We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esquinas Rainforest Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Esquinas Rainforest Lodge”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great stay at the Esquinas Rainforest Lodge. We went looking for frogs on our first night there with our guide. We didn't expect to come across a caiman living in the frog pond! Lots of other wildlife live very close by. It did rain a bit but it is in a rainforest. No glass in the windows for the rooms, but it is not really needed, the screens keep most of the insects out. When it did rain the kitchen staff showed us all how to make tortillas the Costa Rican way! Lots of spare wellies and umbrellas at the reception area for when you get caught in a bit of a storm. Overall a great stay in a fantastic lodge with really nice staff and plenty of wildlife very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    57
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
111
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour for 2 nights. The setting is in the rainforest, the cabins are rustic but all the plugs worked, there was hot water for showers. There is no fridge or coffee making bits in the room , also no shower gel or hair dryer . Bring your own !!!

Fantastic to sit outside in the evening, wifi works in bar area but not in high up rooms. Staff were really friendly. You put your drinks on a list , so they put trust in you not to cheat the system. Beer was $3 so not expensive .

The food was delicious , simple dishes, well prepared and well presented.

Good walks with things to see, there is a pool too but did not use this.

Things felt damp but I think this is the area you are in really and nothing is going to dry !!!

Very relaxing as I was not looking forward to this being a bit of a city girl and not a "basic " room lover.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights in this marvellous eco-lodge. Probably due to Austrian ownership there are a lot of german speaking guests.
It´s definitely a misunderstanding if some reviewers complain that this is not a luxury- lodge. No- it´s a rustic eco- lodge in a most beautiful rainforest setting with a lot of atmosphere.
Manager Katalina runs the place in a highly motivated, helpful and very obliging way.
Rooms are simple (and the owners should start thinking about refurnishment), but with (almost) all amenities needed. Food is excellent.
Beautiful self guided walks up to the forest- try the waterfall- la trocha- fila loop trail.
Highly recommended guided night walks (frogs, fer-de-lance), guided early morning walks with lots of birds. Extraordinary Rio Coto Mangrove tour (roseate soonbills, frigate birds,........). All activities offered quite inexpensive.
This is a lodge for nature lovers, not so much for luxury freaks.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinwood2, Inhaber at Esquinas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihr Kommentar! Wenn Sie uns weiter empfehlen, helfen Sie uns, den Regenwald zu schützen und den Lebensstandard der Menschen aus La Gamba zu verbessern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was one of several forest lodges visited during a two week group tour of Costa Rica and this review is in that context; you don't go to such places looking for 5* luxury. By definition this is a damp place so while rooms are comfortable and spacious if a bit dark, within a rustic setting, it's not easy to dry clothes and sleeping may be disturbed by passing nocturnal visitors eg bats dropping fruit etc on the roof. We occupied Room 1 with only a cold shower at the time. Meals and a self service honesty bar were hosted by very friendly and helpful volunteer staff and the grounds and surrounding country afforded a wealth of wildlife - notably birds, frogs and flora. We enjoyed an optional mangrove boat tour but the boats used were not identical and with a half roof and fibre glass bench seats ours was not the most comfortable - but I wouldn't have missed the experience which is of special interest to birders. The efforts being made for conservation here deserve the support of those genuinely interested in this country and it's environment.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms were similar in standard and all are of the same age - and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FarmersBoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Comfortable cabins. Beautiful open area for bar/lounging and food service. Wonderful, fresh healthy and delicious food. Great service from all.

Great birding. Very good trails. Cold , stream fed pool refreshes after a hot day of rainforest birding. Eco lodge that practices what it preaches. Don't expect the same comforts as a downtown hotel but be glad you can wake up to the sounds of rainforest birds and insects in a clean bed with a good bathroom and beautiful views. I'd love to go back. Bring good hiking boots or borrow their rubber boots. We saw a oFer-de-lance and an eyelash pit viper on the trails as well as hundreds of bird species.

Real birders will love this place, as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marthaklems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
302 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Looking at some of the recent reviews it is hard to believe we were at the same place!

Esquinas was the first port of call in Costa Rica and we expected better and after visiting several other Costa Rican properties this was by far the worst we stayed at.

It is very rustic, we had Cabin number 10 which is a long uphill walk from the main building and it can be quite slippery. The cabin is quite basic which did not surprise us and everything seems damp all the time. It was manageable though but this is not the place to be for anybody expecting luxury.

We found the birdlife quite hard to see here (although we did get our best sighting of a Toucan) and you need to get out of the lodge area into the roads to see anything, it would probably have been better if we had a car whilst here but we did not get it until we left to move on.

We found the local guides very pleasant but their English was a little limited so things were probably not explained to us properly. The place actually appeared to be run by "Gap Year" students from Austria and although pleasant were certainly not skilled in service.

The food we found was very poor (by far the worst we had in the whole of Central America) - in fairness we asked for salads at lunchtime (rather than a three course meal) and they made these very well.

The bats in the bar were fun and there were interesting Iguanas near the swimming pool.

On the whole an interesting experience but we would not recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, ask for lower numbers if you do not fancy the longish walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The food was especially good. I didn't mind that there was limited choice because everything was local, fresh, and good. The service was cheerful. The guides were knowledgeable. I liked the singer. I liked the solar drying shed. I liked the bats.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Davewirewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
6.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
13.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
24.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#3 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.2 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esquinas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esquinas Rainforest Lodge

Property: Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Address: Piedras Blancas National Park | La Gamba, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Esquinas Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esquinas Lodge in southern Costa Rica, only 3 miles off the Interamerican Highway and 30 minutes from Golfito airport, is part of a model project combining conservation, ecotourism, research, reforestation and community aid. The lodge is 100% carbon-neutral and has 16 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The 35-acre private reserve, surrounded by 2500 acres of untouched rainforest, attracts many mammals and over 200 species of birds. Activities include hiking, horseback riding, birdwatching, and boat and kayak tours in nearby Golfo Dulce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esquinas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esquinas Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing