We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Little Piece of Paradise"”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winnemucca, Nevada
1 review
“"A Little Piece of Paradise"”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Saladero is a little piece of Paradise served up by gracious hosts Harvey and Susan ably assisted by a wonderful Tico couple, Paulina and Balto. This is the second time we have been lucky enough to stay at this amazing eco-lodge. Last March my husband and I stayed in the Tree House. We had such a great time we came back with my sister in Nov. and stayed in the Beach House. Both are great experiences in different ways. The tree house is very private, has it’s own bathroom and you get the stairmaster benefits of walking up and down the steps! You also get to see lots of monkeys and other wildlife. The beach house is absolutely beautiful, convenient and ideal for a family or a close-knit group of friends.

Harvey and Susan are wonderful hosts who attend to your every need. I had some food restrictions and they very kindly adapted meals so that I could have the full Saladero experience! The food was beautifully presented, delectable, and served up in ample portions.

Saladero is the place to step off the train and let life’s stresses roll away. It is “muy tranquilo”. The lovely scenery, gentle ocean breezes, musical sounds of birds, gurgling streams, and the patter of rain on metal roofs make for a most relaxing and revitalizing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
131
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you want to be spoiled by wonderful hosts, beautiful surroundings, tranquility, excellent adventures, good company and great food - a stay with Susan and Harvey is an Absolute Must!
I marked the swimming and fitness center as "Excellent" as the calm balmy waters of the Gulfo Dulce are right in front of you for swimming, and take out one of the kayaks or hike one of the jungle trails and you have the best workout ever, compliments of the Osa Peninsula :)
Thank you Susan and Harvey for an Absolutely Wonderful Time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmlittleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a wonderful setting, with fantastic activities, amazing chances to see animals and botany and perfect accomodation. Susan and Harvey are the icing on the cake welcoming you to the lodge as if you were family guests staying in their private paradise. Nothing was too much trouble, menus were adventurous (for example using leaves from the garden for exciting salads) and activities planned following our own interests. For us the best trip was kayaking through the mangroves and the best animals were the tucans and the green iguana.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Susan and Harvey are such wonderful hosts that when we left Saladero Lodge after a three night stay, it felt like we were saying good-bye to old friends! They did everything to make our stay comfortable and fun.

The food was delicious and healthy (all meals are included) and the conversations were lively!

We enjoyed taking kayaks to a nice snorkeling spot near-by (all equipment is free including the Kayaks), - and the next day, Harvey and Susan took us out in their boat for a fishing expedition which was fun very reasonably priced.

If you are looking to "get away from it all" in an ecologically responsible, beautiful place, with great people and delicious food, then this is the place for you (the only access is by boat - Harvey will pick you up). If you are looking for a fancy resort with lots of frilly amenities, then I don't think this is what you would want.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Beach House", which is very roomy (can comfortably sleep 6) with beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joano11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had an amazing time at Saladero Eco Lodge! Only arriveable by boat trip in the calm waters of golfo dulce where we were welcomed by an incredible amount of dolphins! A beautiful nature spot, where you wake up with the lovely sounds of tropical birds, and in between some congo monkeys. The rooms are fantastic, all in their own way. Also the people are very friendly and welcoming, and Harvey made the most delicious pancakes I've ever eaten! A must-go!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francisca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Or a natural refinement, next to Paradise. Wonderful, caring and welcoming hosts, Susan and Harvey that you cannot help but to befriend! A place where the scenery is beautiful: sunsets, palm trees, jungle; where the sounds of the rain forest are enhanced, where life is sweet for us guests, as the Golfo Dulce name suggests. Great craftmanships for the lodging, and meals are succulent. And all of this is sustainable, viable and food is mostly grown there. It was my 3rd visit, this time, on my own. It seems like magic to stay and enjoy this calm rythm of life, this is due to these two magicians and their caretakers that provide for all the goodness and the spirit of the place.
Madeleine Demers

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hospitality is above and beyond anything I've ever experienced in traveling. Food is delicious. Lodging options are diverse...something for every budget. But what sets Saladero apart for me is that they exemplify ecotourism: sustainable operations on-site (from energy sources to food supply), while providing guests with accessibility to primary rainforest habitat. It is comfortable, enjoyable and responsible. I laughed a lot, ate a LOT, saw a lot and did a lot. Couldn't ask for more. Oh...and because their grounds are considerable and garden well-tended, they attract quite a lot of birds...which is another plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
19.6 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
20.3 mi away
La Leona Eco Lodge
La Leona Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Carate
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing