We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Boutique Resort with 5 Star Fishing!”
Review of The Zancudo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Zancudo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Boutique Resort with 5 Star Fishing!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very few things in life live up to the expectations you set for them, and even fewer exceed those expectations. The Zancudo Lodge will exceed even the loftiest expectations. I participated in the 3rd annual Pelagic Triple Crown of Fishing at the Zancudo Lodge with three friends this past December. We were staying at our family's house across the bay, but due to the unique travel associated with the tournament, Gregg and Goldine bent over backwards and found accomodations for us for the entirety of the tourney.

To say the food and drink is excellent would be a gross understatement. The rooms and resort itself are uniquely modern and upscale, and the fishing is world class due to the unbelievable group of captains and mates that make up the Zancudo Lodge fishing crew.

We plan on returning for this tournament every year, and I hope to be back on the water in the Contender the first week of April which isn't far off. Thanks again for a wonderful experience Gregg and Goldine!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of our Lodge. It's entirely a team effort and we're so proud of our staff that make up this dream service team! Very happy that you and your friends had a great time and we're so glad to hear that you will be returning for the next annual event! See you in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
38
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somers Point, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a dream vacation for my husband and I. The owners Greg Mufson and Goldine Wang really have created a once in a lifetime fishing adventure and added in five star services with every aspect of the resort. We did the three-day fishing package and were thrilled with both on-shore fishing and offshore fishing…. Our captain, Elvis, knew his stuff when it comes to fishing. We caught Rooster, Snapper, Dorado, Sailfish and the last day of fishing my husband reeled in a 260 lb. Blue Marlin. It was spectacular… Elvis’ knowledge of the waterways and expertise really made our fishing adventure memorable!!!
The staff at the lodge was wonderful… every one of our “wants” and “needs” were taken care of by Dayanna… we miss her already. The food is outstanding; fresh fish, fresh fruits and vegetables, homemade desserts, Chef Daniel is amazing!
We were treated like royalty by all the staff – especially Ryan, Chalber and Emmanuel. They made sure that we had an unforgettable dining experience every breakfast, lunch and dinner!!
In our weeklong stay, we also tried zip lining, surfing and ended the week with heavenly massages right at the resort… Pampered clients to the fullest!
We would highly recommend this trip for someone looking for world-class fishing and five star accommodations along with the personal attention to detail!!! We cannot wait to go back next year! Thank you for an awesome vacation!!!
Charlie & Sue Kleva

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suekleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
It was sincerely all our pleasure to ensure that your week long stay was a very memorable one. We appreciate the wonderful review as it encourages the staff to work even harder to provide an even higher level of service and attention to detail.
Have a wonderful 2014 and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am an avid offshore angler and fished 6 consecutive days with the Z-Lodge team in early December. All I can say is you must have this on your bucket list before you head to the grave. The captains (Javier, Tito & Raphael) were extremely experienced and fished hard each and every day. I spent 4 days with Javier and hope he enjoyed it as much as I did. We fished a solid 8-9 hours a day and covered more ground with multiple baits and strategies. Equipment top notch and we caught fish at will. I was somewhat early in the season and solely hunted for billfish. Hour run to the main grounds on the Contender (twin 300's) and you are in a prime area of the world. Water rises from 6K to 1k feet with 2 FADs. Bait everywhere. Blues in the spread every day. Could not get all to take bonita but the teasers were battered. Landed 250+ Blue and had 2 other hook-ups. Sails and Tuna beginning to show up. 50+lb Rooster and Cubera. AJs very abundant. I could go on.

Resort staff was top shelf. Appetizers and drinks when you return from the day. Crab cakes, sashimi, etc.. Ryan runs a great shop at the bar. Whatever you want, whenever you want and as many as you want. Dinner's were 4 course with fresh fish and meat dishes each evening. The food was off the charts with the chef from San Jose. Breakfast was excellent and prepared you for a long day on the water. Pastry chef was awesome. Wait staff did more than you could have asked. Rooms modern and great amenities. Wife left phone on the aircraft from SJ to Golfito and staff retrieved it and had it at the lodge by the time we returned from fishing the next afternoon.

Excellent surfing right outside the resort. Longest westward wave in the world.

I have to say Gregg & Goldine, you have a very special place and you definitely have it figured out. We are coming back first week of April with our three girls 9, 15,17. Place is gorgeous and tons to do besides fishing. Monkeys, crocodiles, birds etc... A true paradise.

Don't change a thing and make sure my booking is secured for April.

Dean & Nancy Childers

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550nancyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are absolutely thrilled that you both had a great time and it really makes all our work worthwhile when we receive great feedback from our guests. We are constantly trying to improve our operations and we sincerely look forward to seeing everyone back n April. Thankyou from all of us at the Lodge for your wonderful review. We will try even harder to make your next trip that much more special for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We expected great fishing (and we got it) but were not prepared for the creature-comforts. With their painstaking attention to detail, Gregg and Goldine have created the ideal get-away... stunning grounds, spa-quality lodging, world-class cuisine, and friendly, professional staff. Thanks to all for the vacation of a lifetime, especially our skilled captains -- Abilio, Elvis, and Javier -- and Chalbert and Ryan who greeted us with martinis at the end of each fishing day. Diana made sure our every wish was fulfilled, and Marina did her magic with every day's catch. We're already planning our return visit and will bring the family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
The staff joins us in thanking you for your very generous review! It was our pleasure serving you and we look forward to seeing you and your family back at your Costa Rica home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were hoping for a unique tropical getaway over the Christmas holiday. By 9:30 am on Day One, all expectations were blown out of the water with our escape to this eco-paradise. It's easy to see why sportsmen flock to this billfishers' mecca, but there is so much more to this resort than fishing... Start with the owners, Goldine and Gregg, who greeted us like family and treated us like royalty. They have assembled a world-class staff from the captains (Elvis, Abilio and Javier in our case) to the assistant chef, Marina, who served us five-star cuisine at every meal. We had to take a day off after two taxing, intense days of catching world-class fish, before returning to nonstop action with a final, incredible long-range day with Javier on the pride of the fleet, the Contender. Mahi, Blue Marlin, Sailfish, Grouper, Roosterfish and Amberjack are plentiful just minutes from the dock. Don't hesitate to book this vacation of a lifetime. What a great place to bring the whole family. There is something for everyone, onshore and off.

Room Tip: Couples and families can request suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiftysomethin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Your very kind words are so much appreciated by all of us at the Lodge, especially the staff that were mentioned! We're ecstatic that you both had an enjoyable stay.......just as much as we enjoyed having you with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.....and ever so eloquently! We look forward to seeing you both back at the Lodge with all your family in the very near future. Have a healthy and happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just returned from a 3 day father son trip and could not have scripted a better trip. The attention to detail was amazing and the husband/wife ownership team are on site to make sure everything runs smoothly. The resort boasts an on site chef and the food was as good as I have ever had.

The hotel could better be described as a premium boutique hotel that happens to offer world class fishing. In three days we managed to land two Marlin, first for both father and son, one sail, multiple large dorado, rooster fish and tuna.

Thanks Goldine, Gregg & Javier!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
It was indeed our pleasure and we would like to thank you for being such delightful guests. We are so happy that we were able to be a part of your "father and son" experience and to have contributed to a great adventure to Costa Rica. Javier and Goldine joins me in thanking you for your visit and we hope we have a chance to meet again soon. Best of happiness and health in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just spent three days at Zancudo Lodge, the fishing for Sailfish and Dorado was world class and someone caught a 400 pound Marlin while we were there. The wonderful meals and beverages are served in a spectacular ocean front, open air setting. The owners, Greg and Blondine insure all of your needs are met. The staff do the same, everyone being friendly and personable. We made some great friends there and are already making our plans to go back.
Rick and Hazel

Room Tip: Call Greg or Blondine directly at the lodge, tell them what you are looking for and they will see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff, Owner at The Zancudo Lodge, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We are humbled by your review. We have been working towards the goal of becoming "the best fishing lodge in the world" and it's daunting to see it actually in black bold print, written by a guest, which ultimately is the greatest compliment of all. Thank you for making this the best Christmas gift ever.
Our staff joins us in thanking you for choosing to stay with us as we know that you have a choice to vacation anywhere. Best to you in the New Year and we hope to see you back at your Costa Rica home away from home in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
10.9 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
12.6 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
22.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
11.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
10.7 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zancudo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zancudo Lodge

Property: The Zancudo Lodge
Address: Playa Zancudo, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica (Formerly Zancudo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zancudo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zancudo Lodge is surrounded by the beauty of Costa Rican wildlife, verdant tropical foliage and is located beachfront. Ideally bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Rio Coto river, we offer our guests the perfect setting for an idyllic vacation accompanied by your choice of a variety of thrill seeking activities. Our guests can choose amongst a list of popular sports such as world class surfing, standup paddle boarding, premier catch and release sport fishing and kayaking or a variety of day tours indigenous to the Golfo Dulce such as a visit to a botanical garden and a wildlife sanctuary, oceanfront horseback riding or a zip-line canopy flight through the rainforest. Those guests who prefer to enjoy the tranquility of the resort can spend time relaxing by the pool, taking a stroll in our tropical fruit garden, playing a game of bocce ball on our regulation court, receiving a deep tissue massage, practicing yoga or pilates in the open air or simply relishing the vastness of the Pacific Ocean from the privacy of our Zancudo Beach.Our brand new public space houses an elegant fountain reception area, gift shop, 3 lounge areas, a fine dining restaurant (seating capacity 40), bar (seating capacity 16) and a state of the art kitchen. On the second floor, there is a game lounge complete with a widescreen TV viewing area, pool table, shuffleboard table, card table, foosball and a massage relaxation room with an outdoor shower. On our property, our guests will also find beautiful tropical gardens, green houses (with our own organically farmed product), our own Lodge marina located on the Rio Coto (where all guests are greeted with a VIP service of a welcoming drink and cold towel), a salt water pool and palapa lounge area and open air beachfront platforms (for exercise, lounging, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Zancudo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zancudo Beach Hotel Golfito
The Zancudo Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing