We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain Forest Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
West of London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rain Forest Experience”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was one of several forest lodges visited during a two week group tour of Costa Rica and this review is in that context; you don't go to such places looking for 5* luxury. By definition this is a damp place so while rooms are comfortable and spacious if a bit dark, within a rustic setting, it's not easy to dry clothes and sleeping may be disturbed by passing nocturnal visitors eg bats dropping fruit etc on the roof. We occupied Room 1 with only a cold shower at the time. Meals and a self service honesty bar were hosted by very friendly and helpful volunteer staff and the grounds and surrounding country afforded a wealth of wildlife - notably birds, frogs and flora. We enjoyed an optional mangrove boat tour but the boats used were not identical and with a half roof and fibre glass bench seats ours was not the most comfortable - but I wouldn't have missed the experience which is of special interest to birders. The efforts being made for conservation here deserve the support of those genuinely interested in this country and it's environment.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms were similar in standard and all are of the same age - and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FarmersBoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    57
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
111
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Comfortable cabins. Beautiful open area for bar/lounging and food service. Wonderful, fresh healthy and delicious food. Great service from all.

Great birding. Very good trails. Cold , stream fed pool refreshes after a hot day of rainforest birding. Eco lodge that practices what it preaches. Don't expect the same comforts as a downtown hotel but be glad you can wake up to the sounds of rainforest birds and insects in a clean bed with a good bathroom and beautiful views. I'd love to go back. Bring good hiking boots or borrow their rubber boots. We saw a oFer-de-lance and an eyelash pit viper on the trails as well as hundreds of bird species.

Real birders will love this place, as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marthaklems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
319 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Looking at some of the recent reviews it is hard to believe we were at the same place!

Esquinas was the first port of call in Costa Rica and we expected better and after visiting several other Costa Rican properties this was by far the worst we stayed at.

It is very rustic, we had Cabin number 10 which is a long uphill walk from the main building and it can be quite slippery. The cabin is quite basic which did not surprise us and everything seems damp all the time. It was manageable though but this is not the place to be for anybody expecting luxury.

We found the birdlife quite hard to see here (although we did get our best sighting of a Toucan) and you need to get out of the lodge area into the roads to see anything, it would probably have been better if we had a car whilst here but we did not get it until we left to move on.

We found the local guides very pleasant but their English was a little limited so things were probably not explained to us properly. The place actually appeared to be run by "Gap Year" students from Austria and although pleasant were certainly not skilled in service.

The food we found was very poor (by far the worst we had in the whole of Central America) - in fairness we asked for salads at lunchtime (rather than a three course meal) and they made these very well.

The bats in the bar were fun and there were interesting Iguanas near the swimming pool.

On the whole an interesting experience but we would not recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, ask for lower numbers if you do not fancy the longish walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The food was especially good. I didn't mind that there was limited choice because everything was local, fresh, and good. The service was cheerful. The guides were knowledgeable. I liked the singer. I liked the solar drying shed. I liked the bats.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Davewirewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very rustic but still very comfortable. Delicious home made food. Staff very helpful and friendly. The local busker who sang to us at dinner was a bonus.
If you want to experience living in a real rain forest then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoenenwerd, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Esquinas Rainforest Lodge offers a real authentic rainforest experience. The tours with the guides are in small groups and really informative. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent but there is no variety to chose.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is such a jewel in the forest. A wonderful experience and lovely people to make your experience everything you might want. Comfortable cabins, good food, and nature all round.
Thank you especially Catalina for a New Year party to remember. I might well take up your suggestion to come back to do some volunteer work.
One does need to be prepared for a very humid experience (not everyone's cup of tea but certainly mine) and it is quite different from the -15C record cold weather I hit in New York on the way back to the UK. It almost blew me back immediately to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: They all look reasonable but do take a head torch to help you get back to your room in the dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
6.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
13.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
24.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
11.9 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Golfito
128 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esquinas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esquinas Rainforest Lodge

Property: Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Address: Piedras Blancas National Park | La Gamba, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Esquinas Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esquinas Lodge in southern Costa Rica, only 3 miles off the Interamerican Highway and 30 minutes from Golfito airport, is part of a model project combining conservation, ecotourism, research, reforestation and community aid. The lodge is 100% carbon-neutral and has 16 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The 35-acre private reserve, surrounded by 2500 acres of untouched rainforest, attracts many mammals and over 200 species of birds. Activities include hiking, horseback riding, birdwatching, and boat and kayak tours in nearby Golfo Dulce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esquinas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esquinas Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing