We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Bird Lover's Paradise!”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Bird Lover's Paradise!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We just returned from 6 days at Saladero and loved every minute. We hated to have to leave! Everything about the lodge met exactly what we were looking for in a tropical vacation - birds, flowers, rain forest, and sea kayaking.

Susan and Harvey were excellent hosts and the food was exceptional - delicious, healthy, and Susan always kept an eye towards producing meals that as environmentally healthy as possible. The family style service allowed us to get close to our fellow travelers which was an added bonus.

We stayed in the Treehouse, which was a bit of a climb as advertised, but it was up in the forest canopy and gave great views of the birds and wildlife. The seclusion gave us the feeling of being off on our own which was perfect for this trip that included Valentine's day.

My wife and I loved Saladero and all the people we met and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Boulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
133
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morrison
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Harvey and Susan continue to treat everyone like special guests and do whatever they can with the help of Paulina to make the trip memorable. Knowing we are divers, Harvey went out of his way to arrange 3-2 tank dives which were amazing and unique experiences. They work hard to meet everyone's needs and even after our 5th visit to Saladero Lodge, we continue to be amazed by the service, at the beauty of the area, ongoing improvements, different species of fish to catch and new adventures to experience. This is a good destination, we were there for a week and found it to be a tremendous value for the money with all the wonderful meals and comfortable accommodations.

This is the first time that we had a teenager in our group and she had a great time making chocolate, husking a coconut, exploring the jungle, seeing the dolphins, snorkeling, etc. Finally, someone interested in going out with my husband to see the frogs and crabs at night!

Although this eco lodge is completely off the grid, we continue to be impressed with the pure water, hot showers and cold beer!

Once again, my husband was towed around for an hour on the kayak in the front bay of Saladero by a large Jack Crevall. Not a fish to eat, but, fun to catch and release.

We echo all of the positive comments other readers have made and cannot wait for our 6th visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I spent 5 days at Saladero Lodge in February as part of a Costa Rica trip and had an amazing time. I was travelling by myself but from the time, Harvey and Susan picked me up by boat in Puerto Jimenez, I felt great. The location of the lodge is excellent - very remote but with plenty to do. Initially, I came to relax and not do much but ended up being busy kayaking, snorkling, fishing and exploring the rain forest. I stayed in the tree-house and it was amazing to fall asleep to - and wake up to - the sound of the rain forest. But the Beach-House and Mariposa also have lots of charm. Even if I was the only guest at the lodge, no short-cuts were taken with my meals. They were prepared by Paulina, Susan and Harvey in great cooperation and all were delicious and consisted mostly of local grown fruits/vegtables or fish from the sea. During my stay, I also took the river-tour which is highly recommendable. Kayaking down the river between the mangroves one early morning, is something I will never forget. One piece of advice is to stay a minimum of 4-5 days - so much to see and do ! Would definitely love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0ren_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The best advice I can offer regarding Saladero Lodge is to stop reading this review and book a stay there as soon as possible. Honestly, as the many other reviews here attest, it’s a wonderful property and Harvey and Susan are the perfect hosts. Their dedication to their environment and their joy in sharing their knowledge about the local area are always evident. With no road access and surrounded by primary rain forest, Saladero Lodge is particularly well suited to those looking to get away from everything and completely relax while enjoying the amazing wildlife found in this part of Costa Rica. Meals are delicious and prepared from very local ingredients (including many ingredients from right on the property). Our three-day stay in the Beach House last week was wonderful – it is very comfortable and has amazing views of the stunning sunsets over the Gulfo Dulce. Harvey’s kayak tour of the mangroves in the nearby Rio Esquinas was a highlight – don’t miss it! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Beach House very much, but the Tree House is also a good option if you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Paradise on earth. Harvey, Susan, Paulina and Palto made our vacation to Costa Rica the best we ever had. They treated us like family, they made sure that everything was beyond what we expected. We shared amazing stories and jokes. Great great time. Saladero lodge gave us one of the most relaxing times of our life. We had excellent food, fresh fruit, amazing juices and most of this right from the property. We kayaked, fished and snorkeled right in front. We saw Whiteface and Howler monkeys, Scarlet macaws, parrots, lot of birds, sting rays, dolphins, sea turtles and a lot of fish. I'm pretty sure I'm forgetting something else :-)
The sunsets are breathtaking.
We are definitely going back.
Ali & Crystal

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The hosts, Harvey and Susan arranged for our rental car to be left parked in Rincon, where Harvey picked us up on a boat. We spent the next 3 days at their Saladero Lodge, and left regretting we did not plan for a longer stay. The lodge is not a single building, but a number of cabins and facilities scattered along a well-landscaped territory. It is located on the beach right next to primary rainforest, where the howling monkeys wake you up with their morning calls just like roosters do in the countryside. Which is good because we spent most of the time snorkeling and kayaking, and mornings were the best time for that. It rained couple of times at night, but the mornings were perfect, with low tide, calm sea and transparent water. Harvey showed us the best spots for snorkeling, and we took 3 or 4 of 2+ hr swims, either directly from the lodge, or leaving the kayak on the beach just S of the mangrove bay. The sea life near the shore is quite rich, with good coral growth at some spots. We saw a sea turtle, an eagle ray, numerous stingrays and Cortez angelfish, puffers (both porcupine-fish and burrfish), occasional parrotfish, and schools of jacks and small coral fish like Sargent-majors and chromis atrilobata. Almost every hole at the bottom had someone hiding, either a moray eel or lobsters, so we saw at least 4-5 of each during every swim. Lycra tank and shorts would be beneficial though, due to the strong sun and occasional stinging creatures in the water. But no jellyfish, nothing serious there, just a minor nuisance. By noon the sea became somewhat choppy, and after lunch and some rest we switched to hiking local trails, watching macaws, photographing flowers and, by day's end, watching the sunsets. The hosts are fun to talk to, and they make everything very educational. You have fish soup with yucca and takiska (if I remember the names correctly), and then Harvey will show you these plants growing. Enough was said here about the excellent food in the lodge, but local-grown white pineapples in particular deserve special mentioning. Overall, a highly recommended trip!

Room Tip: Walk around and choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemble, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

- Ideal hosts, Harvey and Susan, and their staff, made us feel like old friends - sharing their time, stories, and local knowledge with us. They worked hard to make sure every detail was right for us.
- Dining was a treat! The food was delicious - the freshest, tastiest food we found in Costa Rica and the dining area was welcoming. Nice to eat and visit with the hosts and staff as well.
- Scarlet macaws, monkeys, and more were right outside the door.
- Things to do, and also time to not do anything - very peaceful - a great spot!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marj t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
537 reviews
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing