We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the midst of nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a wonderful Eco-lodge in the midst of the rainforest. Located in La Gamba, not far off the main Interamericana road, and Piedras Blancas National Park. I stayed here two nights with a tour group, in January. The accom is all in wooden buildings, the main reception/restaurant/bar and library building has open sides. It overlooks one of the ponds and is surrounded by nature (lizards, hummingbirds, bats...). There is a small stream-fed pool which is a very welcome refreshment to the high humidity. The accomm is in wooden buildings, with chairs & table on a verandah - great for seeing the toucans in the trees outside your room! The glass-free windows are essentially mosquito netting with curtains made by the local tribes people. There is a fan in the room, which during the day time has very little effect, but at night there is a breeze. Our room had 3 comfy beds, a wardrobe,power points and bathroom - hotwater shower. A torch is a must - regardless of lit paths, you should be checking your route, and then your room on entering (and shoes/bags etc for uninvited guests). There are many walks available - take a guide to get the most, and a night walk is one of highlights. The food (full board) is outstanding. Oh, and although i love the sound of nature, I recommend ear plugs for a good night sleep! enjoy this friendly, beautiful place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worlddelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

A pretty good eco lodge, who provide some day and night hikes. You can do them on your own, or hire a guide to walk with you. For the night hike I would suggest the latter, as you will otherwise miss a lot of the wildlife.

The rooms are clean and spacious. No airco... but you didn't really need one as it cools off during the night.

Meals are simple but tasty.

We stayed here for the wildlife and to experience a bit of the rainforest. This isn't a resort to relax in... it does have a pool, but the water comes from the creek. So don't freak out if you see some frogs in it :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74flyingdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Located adjacent to the Piedras Blancas National Park and the village of La Gamba the Esquinas eco-lodge is deep in the rainforest. We stayed here for two nights while on a tour. The main building houses reception, the bar/lounge and the restaurant area. The building is open with a beautiful palm leaf roof. Our room (in a cottage housing two separate units) was large with three single beds. The bathroom was also large. Being an eco-lodge the room did not have air-conditioning. There is a fan that did manage to cool the room down at night. It is very hot and humid here. Hot water is not available in the sink and the shower has hot water on demand. It is not really hot but warm enough. A mountain stream feeds the pool so it’s cold and very refreshing. The lodge does not use any chemicals in the pool – the water is changed as the stream flows through it. The pool though could have used a good scrubbing. The gardens around the lodge are beautiful. There are many trails to use to see birds, snakes, wildlife and flowers. The whole complex is very clean and well maintained. Since it is so isolated, meals are all included. Women from the village of La Gamba cook all of the meals. The meals are wholesome, freshly made using fresh products. We enjoyed the meals. Bar prices are reasonable. The hotel operates on an honour system – list what you take and then pay at departure. We took part in three nature walks (two during the day and one at night). Very pleasant though a bit muddy. It rains here – and when it rains it really rains. So the grounds are quite wet. The lodge’s website is excellent and well worth visiting to understand the mission and development of the adjacent national park and the lodge.

The resort is well worth the drive. The location in the rainforest, the openness of the lodge and the eco-friendly operation are all to be commended. The cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and good food add to its attractiveness. WiFi, available in the main building, is fast and free.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We went because we saw great recommendations for the place, no one was wrong. The place is near carretera interarmericana, before the entrance to Golfito, or there is a road between Golfito and the Lodge (for 4x4 cars)

Since the place said, no TV, we understand the place is for rest, to now better the gorgeous of the south pacific (Osa Region) of Costa Rica.

The food is delicious, mix of german with latin (ie german bread and pinto in the same table), also the place is known as the austrian project, because, long time ago, an austrian man, invest on re-forest the zone, after that, make the lodge, and nowadays there are students from universities learning how to recover the forrest, and methods (just what they explain to me...there are couple of books).

Room are very confortable, a lot of activities to do, hiking, birds watching, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

If you are looking for an authentic "jungle" adventure this place is for you. Your room has only screens, so if you are looking AC, forget it. The screens allow the sights, sounds and smells of the jungle to join you in your room. You have a hot and cold running water, which is a big bonus for a rustic adventure. If you are coming here for a few days make sure you take the time to experience the various jungle paths and adventures that are offered...if you are lucky you will get to see monkeys! I found the food a little lacking, as dinner is what you are served, and the quality is at a B-, but this is part of "rustic". Make sure you have some snacks (fruit, nuts, plantain chips) and you will be fine. If you are looking for a jungle experience this is a great place to start. It will be an adventure just getting there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband, 16 year old daughter and I stayed for a week (July 9 - 15) at Esquinas Lodge. We spent a few nights in other parts of Costa Rica before flying down to Golfito. Our time at Esquinas was the highlight of our trip. There are few places in the world where you can stay in the middle of the rainforest. It was a delight to fall asleep to the sounds of the bats and awaken to the twitterings of the humming birds. You are steps away from a variety of trail heads. We were the only Americans staying at the Lodge the week we came. If you are looking for Disneyland - don't come here. There are no paved, easy trails. No fast food. However, if you are looking to immerse yourself in another world for a while and to experience a slower pace of being - then Esquinas is a wonderful place. We can't praise our tour guides Mario and Chico enough. Their English is excellent and my daughter enjoyed having the opportunity to speak with them in Spanish while I tried out my college German with other guests. Chico is a fantastic dancer and we enjoyed a couple evenings of dancing (Cumbia, Merengue, Salsa) in the open air lodge. We did two boat tours (Mangrove and Dolphin) during our stay and saw a fantastic variety of wildlife including crocodiles, pods of dolphins, macaws, toucans, etc. We also did a bike ride to a waterfall owned by a very kind, talented man who was willing to share his guitar and singing talents with us one evening. We enjoyed the night hike and bird hikes and by the end of our time were able to pick out the calls of a half dozen different frogs and a dozen different birds from the cacophony of sounds around us. The nearby research center gave our a daughter a glimpse into the life of a field researcher and we enjoyed visiting the nearby village of LaGamba. The food was excellent and plentiful. The cooks are very willing to accommodate dietary restrictions.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our 3 nights at Esquinas Lodge were marked by excellent wildlife experiences particularly Lizards, frogs, and snakes, toucans, and hummingbirds. This lodge is remotely set amongst pristine rainforest, in very attractively laid out grounds. There are moderately easy trails to follow, and expert guides available. Ours, Mario, was very knowledgeable and helpful. A night hike is a must for Red-Eyed Frogs in particular. The food was wholesome, and the jugs of juice incredible. We were the only English visitors, but English is spoken by most of the staff. We needed plenty of changes of clothing, as the humidity was extremely high.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickAndPam2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
6.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
24.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
13.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
5.7 mi away
Hotel Samoa del Sur
Hotel Samoa del Sur
#6 of 12 in Golfito
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esquinas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esquinas Rainforest Lodge

Address: Piedras Blancas National Park | La Gamba, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range: £188 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esquinas Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esquinas Lodge in southern Costa Rica, only 3 miles off the Interamerican Highway and 30 minutes from Golfito airport, is part of a model project combining conservation, ecotourism, research, reforestation and community aid. The lodge is 100% carbon-neutral and has 16 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The 35-acre private reserve, surrounded by 2500 acres of untouched rainforest, attracts many mammals and over 200 species of birds. Activities include hiking, horseback riding, birdwatching, and boat and kayak tours in nearby Golfo Dulce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esquinas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esquinas Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing