We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most special places on Earth”
Review of Rancho Burica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Burica
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“One of the most special places on Earth”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Unbelievable location, it's exactly how they sum it up; ''where the bad road ends, the good life begins''

I have been here on holiday trips as well as a photoshoot for a major clothing brand. Both trips were amazing although you definitely don't want a agenda when you're there. Best location ever for a photoshoot though..

A fun, private left hand reefbreak in front of the property and one of the longest left pointbreaks in the world around the corner. All set to a vibrant jungle tune and epic vibes. As a surfer this place couldn't be more perfect. The food is very pure and varied. The accomodation ranges from simple and clean, but with the occasional jungle insect to very nice, authentic and bug free.

The recent make over has made all the accommodation fresh and the people that run it will make sure you will have the time in your life! Make sure to hook up with the Gardener - Wilbert - and join him on one of his horse riding trips, guaranteed something you will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannickdeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have two young daughters and we felt very safe with them anywhere on the property. We had such a relaxing time and also took a couple amazing adventures. I would recommend this place to anyone whether you're a surfer or just a traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiiliamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Amazing spot in the tail of Costa Rica. Unspoilt nature, beautifull sunrise and sunset, the best waves, wild animals and a stunning beach. Friendly staff with healthy food every day. There are plenty of activities to do and see. One of the most beautifull places from Central America.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robotnic038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Costa Rican dream is right here. No need to search any further. At Rancho Burica you'll meet great people. The hosts Jord & Femke make you feel at home. In this undiscovered little gem it's the tropical dream your living in your own beach cabin. We skipped Corcovado after this, because we saw all the most amazing plants and animals already. The surf is right in front on a fantastic beach. The food is amazingly prepared every day (great deal), so need to go out anywhere. And fun to have dinner with lovely mix of people (and play games). Want to do fun stuff? Lots to do: yoga, hiking, best horse back riding in the world, surfing, you name it! Enjoy Costa Rica in it's true way at Ranco Burica. The pleasure can be yours. (PS and the best of all NO BUGS here, it's a miracle!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We loved this place!! So glad we didn't stay in Pavones town & came here instead. I had read all the good reviews so I was expecting a lot but it was actually even better than I thought it would be & excellent value for money. We stayed in the newer upstairs room with private bathroom - really nice room with massive king bed that my husband declared is the best bed he's ever slept on. When we were there, Bas, the old manager, was handing over to the new managers, Jord & Femke, & one of the owners, Reinoud, was around so we had the privilege of meeting & hanging out with all of them & they're really nice, fun & funny people. The food is delicious & plentiful. Jord makes great cappucinos after dinner, which is a lovely bonus. The property itself is beautiful, with the beach right in front & the jungle all around. There's good surf (best at high tide) a few metres away. They also organised a boat trip to Matapalo & another trip to Saleas - both awesome surf breaks & highly recommended. Be prepared for intermittent wifi & for wet clothes never really drying properly! Wish we never had to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amaanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Rancho Burica is a magical and beautiful place to stay. I was there for a week and could have easily stayed much longer! This ocean front property brought my mind back to the Pura Vida felling of life! You have to go here. The accommodation was just what I needed, I stayed in the Jungle house on the top floor. I had my own deck and hammock! The food was so fresh and delicious! Bashtion, Femke, and Jord are you friendly hosts ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chakrachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This place has everything if you're into nature, wildlife, yoga, good food and surfing without crowds. The stuff is overly friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast is fantastic with their homemade bread, fruit juice and the best Gallo Pinto I ever had. Dinner time was always a pleasure with some of the best food I had and also plenty. You get served a nice Cappucino right after dinner time, which is really nice considering that you're so far away from any good café.

I stayed for two weeks and had really good time. Both dorm and the lodge are really comfy and the surfing around there is incredible. If you want to discover Costa Rica's nature, wildlife and surf, thist is probably your best option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
24.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
24.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
11.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 41 in Osa Peninsula
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Golfito
128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanzas de Fuego Surf & Adventure Lodge
0.8 mi away
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Punta Banco
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Burica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Burica

Property: Rancho Burica
Address: Apartado 131 | Punta Banco, Golfito 8201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rancho Burica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Burica Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing