We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total peacefulness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esquinas Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Candler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total peacefulness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I absolutely loved this peaceful place. Everyone was super accommodating and the sleeping cabins and lounge/restaurant area was very clean. The food was local and excellent with fresh fruit juice served at every meal.

The only reason I didn't give this a five start is because there are no prices for solo travelers who want to take the individual tours and they are so worth it. Just wish there were prices for singles, or at a discounted fee.

All in all, the employees and tour guides made this stay unforgettably enjoyable and exciting. They were THE best in explaining and exemplifying what this ecolodge is all about. This was the best part of my stay in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: You are truly one with nature here. There is an internet connection in the lodge but not in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichCo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinwood2, Inhaber at Esquinas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your tip. We are hesitant to offer guided tours for single guests because they would be unproportionately expensive. A boat tour, for instance, costs us the same whether for one guest or 6 guests because we must pay the taxi, the guide, the boatman and the gasoline in any case. That is why the boat tours are for a minimum of 2 guests. We do offer guided hikes for one person, even though they cost the same as for 2 or 3 persons. We will, however, reconsider our policy and try to offer all tours for individualk guests, even if they might cost more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    57
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
105
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very good tour-program with well-informed friendly guides who try to realize all individual wishes and regards special interests .
The Lodge is situated in a nice naturtal garden that hosts a lot of animals .
We enjoyed the good cooking with a good mix of local and international food .

Room Tip: For longer stays the villa is recommended because of more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cornelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great little place with the best food I had in my whole 2 week trip. Staff very friendly & attentive. Great honesty bar in evening - a unique experience.
Lodges are roomy, simple but comfortable. Didn't sleep great but that was due to all the wildlife noise (so I can't complain as that is what i came her for). I had some cute bats roosting outside the door of my room :-)
Refreshing stream fed pool - great for a dip after a sweaty jungle trek.
Tip : keep your suitcase firmly closed whilst staying here & only remove essential items - it is so humid that everything will get damp otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for just 2 nights as part of an Exodus tour. What a place, never been anywhere quite like it. Comfortable rooms, good food, friendly staff, brilliant wildlife. No good if you're not comfortable with all sorts of bugs being around - also you get an early alarm call from all the wildlife whether you like it or not!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Congystag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Wished I could have stayed longer in this rainforest lodge with it,s birds, caimans, exotic plants, frogs, spring fed pool, walks and good food. The staff were very helpful. Charged for big bag of washing rather than per item. Honesty bar good too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you like to be in the middle of nature - it is here. Comfortable sleeping accomodations yet you are in the middle of the rainforest, the sound of birds in the morning, taking a solitary walk in the forest, seeing lots of birds. It is not for those unaccustomed to nature: leaf cutter ants and a bat corner share the eating/lounging area. It is very, very humid but worth the discomfort to experience this paradise. We had an interesting talk from the owner who explained his goals of protecting and reforesting the area to create a continuous green corridor through CR and with quite a small budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nealRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

it's a very unique experience - to be clear, it is not a luxury hotel and it doesn't pretend to be one - if you're somebody who likes nature, rain forests, trails, boat trips through mangroves and great and friendly service - go there! the history behind the place is amazing itself - built by an Austrian violin professor from Vienna it has now the sponsorship of the Biology department from the University of Vienna and it hosts all sorts of groups from Europe, the US and a few of us from Latin America - we truly enjoyed our stay and our gracious hosts, who promise to have much better internet service (not against the ecological nature of the place :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alfonso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
6.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
7.5 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
24.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#3 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esquinas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esquinas Rainforest Lodge

Property: Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Address: Piedras Blancas National Park | La Gamba, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Esquinas Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esquinas Lodge in southern Costa Rica, only 3 miles off the Interamerican Highway and 30 minutes from Golfito airport, is part of a model project combining conservation, ecotourism, research, reforestation and community aid. The lodge is 100% carbon-neutral and has 16 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The 35-acre private reserve, surrounded by 2500 acres of untouched rainforest, attracts many mammals and over 200 species of birds. Activities include hiking, horseback riding, birdwatching, and boat and kayak tours in nearby Golfo Dulce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Esquinas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esquinas Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing