We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience!”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
“An unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Shortly after booking our flights to the Osa peninsula, we came across Saladero's website and promptly made our first reservations for the trip. The rest of our itinerary would be based on a 3 day stay here in the middle of our adventure, and all of the kind words out there could not express how pleased we were with the experience. Of the 4 different places we stayed in the Osa/Golfo Dulce region, Saladero was the most amazing, the most unique, and the only place we would like to visit again. All of the great things mentioned in other's reviews are accurate, and this is truly a one-of-a-kind eco-lodge offering everything you could ask for and then some. While other places in the region may offer similar activities and opportunities, Harvey and Susan make staying here a truly unforgettable experience. They are caring and compassionate hosts who truly love sharing their amazing piece of paradise, and they take every measure to make sure you are comfortable and happy. The family-style meals provide a great opportunity for conversation with both them as well as other travelers, and you really do feel like a friend when you leave. With kayaks and fishing poles waiting, and a sustainably-powered refrigerator full of cold beer to enjoy afterwards, Saladero Eco Lodge has everything you could possibly need to enjoy the Golfo Dulce and the surrounding rainforest. See for yourself...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up a few stairs, the Treehouse will not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
131
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

For the first time in our many years of travel, we found a place and people we enjoyed so much, we had to return, and we were glad we did! Harvey and Susan make the Saladero experience truly amazing. This is a great place to rejuvenate, explore, enjoy nature and wildlife, share stories, and eat fabulous, healthy meals among friends. Our family stayed in the clean and comfortable Beach House this visit and loved waking to the sounds of the rainforest while looking out over the coconut palms and the beautiful waters of the Golfo Dulce. We enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling, swimming, hiking, horseback riding, reading in the hammock, making chocolate, and more. We highly recommend Saladero Lodge and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divehpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invermere, bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Have you ever watched dolphins at play from your bedroom window? Or gazed at the path of the full moon on still ocean waters leading right into the same window? Magical moments, but not unusual for guests staying in the Beach House at Harvey and Susan Woodard's retreat in the Costa Rican rain forest. Those are only a couple of the memories from our 10-day stay in late February. Our trip was a belated celebration of 50 years together and we couldn't have picked a better location.

And yet, it’s not the paradise that some people claim. Obviously, the days are hot and humid, but that makes it easier to accept the afternoon siesta as part of the daily routine. Of course, the delicious, healthy lunches of anything from quesadillas to spaghetti washed down by plenty of refreshing fruit juices also contribute to heavy eyelids. It can rain very hard and getting caught in a torrential downpour isn’t all that pleasant, but that also comes with the territory. A few minutes in the ingenious outdoor shower--separate taps for day or night—easily wards off any unlikely chills. There are some bugs, but we never had to use the insect repellent we brought. The rain forest is snake country, but we neither saw nor heard of any being seen.

It is hard to come up with any more superlatives than have already been written about Harvey and Susan and their exceptional resort. With much of the food homegrown, the utilization of both solar and hydro-electric power and the employment of local people, this is an honest-to-goodness eco-lodge in every sense of the word. Our memories will fade over time, but right now a day rarely passes by without some fond reminiscence of our stay. We especially miss the breakfasts in the open-air dining area where our meals were often interrupted by the arrival of a pair of noisy macaws or some big-billed toucans. Of course, we could count on the warbling of a pair of greater kiskadees whose nest was only a few feet away from our table and the daily visits of long-tailed hermit hummingbirds to the heliconias right below the nest.

There are many activities for those so inclined and hammocks and lounge chairs for those who just want to relax. The food is good and plentiful. The rooms and grounds are neat and clean. The staff is amiable and helpful. The dogs are friendly. Golfo Dulce is generally calm and welcoming. And there are fish for those willing to pursue them (the bonus may be a marvelous curried red snapper or trigger fish ceviche). Saladero Lodge is one great place.

We’d love to go back for all the reasons stated above, but our most precious memories are not of the place, but of the people. We can’t think of Saladero without thinking of Harvey and Susan. They made us feel like family and went out of their way to insure that our entire Costa Rican trip, not just at Saladero, was trouble-free and enjoyable. They are special folks who make everyone around them also feel special.

Room Tip: The Beach House can sleep 6, but there is only one bedroom. The Tree House is best suited for young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hondo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I camped at Saladero for two days, and it was a wonderful experience. The camping area is well-groomed and equipped with a large tarp to shelter your tent. There is a "palapa" structure nearby for food preparation and running water for cleanup.
The setting is absolutely gorgeous, as you are camping between the beach/gulf and the rainforest. There are several hiking trails into the rainforest...ranging from easy to more difficult.
The owners, Harvey and Susan, are very accommodating hosts...you really feel "at home". Every evening around 4:30, you can go down to the covered bar/dining area and join the hosts and other guests for beer/wine and enjoyable conversation. Harvey and Susan are both very accomplished "chefs", and the food was outstanding...stir-frys, Thai seasonings, fresh fish...all excellent.
The rest of the staff at Saladero are friendly and helpful. And...there are three very friendly dogs and a nice cat.
Although I camped, and did not stay in a room, I did get a look at the rooms. They are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed.
I stayed in the town of Golfito the night before my arrival. Harvey was there to pick me up by boat right on time. The boat ride from Golfito takes between 30 and 45 minutes...during which Harvey points out local landmarks and fills you in on the history of the area.
I can not recommend this place more highly. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Saladero lodge is a place to remember. for it's beautiful setting - rain forest all around, beautiful botanic garden and an amazing gulf... for the incredible verity of birds, mammals, fish and other (friendly) sea creatures... for the healing sounds of animals and silence... for the kindness of Susan and Harvey - their brilliant sense of hummer, sensitivity, open heart and true love for people. Once you let this place embrace you, you'll redefine the term home.
Me and my 12 year old daughter had spent 3 nights in their exquisite yet modest cabins. Ate fresh and delicious food, and enjoyed the company of the other guests (laughed, blabbered and shared space). We thank Susan, Harvey and their kind stuff for making us feel loved and cared for, and promise to return soon!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayelet_LATOVITCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Every person on this earth should experience a primary rainforest. The setting of this lodge right on the edge of the jungle on the shore of this peaceful gulf was like experiencing a lost paradise. The accomadations were beautifully cared for and clean and very comfortable. Watching the tropical birds or listening to the unfamiliar sounds of the jungle made our trip exciting as well as educational. We hiked on the paths through the jungle, learned how to properly open a coconut and paddled kayaks on the gulf as well as up a river amongst mangroves. Just relaxing and visiting with Susan and Harvey as well as other visitors around the table at the evening meal was a highlight of each day. The food was varied and tasty. We would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKrehbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River vale
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was a special- occasion gift from our children. And what a gift this was! Susan and Harvey are so genuine and welcoming. They are the keepers of this piece of paradise and are sharing it in the best possible way. We stayed in the tree house which offers such tranquility and privacy, worth every step we had to take to get there! The food is as local as can be and excellently prepared with Costarican flavors added by Pauline. The grounds are so beautiful and interesting, and the water is warm and perfect for swimming, kayaking and snorkeling.
This is a true eco lodge where we quickly adapted to the calming rhythm of nature.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
22.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
19.6 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing