We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We liked very much this wunderful place!In the middle of rainforest Nature,you might just wonder about all the species of plants and animals you can encounter,if you are sharpening your senses and be lucky at the same time..An absolute Must is a walk in the dark,with a guide of course:bring your own small light along!
Beside the fact of discovering so much,you may apreciate the scientific work there and the way the organization tries to include local people into the project.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I very much enjoyed my time at Esquinas Rainforest Lodge. The lodgings were comfortable and nicely decorated. The food was great and the scenery beautiful. Definitely a paradise for birds and amphibians. The combination of rain and tink frogs provided the soundtrack to one of the best nights sleep I had in Costa Rica. Also loved the bats in the reception area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JTobin530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Esquinas on a Road Scholar birding trip and found it delightful: a real rainforest experience, despite the fact that it was in the dry season. We were sorry to leave and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Lodge area was excellent and wildlife seen on the trails leading from lodge was prolific. Meals were good. Conservation and sustainability were top of their priority and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Especially the bats roosting behind the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lush vegetation. There are several path to admire the various types of plants and trees: when you arrive they give you a map of the walking trails that are available to guests. In the night you can hear the call of the frogs. Simple but clean housing; bring lotion to shower and hair. Meals of poor quality. The menu is fixed, the price is high, but some is reinvested in the conservation area. The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms near the entrance are very quiet and is guaranteed privacy.l
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed one night at esquinas. Beautiful location and nice villa. Stil the price was too high for what we got. The food was average. Food was served at fixed times and the service was very machine like/unpersonal :). The room was ok but very moist and sheets not that clean. Concluding very nice location but too pricy! Average - Good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BenjaminPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great stay at the Esquinas Rainforest Lodge. We went looking for frogs on our first night there with our guide. We didn't expect to come across a caiman living in the frog pond! Lots of other wildlife live very close by. It did rain a bit but it is in a rainforest. No glass in the windows for the rooms, but it is not really needed, the screens keep most of the insects out. When it did rain the kitchen staff showed us all how to make tortillas the Costa Rican way! Lots of spare wellies and umbrellas at the reception area for when you get caught in a bit of a storm. Overall a great stay in a fantastic lodge with really nice staff and plenty of wildlife very close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
14.5 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
354 reviews
7.7 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
6.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
21.8 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esquinas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esquinas Rainforest Lodge

Address: Piedras Blancas National Park | La Gamba, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range: £186 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esquinas Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esquinas Lodge in southern Costa Rica, only 3 miles off the Interamerican Highway and 30 minutes from Golfito airport, is part of a model project combining conservation, ecotourism, research, reforestation and community aid. The lodge is 100% carbon-neutral and has 16 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The 35-acre private reserve, surrounded by 2500 acres of untouched rainforest, attracts many mammals and over 200 species of birds. Activities include hiking, horseback riding, birdwatching, and boat and kayak tours in nearby Golfo Dulce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Esquinas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esquinas Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing