We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where you want to stay down here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Golfito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
18
Reviewed 26 May 2006

This place is wonderful. There are plenty of things to do regardless of your age or phisical limitations. When my wife and I were visiting for 4 nights in late April, there were younger couples and older couples enjoying the lodge, the trails, and the waters of the golfo dulce. The food is excellent, with very friendly staff. The guides are intelligent and more importantly, very fun to hang out with when you are not on a tour, or some other activity. Our guides Carlos and Steve, were very fun to get to know and learn from. They are both good bartenders as well.

We stayed in one of the cabins (El Dorado) and it was very nice. Open air with a mosquito net on the bed. Not much lighting, in the evenings given the solar electricity, but you get used to it after awhile. Also- it is extremely humid here and they certainly don't have AC! But with the fan in the cabin, i actually got used to that too.

Our favorite activities during our stay here was fishing in the Golfo Dulce, the rainforest waterfall hike, the river kayak tour, and snorkeling. Please note that I have never taken the time to give a positive review for something in a forum such as this. Playa Nicuesa got me to do just that. Must be a pretty special place! Have a good time, and make sure you say hi from Jon and Sarah in Minnesota when you go! We loved it here!
-Jon

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2006

What a wonderful lodge. We stayed for three nights this May and had a great time. Service is top-notch, as is the food. Infact, we had the best meals of our three week honeymoon here!

I got sick the last day of our stay and had to leave the island early. Steve took care of all the arrangements and got us to our new flight on time. We can't thank him enough.

The individual cabins are not fully screened in - just a warning. There is very effective mosquito netting over the beds, but you cannot seal yourself off from the outside world. There are three working lights in the bedroom part of the cabin, and one stronger one in the bathroom area. The safety depoist boxes were nowhere to be found during our stay, so we left stuff at the main office, but it wasn't in a deposit box either. The room fan in our cabin was very effective at night, but during the day I doubt much would have helped one cool down. (We spent our time in the water and hiking).

The one thing that this lodge does not play up enough is how great the bar is, as well as the food. Drinks are fresh and rather generous! You will not be eating the same dish twice during your stay, and the portions are plentiful. Everything is very fresh, with lots of fruits and vegetables. We even had some Thai-type dishes during our stay. The chef is very accomodating to any dietary requests, so you needn't worry about being served food you do not like or are allergic to. We were most impressed by the consideration of the kitchen to my dietary restriction. There was also a vegetarian during the stay and she got excellent alternatives to our meat and seafood dishes.

The mangrove tour in kayaks was the highlight of our stay at the lodge. We recommend it to anybody. It really was magical and a great way to pass an afternoon.

This is a great lodge if you can handle some bugs, night noise and damp. You really are in the jungle and isolated, so don't go expecting air conditioning and hermetic rooms. Do go if you wish to see macaws, experience the great outdoors with some luxury, eat wonderful food, and have unlimited use of kayaks and snorkeling gear. The people couldn't be nicer, and everything is run really smoothly.

Have a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kaiyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

A most wonderful place with great food and hosts.My husband and I had the 2 bedroom unit to accomodate our 21 year old son who also loved this place--his favorite on our trip. Family styl dinners let you meet everyone you haven't at "cocktail hour" Good munchies. So many dolphins over on the way from P. Jimenez; we left from Golfito. Snorkling was so so but good hikes. Warm swimming water but beach is not sand but pebbles.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glen Ellen 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2006

Donna and Michael, expats from New York, have built a wonderful intimate ecolodge. The individual bungalows are lovely, set in a paradise of flowers.
We especially enjoyed kayaking in a nearby river, sailing with Michael on the Hobie Cat and seeing a baby anteater and sloth at a animal rescue center.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelerCalabasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge at the end of Feb, 2006 for three days. We absolutely loved it. Most of the accomodations are individual bungalows (which is where we stayed) and afford you tons of privacy. Unlike many resorts, there is no feeling of being crowded. The whole place has an aura of relaxation and the service is wonderful. By the end of your trip, you will definitely feel like you were staying with friends. My wife is vegetarian and she said that the best meals she had in Costa Rica were at the Playa Nicuesa. I'm not a vegetarian and I agree. If you must have air conditioning, then you will not do well at this place, as it does get a bit hot (most noticeably at night when you are trying to sleep), but if you are going to a rainforest lodge, you really shouldn't be expecting AC. All in all, we loved everything about the place and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sophrosyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Reise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
18 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
2 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
19 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
10.3 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge

Address: Parque Nacional Piedras Blancas, Golfito 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Golfito
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfito
Price Range: £283 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Nicuesa is an environmentally-friendly eco-lodge set on a 165-acre private rainforest preserve on the undeveloped Pacific Coast of Golfo Dulce in southern Costa Rica. Our jungle & sea location provides a unique adventure and nature vacation: the front yard is a gulf right off the Pacific Ocean, and the backyard consists of thousands of acres of pristine tropical rainforest. Overall, the experience embraces conservation and harmony with the natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Hotel Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Golfito
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing