We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Las Gaviotas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golfito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Grafton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

What an unbelievably fantastic experience! The serenity, peacefulness, gorgeous landscaping and surrounding beauty are just the beginning of this excellent hotel and resort. The friendly, helpful, staff (including wait staff, reception personnel, bartenders, landscape crews, maintenance personnel, and anyone else we came across) went out of their way to make us feel at home, and provide us with everything we needed and more. The restaurant is poolside and overlooks the Bay, and has exquisite food. Their Carpaccio and Ceviche are absolutely delectable, and their seafood dishes are fresh, with a definite homemade flair. They take their time to prepare everything with the freshest ingredients, and it does not disappoint in th least. (WOW!) When traveling to Golfito, don't miss the comfort, beauty, and stress free peacefulness of Las Gaviotas!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calena37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Pros
- Very clean and comfortable rooms.
- The gardens in front of the rooms give them a fresh and peaceful feeling.
- The pool is not so big, but enough to stay there for a while.
- The view is great.
- The rates are good

Cons
- There is no beach to walk or swim.
- The restaurant service is awful. They took half an hour to serve lunch and an hour to serve dinner. We complained with the friot desk and the manager, and even though they have received similar complaints, they haven´t done anything about it.

I recommend to stay in this hotel, but if you are hungry, you´ll need to find another place to eat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjimenez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Las Gaviotas was right on the ocean. It had a large open air restaurant and bar that looked out across the pool and then the ocean. Even though it was during the Christmas holidays the place was very quiet and we didn't see hardly any other guests. It is on the south side of town and you would need a car there. We took a look at a couple of the other Golfito hotels listed on this site and we were glad we chose this hotel. The grounds, pool and eating area are spectacular. The rooms were decent although a mini fridge or something would have been nice. The hotel was an excellent price for what you got. The owners are a family and had the TV on loudly in the lobby much of the time. We finally asked them to turn it down and they did. No one speaks much english. The restaurant menu looks limited and almost American but the food was great. For $5 we had squid and clam ceviche and fresh baked buns. PS This is not near Playa Tortuga, that is a mistake.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2004

Have stayed 3 times. Locally owned, great view and helpful staff. Great dining on patio by the pool.

Not for hyper types. Every thing is laid back as it should be.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Searover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golfito hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.3 mi away
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
4.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#7 of 11 in Golfito
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Golfito
128 reviews
8.4 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Gaviotas

Property: Hotel Las Gaviotas
Address: Golfito, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Gaviotas Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing