We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Golfito” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar y Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golfito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mar y Luna
Ranked #2 of 6 Golfito B&B and Inns
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Golfito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Mar y Luna for a shopping trip in the duty free port of Golfito. Once again, Mar y Luna did not disappoint. The service is outstanding, the restaurant offers good food. We like rooms 13 & 14 with the kitchenettes. The A/C really keeps the room cool. The rooms are well maintained and very clean. This is now our "go to" place whenever we are in Golfito.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the water, ask for room 14 or 13. These rooms can be are the closest to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Right on the bay with totally relaxing decks and a bar / restaurant with open air views. Rooms are spacious and the A/C blows cold. Some rooms with kitchenette. Great and secure place for Duty Free shopping. Good food. All the staff we encountered spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: We've only been in room 13, twice. Kitchenette. Great location. Either this room or 14 are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We like to stay at Mar y Luna on a regular basis - it's a happening little laid back hotel right on the water in Golfito. The ambiance has local flare, and there are always lots of folks milling around and enjoying the fresh seafood, cold beer and good company at the restaurant. If you have a chance to take the kayaks out and go for a paddle across the harbor, there is some good wildlife and forest right across from Mar y Luna. If you see the fishermen come in with fresh tuna, definitely request it for dinner! Same with the whole fried fish, yum! Overall, its an enjoyable spot to pass the time, connect with friends while in Golfito, and enjoy a sunset over the water. There is usually live music on the weekends too, which is mellow and not at all too loud for hotel guests.

Room Tip: #14 has a little balcony overlooking the water and is a bit quieter than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treehousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We traveled to Golfito with Costa Rican friends to do some shopping in Golfito's Duty Free Zone and stay at Mar y Luna for 2 nights. This was a pleasant place to stay for the required overnighter. The room was clean with A/C, a comfortable bed and a nice kitchenette with table and chairs. We didn't do any cooking while were were there. We just made our early morning coffee. The restaurant meals were good and reasonably priced. We had several hours to drive back home after shopping, so we stayed an extra night. Mar y Luna provides secure parking with a guard. This is especially nice because we didn't have to unload all our purchases and bring them into the room with us.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant will be much quieter, but the room on the water, closest to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have stayed here several times. Our favorite room, is RM 11 which is a suite with kitchen. Two double beds, a nice bathroom, and a deck out the door to enjoy the water views and sunset. Rooms are clean, the AC is cold, and a very good value.
Breakfast is included, but very simple. Go down the street to Banana Bay Marina for the best breakfast in Golfito.

Room Tip: Rooms 11, and 12 have a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mingo425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife and I just returned from Golfito and We stayed at Mar y Luna for a 5 nights, the good: excellent food, free kayak, great view,great cabinas.
The bad: no beach near in golfito, at least not one near.
It was great being able to wake up and jump on a kayak on the tranquil gulf, also, make sure to go across the gulf and enjoy the bar/restaurants on cacao beach. They will Pick you up and bring you back on a boat for FREE! As long as you consume. Great ride and even better view, you cannot miss it. All in all, it was a great stay, Cheers to Daniel, Lili and Mauricio at Mar y Luna, they treated us like kings. I fell in love with this place, hope I go back soon.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bebeto07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golfito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.0 mi away
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar y Luna

Property: Mar y Luna
Address: Main Road, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Golfito
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Mar y Luna Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing