We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty but no wildlife in June”

Parque Nacional Marino Ballena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: El Parque Nacional Marino Ballena se encuentra en el departamento de Puntarenas (Pacifico Central) es un hermoso parque de playa donde cuando la marea baja se une una isla al continente y forma la cola de una ballena. Tiene unas hermosas playas calidas y transparentes y una vegetacion agreste.
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty but no wildlife in June”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We were at beach south entrance from whale tale at high tide. Tide took logs off beach which seemed dangerous. However we loved the waves for boogie boarding...as tide went out storm came in. The 3 sisters and back drop of the park are gorgeous. I realize June not best time for wildlife and we went for surf so pura vida:)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mt10climber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    49
    14
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Even When the Whales Are Elsewhere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

...this is a good destination. Long, gentle beach(es), decent snorkeling, fascinating isthmus at low tide.

And bring all your anti-sun techniques, since you will be out in it for a while.

Hint: walk in the shade of the rainforest going out and back. Toucans-plus in these trees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LengthyStrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful walk on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Jan 2014 - The 'Whale's Tail' was visible from our hotel so was ready to walk it at low tide the next morning. The parking is a way off the beach so prepare accordingly. We walked to the end of the Whale's Tail which is really broad during low tide. Turning around and walking back to the beach is beautiful with the mountains in the background. We walked quite a distance on the beach. For January being the high season, you could find a spot on the beach and feel like you were there alone. We did not stay for a picnic or lounge on the beach but saw others doing so.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning! Beauty everywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went whale watching in the park and were fortunate enough to see a Humpback and calf. The boat ride was spectacular. We saw many marine birds; it was a gorgeous day for photographing. Our guide was wonderful.

Helpful?
2 Thank fbxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wander Around and Explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The "Whale's Tail" formation is best viewed from one of the lodges up the hill, but at close range and low tide you can walk the sand isthmus out to the rocks that form the tail. Snorkelling off the rocks is pretty good. As the tide comes in and covers the isthmus waves crash together from both directions,creating an opportunity for kayakers to get some air.

The beach is fine brown sand and one can wander further to avoid other people if solitude is what you want. There's plenty of room and places to explore. This isn't a beach to sit in a chair under a palapa (didn't see any of those!) but it's still a very worthwhile place to visit. Entry fee is $6 each. Parking is $2.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parque Nacional Marino Ballena also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Parque Nacional Marino Ballena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing