We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Well, what can we add to the other rave reviews about Saladero? It's all true: this place is absolutely wonderful, the location is stunning, the food superb (try the guacamole!) and Harvey and Susan are wonderful hosts who really made us feel at home at Saladero. We stayed at the Beach House for 4 nights in december 2011 and very much enjoyed it. Saladero offers lots of possibilities for kayaking, snorkeling, birdwatching or just enjoy the beautiful view over the Golfo Dulce. The boat/kayak trip up the Esquinas river was also very beautiful with impressive mangrove forest.

For birdwatchers: although Saladero doesn't have an extensive trail system like some other Costa Rican forest lodges, the short forest trail was quite productive and we saw some excellent birds here like great tinamou, marbled wood-quail, ruddy quail-dove, golden-crowned spadebill, several antbird species etc. The garden is visited by fiery-billed aracari and of course the scarlet macaws. There was also a Tayra walking around that showed itself very well on a few occasions - absolutely amazing!

All in all, a wonderful place and very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik_Klop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

The highlight of our 3 weeks family trip around Costa Rica were the 4 days at Saladero Lodge. We were happy to stay close to the phantastic nature, between the rainforest and the ocean with dolphins playing in front of us during lunch. We were lazy in the hammock and active by canoeing, snorkeling, fishing, hiking etc. We appreciated very much to recharge energies after all this activities thanks to the tasty meals with local flavors prepared by Paulina, Susan and Harvey and consumed together with them and the other guests. The beach house is furnished with much taste, very spacious and airy over the ocean.The sunsets there are overwhelming.

Saladero Lodge is very well equipped in all details and offers sustainable comfort adeguate to the remote site and offers even some luxury like cold beer and ice. Harvey and Susan are open minded friendly hosts and have created together with the family of Paulina a really unique place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed with my wife for 4 nights in the treehouse and had a fantasic time. It felt like being part of the rainforest listening to the birdcalls and watching troops of whitefaced monkeys pass by within 40 feet of the porch and pose for photos. Margit got good photos of the scarlet macaws perched on the porch railing. The grounds are beautiful to stroll with the sounds of howler monkeys not far off. The food was fantsticwith greatvariety prepared by Harvey, Susan and Pauline. My only regret was that we were not able to stay longer.

Room Tip: The treehouse is great for couples with great privacy but be aware it is a steep set of stairs to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was exactly what my wife and I needed. Very relaxing but with plenty of activities available after you have recharged the batteries.We stayed in the treehouse. It was fantastic! We saw lots of monkeys and scarlet macaws. The fishing was excellent and Harvey gave me some great pointers. We had our catch for dinner ;) All the food was local and fantastic. I would love to stop and see Harvey and Susan again and highly recommend Saladero Lodge to anyone heading to or passing near Golfito.

Room Tip: The Treehouse was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Our stay at the unique Saladero Lodge was one of the high-points of our trip to Costa Rica. The hosts Harvey and Susan pampered us with gourmet food and with insightful and interesting conversations. It was inspirational to witness the ingenious green energy capture that powered all electrical utilities, from fridge to hot shower. During our stay we enjoyed snorkling, kayaking, discovering the mangrove. This is a 'pearl' along the Golfo Dulce, between undisturbed tropical rain forest and beach. It is a dream come true for adventurous and 'green' travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Owning our own small business within the outdoor adventure/hospitality industry makes get away time for us priceless. We always seek to find unique locations, experiences and lodging that communicate ‘Champagne’ when in reality we have a Budweiser budget. Reconciling these differences sometimes takes effort but we have always found it well worth any time or energy we have to pour into preparation.
Having said all of this-if you, the happy traveler, find yourself in the same place as we are then Saladero Lodge should be on the top or your “must go to” list.
Again, coming from the hospitality industry I, Elisabeth, tend to value the people experience. From the time Harvey picked us up from the little air strip in Golfito I knew we were in for a treat. I have come to understand Costa Rica attracts a particular kind of foreign national resident and Harvey could be the poster child for the perfect version of this-full of life, knowledgeable, earth wise, industrious and laid back so far you can’t help but breath deeper around him. We had arrived at the end of the rainy season and of course caught the 3:30 rain on our boat ride from the pier in Golfito to Saladero. We were perfectly comfortable on this wet, rocky ride as Harvey began to inform us of some of the things we could expect while in the care of him and his crew at Saladero.
Despite the rain Harvey’s lovely bride Susan came to meet us at the water’s edge. She greeted us warmly and who couldn’t enjoy listening to her incredible London accent for hours on end. I respect and very much appreciate this woman who ‘sees’ creation and lives in awe and wonder with it. Susan showed us to our room which is incredible. We stayed in the Beach House which is a very comfortable location for a small family our intimate group of friends. If you’re looking for complete privacy you may want to select the Tree House or Mariposa.
From the time we dried off and were once again greeted warmly in the kitchen below our quarters the week was filled with people who created that Champagne feeling in all that they did. Harvey and Susan have a local family who help them keep Saladero running smoothly and I have to say that these folks, their relationship with Susan and Harvey are very much what made our experience at Saladero 5 star. Even with a language barrier their presence offers far more than those who are simply hired help.
Good food and fun activities abound. We enjoyed very much the local flavors presented in the menu. We were also impressed with the fact that fellow guests who happened to be vegetarians were offered a lovely fare as well! Paulina’s gift with coconuts leaves ones mouth watering! I can’t remember the name of it but the “frozen coconut confection in a bag” is amazing.
The first two days we were there were all about relaxing. I in particularly just needed to breath and what a perfect place for it. The hammock became one of my favorite places to be. No schedule, no deadlines accept the next incredible meal. Once my brain stopped racing Mike and I took a couple of kayaks and paddles along the coast line to a little spot where we could beach the boats and just swim and look for shells, etc. Ahhhh….again, our time our way.
We did have some activities that were booked along with the other guests which were fantastic: hiking on the Saladero property, which of course encompasses a large portion of primary rain forest--beautiful and fascinating; a kayak trip in the river Esquinas; horseback riding at Playa San Josecito and a trip over to Puerto Jimenez for a zip-line tour. Even with these activities there was never a feeling of “hurry up”. Life just moves at a much slower pace around the Golfo Dulce.
I could go on and on about all the little details of our trip but I will spare you and sum it all up: The location-a breathtaking primitive rain forest as your back yard, the beach as your front; the accommodations-5 stars in the world of a simplistic lifestyle; the people-priceless, they make the experience full and complete. Pack bathing suits, comfortable dry quick clothes for a balmy 77 (few needed), one pair of sturdy sandals, socks (used with their boots for hiking). Ladies forget the hair gadgets and makeup. The salt air and sunshine become your beauty accoutrements. When Susan suggests sunscreen it’s for good reason. As for the previous ratings and the mention of bugs—remember you are going to a tropical rain forest, there will be all kinds of critters but I can honestly tell you we saw very little and had very little trouble with bites, stings, etc. Know that if you fly in country you can only have a carry-on sized bag. As I stated before…no worries, pack light…you don’t need much. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saladerolodge, Owner at Saladero Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Thank you very much for such a fantastic review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Now the hard part comes. Living up to these great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

After spending a few days in San Jose for a business meeting, I ventured out to the Saladero Lodge for 3 nights. It was amazing, exactly what I needed to get away from it all. I had a great time kayaking, snorkeling, and fishing and they have tons of great excursions (we went on the canopy/zip line tour and it was a blast!). The atmosphere is relaxing and laid back and the food is incredible! My only complaint is that I was only there for 3 days! I can't wait to go back ASAP!

Room Tip: The Tree House is amazing if you really want to be in the jungle - but watch out! - 88 steps to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
22.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
20.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range: £122 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Four tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. Our 6 new "glamping cabins" sleep two persons each, have a view of the Golfo Dulce and are in the gardens. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown organically at Saladero ), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and you can fish from the beach of the property or by kayak. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing