We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for nature lovers”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wedged between primary rain forest and the beach, this is the perfect place to see lots of birds and other wildlife, do some relaxing kayaking, or explore the private forest trails. And, not to forget, get pampered with excellent food prepared by the friendly owners and their wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvsteensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed at Saladero Eco Lodge only 2.5 days after exploring Corcovado NP. This was exactly what I needed after my tough jungle trek. A beautiful remote place with very particular ambience, Harvey and Susan are really wonderful hosts. It was a great relaxing time with a lot of opportunities to explore the area. Interestingly the area around Soladero offers some experience that nicely complements Corcovado NP, in particular mangrove forests. Kayaking, snorkeling and exploring jungle around the lodge are all absolutely to be tried! Food is really great and simple but beautiful mariposa house where I stayed was far above my expectations.
What else to say? I give this place full-heartedly highest rating and strongly recommend it as a great option for exploring nature or just to have very nice relaxing time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Igor239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed there three nights and loved it from the start. Harvey and Susan are such gracious hosts. The cooking is divine--from Thai curry, to gallo pinto, to cajetas, and coconut ice cream. We stay in the beach house, with a beautiful view of Golfo Dulce, listening to howler monkeys and scarlet macaws. It was a perfect location to spend our 10th anniversary. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huastecatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Enjoyed our visit to this unique and private eco-lodge. We spent a good part of our time on the water kayaking and fishing. We caught Red Snapper, Snook, Pompano, Barracuda, Trigger Fish, and Bonita. We kept a few of the fish for dinner and Paulina did a wonderful job preparing them using local spices. All our meals were freshly prepared and wonderful. The fresh fruit juices were also very special.
Harvey and Susan were gracious hosts and very knowledgeable about the plants and wildlife. We learned so much from them and thoroughly enjoyed their travel tales. The kayak mangrove tour was also very enjoyable.
I loved just walking around the property observing the various birds, butterflies, lizards, and monkeys. Everything just seemed in to be in harmony. We came to this part of Costa Rica for wildlife and we were not disappointed. Saladero is a very special place we won’t soon forget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having read the other reviews I am struggling to find something different to say about this amazingly hospitable piece of the Costa Rican jungle. Susan, Harvey, Paulina, Balto, Frank, Maya, Lulu and the newest member of the team, Gatita make up a wonderfully friendly family with whom we spent 9 unforgettable days. We stayed 2 nights in the Tree House (very comfortable and secluded) and a further 7 days in the Beach House which is a spacious, well appointed second level above the kitchen/dining room with wonderful views.. The food is great, the scenery is great, the kayaking in the mangroves is great and most of all the social time we spent with Susan & Harvey was just as if we had known them for years - they are both great raconteurs AND listeners. Our objectives in coming to Saladero were to experience local food, enjoy the jungle and ocean scenery and to see as much of the local wildlife as possible. Well we achieved all of that and more. Some of the wildlife we saw follows -
Dolphins, Turtles, Scarlet Macaws, Toucans, Small Blue Heron, Green Hermit Hummingbird, Rufous Hummingbird, Green Heron, Ibis, Snowy Egret, Boatbilled Heron, Belted Kingfisher, Pygmy Kingfisher, Green Kingfisher, Whimbrel, Willet, Red-lored Parrot, Parakeet, Howler Monkeys, Capuchin Monkeys, Frigate Bird, Brown Pelican, Moray Eel, Conch, Sting Ray, Coatimundi, Cara Cara, Jesus Christ Lizard, Skinks and that’s just what I remember!
All in all a wonderfully exhilarating and yet restful vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandk_guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I don't think I can fully explain the wonderful experience of Saladero in a review. All the reviews are great and from the moment you are picked up by Harvey you will understand. Saladero is not just a vacation, it is a way of life for the time you are there. We have stayed at many resorts, hotels and B&B's over the years and without a doubt Harvey, Susan, Paulina and Balto are the most friendly, gracious hosts we have ever met while on vacation. A beautiful location right on the beach, but yet you are in the forests within minutes seeing all sorts of fauna and flora. We stayed five nights, two in the beachfront rooms and three up in the tree house (the 88 steps were not that bad, it takes a minute is all). Both were different in their own way and both were great. You sleep and wake up to the sounds of the water or the sounds of the forest. In the beach house we saw dolphins swimming right off shore, in the tree house we sat on the porch and watched monkeys swing around in the trees. Harvey and Susan were always right there making sure you were taken care of, whether you wanted to kayak, swim, hike or just hang out in the hammocks. We enjoyed our conversations with them (and the other guests that were also there), sharing meals with everyone was a bonus as we learned much about Saladero, Costa Rica and their backgrounds as well. And Paulina, what a cook! Making some of her Costa Rican favorites was a highlight for both us (I now have a hankering for eggs, rice and beans with Lizano every morning). Being able to try local foods is something we always enjoy while on vacation and you really get a taste of that at Saladero as they use many items from their own grounds. (I would be remiss if I didn't mention that Harvey and Susan are also great cooks). The activities are setup so you can do what you want, if you want. We kayaked, swam, hiked, took a trip to some botanical gardens. Yet we also relaxed, read a lot and just enjoyed the beauty of Saladero. I could go on and on and on but my advice is to just go and enjoy, it exceeded both of our expectations and we would love to visit again in the future. (Note - we booked the Adventure Package with Saladero and combined it with the Danta Lodge, which we also give five stars. Being able to book both is a good idea and I'm glad they offered it)

Room Tip: Beach front is right over the main dining area, but it's quiet and you hear the sounds of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Saladero is a little piece of Paradise served up by gracious hosts Harvey and Susan ably assisted by a wonderful Tico couple, Paulina and Balto. This is the second time we have been lucky enough to stay at this amazing eco-lodge. Last March my husband and I stayed in the Tree House. We had such a great time we came back with my sister in Nov. and stayed in the Beach House. Both are great experiences in different ways. The tree house is very private, has it’s own bathroom and you get the stairmaster benefits of walking up and down the steps! You also get to see lots of monkeys and other wildlife. The beach house is absolutely beautiful, convenient and ideal for a family or a close-knit group of friends.

Harvey and Susan are wonderful hosts who attend to your every need. I had some food restrictions and they very kindly adapted meals so that I could have the full Saladero experience! The food was beautifully presented, delectable, and served up in ample portions.

Saladero is the place to step off the train and let life’s stresses roll away. It is “muy tranquilo”. The lovely scenery, gentle ocean breezes, musical sounds of birds, gurgling streams, and the patter of rain on metal roofs make for a most relaxing and revitalizing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaritaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
22.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
20.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range: £145 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Four tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. Our 6 new "glamping cabins" sleep two persons each, have a view of the Golfo Dulce and are in the gardens. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown organically at Saladero ), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and you can fish from the beach of the property or by kayak. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing