We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLEASANT SURPRISE”
Review of Banana Bay Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Bay Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Golfito B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT SURPRISE”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The purpose of my/our visit to Golfito was to do some duty free shopping and in order to qualify for duty free shopping an overnight stay in the area required. After searching the on-line Golfito hotel options, I was somewhat ambivalent about what to expect. After checking in, I was no longer ambivalent. The hotel is on the water in a picture post card setting and a short ride from the shopping zone. The hotel's target audience is boaters, but don't let that deter you. The hotel has everything anyone would need -- air conditioning (it's hot in Golfito!), clean, very comfortable beds, hot water, large modern bathrooms, small refrigerator, cable TV, adequate parking, and is safe. And, let's not forget the adjoining waterfront restaurant with very good food at reasonable prices. Try the hamburgers! Cindy, the owner, deserves kudos for being very helpful and running a tight ship. Whether you're a boater, shopper, or tourist, you'll find the Banana Bay a pleasant place to stay. I also suggest booking in advance so you won't be disappointed because the hotel has a limited number of rooms. My 5-star rating is in large part based on a comparison to hotel options in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a water view. Try to get Room #1 at the end of the pier. Regardless of room locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARLAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed at Banana Bay twice, in the month of March, and enjoyed both time. I love the open restaurant and bar. The rooms are very clean and the food is delicious. It is a great spot to go fishing. Our mate was Knocker (I know I spelled it wrong but that's the way it sounds) Great guy and a great mate on the boat. We caught 4 Blue Marlin (brought up 8, including one Black Marlin) and caught tons of sailfish.

Banana Bay is a simple place but a place you will relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at Banana Bay for 3 nights. We had a great time. We came down to Golfito to fish and this was the perfect place to stay. Our boat was docked right at their marina. We enjoyed a good dinner every night. One night they prepared the mahi mahi we caught. We fished for 2 days and went to a great little ranch that Cindy helped us book. We rode horses to repel down a waterfall. We also spent some time on a beautiful beach. Great excursion for the day. We definetely hope to get back to Banana Bay and the Golfito area again. It has not built up and changed like so much of Costa Rica has.

Room Tip: We choose the king suite. It was right over the water with a great view. It had a hammock out fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raina2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Banana Bay Marina for one night but enjoyed it a lot. Great staff, particularly Cindy and wonderful views and a huge burger. If you want to deep sea fish this could be the place. Rooms simple and clean with big shower.... hot water worked. Would go back and stay longer to take the ferry trip around the area or check out the huge outlet mall with its overpriced appliances. Bus from the border .... 1.75 hrs and $4.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHH1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Enjoyed my two days at the marina. The room was clean and everything worked. The restaurant
food was very good and service excellent. Would stay again. Thought the price was a little high for what was there. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank panamadave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a wonderful place to spend time in the Pacific region of Central America!! Great people, never felt unsafe, affordable, and just Beautiful!! Spent 3 months in the area and cant wait to get back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fishhead1011313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
530 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed in Banana Bay marina twice and would likely return again if we passed through Golfito. The marina is in a safe location, with easy walking and taxi access to shopping, services and birdwatching. The marina has a nice restaurant, bar and laundry. But the docks are squeaky and wobbly. I believe we paid over $100US per night for our 40 foot boat. It may be preferable to anchor out in the quiet bay and use the dinghy docking services of the marina.

Room Tip: This is a marina with rooms - we stayed in marina in our sailboat, not in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
1.6 mi away
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
11.6 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
12.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
331 reviews
4.2 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Marina

Property: Banana Bay Marina
Address: Km. 2, Casa Amarilla, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bay Marina offers spacious first-class lodging with air-conditioned rooms, private baths (hot water), queen-sized beds and cable television. Pamper yourself by escaping from the boat and enjoying a few days on shore. Your guests will appreciate Banana Bay's quiet, comfortable rooms and amenities. A tranquil setting in paradise, relax and enjoy stunning views, bay breezes and delicious dining in our Bilge Bar and Grill. Be invigorated by the refreshing, crystal clear waters of our Jacuzzi's while overlooking the beautiful bay. The Captain's Suite offers the best of both worlds with captivating views enjoyed by boaters and the spacious room and amenities that living ashore provides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bay Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Marina Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing