We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
central america
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“ok but overpriced”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The bar is probably the best attribute of the Samoa....the rooms are overpriced and the food is only mediocre at best. There is plenty of shade so it a good place to go for a swim.during the daytime. Later at night evolves into more of a singles bar but beware of hustlers

Room Tip: For singles,,,it is a good place to meet as it is directly across the street from a popular disocot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
12
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Located on the main road in Golfito, with ample parking, a large open air restaurant, pool, and spacious comfortable rooms. This hotel is just a little above my normal price point but it was raining cats and dogs when I got to Golfito and the taxi was able to pull up under the large restaurant so I could get my pack out without soaking it. This was beyond a downpour. It was very humid during my visit and the A/C was a welcome respite. I ate twice in the restaurant where the food was reasonably priced and excellent quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The rooms are clean, the staff is responsive and courteous, and shower has plenty of hot water. This hotel is intended to provide an option for the shoestring budgeter visiting Golfito and it does just that. The restaurant and bar area is much the same - good food, good service, pretty cheap. You're essentially paying a 1-star price for a 3-star experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The view, location and staff are very nice. The rooms are horrible. You can not turn on the fan independently of the lights and the AC works poorly. Finally we unscrewed the lightbulbs so we could have the fan on. Dogs were barking, the walls are so thin you could hear the TV next to us. The room is in major need of renovation. We had a fruit plate for breakfast with about 3 refills of coffee and they charged us for each refill. If this is rated 2 out of 8 hotels in Golfito I hate to see what 8 is like.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janiswiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This hotel is the best place to stay at this region. The location is beautiful. It faces the sea. There is a nice swimming pool at this hotel which offers a perfect relaxing time while you are here. The environment is completely peaceful. You have a feeling of safety while you are at this serene place. The food is excellent. The staff and the service are extremely good. The rooms are spacious and clean with good air conditioning. I stayed at this place with my wife and kids. My kids had a great time at the kids pool. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this place and would definitely come back for some relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaakovjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

If you travel to Golfito to shop at the Duty Free Deposit, this is the best place to stay, very well located in front of the sea and near downtown Golfito in a safe environment. And if your travel for pleasure, this is better, because the hotel has its own marina. They have nice swimming pool and ussually there's only a few guests inside, so its pleasant to relax without a noisy crowd around you. But the best is the food, because the place is owned by a french family, they treat you like their personal guest at their home, and usually you can taste the fresh catch of the day from the fishing boats. I go twice a year and I enjoy every time I stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

This hotel received rave reviews from other folks, so we decided to go there for our short stay in Costa Rica. We were very disappointed. The rooms were quite large and very clean, but badly in need of repair and revitalizing. Lamps were broken, there was no control device for the AC (the only way to make it work), water leaked from the shower stall and there was a septic tank smell that permeated the room. The property was once quite nice, but lights were broken off around the pool, tiles were cracked and the "museum"/gift shop was dusty and dark. On the bright side, as mentioned in other reviews, the staff was excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The dinners were great - fresh fish and seafood prepared anyway you wanted. You could go into the kitchen and pick out your fish. The waiter remembered your preferences for drinks and accompaniments from one night to the other. For some reason, lunchtime food was always overcooked - perhaps a different chef than at dinner. Be prepared to entertain yourselves. Unless you fish, there is absolutely nothing to do in Golfito. We did take a boat ride where we were told we would see monkeys, dolphins, crocodiles, birds. We saw nothing - but the boat ride was pleasant. And, management invites local folks in to use the pool. Unfortunately, the local folks are young boys - not families - who take over, scream and cannonball into the water. We stayed away from the pool until they left or rested for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dextertalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
1.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
6.4 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
8.6 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur

Property: Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
Address: Km1, frente a carretera principal, Golfito 8201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa Del Sur Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing