monkeys (even got a wake up call from a howler monkey one day), fire flies, toucans, lizards, amongst other animals just at the resort; which was incredible.

The water taxis will charge $2 per person per trip for transport across the river to the main town, but the owner Ever will most likely give you lifts across the river in exchange for some petrol money at the end of the trip.

The place is run on solar power and the resort can get pretty dark after sunset (~6pm) - a torch of some sort is definitely required.

As per the main town, the resort is extremely laid back and it is easy to chill in the luscious gardens.

The rooms themselves were individual cabins, which are adequately sized; we stayed in a room with a double bed with a top bunk which consisted of a single bed with another separate single bed; so it could've fit 4 people in altogether. The room was very clean.

Breakfast was included and was freshly prepared by the owner each morning. Breakfast was great, we had a bowl of fruit accompanied with toast, pancakes, Gallo pinto, and a choice of fried or scrambled eggs. It truly set you up for the day.

The staff were great - really friendly and accommodating. Ever would give us lifts to the town whenever we liked and even had contacts to help organise onwards travel or trips to do whilst in Tortuguero.

Only potential downside for certain visitors may be that when you stay in the jungle you have to expect a few creepy crawlies. In addition to this the rooms were really hot on a night time - a fan may have been nice in the room. I'm not sure if a fan would've been possible due to the solar power. Also wifi here isn't great and I couldn't get internet in our rooms. But this wasn't a major problem for us, in truth it was all part of the experience.

You have to realise that this is out of the main town, and your own holiday requirements will determine if you want to stay out of the main village. I would recommend this property to any travellers, it was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexkhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I'm going to be a contrarian now and say that I wasn't wholly taken with Tortuguero. Mostly it's the village - it's touristy to the max. and there's a lot of hassle going on in the village, including the guy who approached us and asked if we wanted to see an Iguana - when I asked him where it was he pointed to a boat with four shady characters lurking around it. When this sort of thing happens in Latin America it's generally speaking best to head to the nearest Gringo restaurant and hide...

Thank goodness for Toucan and Tarpon and Ever and his sweet family who will make you feel at home on the other side of the river from the banging choons and litter of Tortuguero Village. It's descried as a Lodge, but be warned that it is very rustic indeed. The rooms do have reliable hot water now, and mozzie screens to keep out the worst of the critters, but they're fairly small and have no air con. Fortunately they do have access to the sweet breezes of the Caribbean and howler monkeys to wake you up at 4am, which is what you came to Costa Rica for. Oh, and they have crabs too...

The grounds have lots of hammocks scattered around the place, perfect for relaxation - everything is muy tranquil in this part of the world so the best thing to do is to sit back and watch the world go by. They will also cook you traditional Caribbean food for a small fee, and this saves you going into the village if you prefer. Ever is very keen to make sure you enjoy your stay and relax - he took us on a canoe tour of the canals and a walk in the slightly degraded part of the park accessible for the village. This is where we got to dig deeper into Tortuguero and find out about the complexities and welcoming character under that scuzzy surface - like that the Iguana Man used to be one of the best guides in the National Park but succumbed to the demon drink, plied on him by tour groups. Or that the bottles that litter the river every day are actually attached to crab traps. It's hard to love but after a couple of days you start to forgive it its faults!

The only downside is that it's necessary to use the water taxis to get between the village and the Lodge - Ever knows the ones that will charge the "Local" rate, rather than the "Tourist" rate. It can feel slightly isolated, but sitting on the dock watching birds while boats chug up and down is one of those holiday experiences that makes the whole thing worthwhile.

Plus, Ever admitted that he wanted to call his boat "The Black Pearl." Yes!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Lawston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews