We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose, California
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we had a great stay at Saladero Lodge. Our entire experience was great but the kayak tour with Susan was especially memorable. After just a few minutes of kayaking we spotted a 3 toed sloth, neotropical otter, and squirrel monkeys. I highly recommend this tour! this place offers a truly unique experience that a hotel cannot. Staying with Harvey and Susan was like staying with family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
131
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were at the Saladero Eco Lodge for about 5 days at the end of December 2013 and had the best time. We went with our youngest son, age 15, and with another family who we vacation with each year. We have had some great trips together so we have pretty high standards. From the first moment, Harvey and Susan were perfect. They are both founts of information about the area from sociological, environmental, ecological and political perspectives, as well as the flora and fauna. They are a gracious couple who made us feel welcome and cared for, as well as a couple who are clearly quite sweet on each other. That warmth can make such a difference in the tone of a lodge, which has to be emotionally comfortable. They also helped our two families blend in with another family who was "in residence" when we arrived. It enhanced our time. Our boys fished right at the beach and everything caught was turned into each afternoon's delicious ceviche. The food was healthy and tasty, with much of what we ate coming from the property. Kayaking in mangrove forests was probably my most amazing time. Harvey and Susan led all 7 of us in and out of channels and taught us about the importance of such forests for the ecology of the area and the environment. We all learned about truly living off the grid, how to sit quietly but then how to follow the sounds of monkeys and toucans to find them in the forests. It was such a magical time. I recommend Saladero Eco Lodge, without reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic, not fancy like a hotel and they are all in a natural environment. We had bats livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

In December 2013 we stayed with Susan and Harvey at their charming Saladero Eco-lodge, and enjoyed every moment of it. The location is idyllic with the calm waters of Costa Rica’s Golfo Dulce on one side and the lush rainforests of the Piedras Blancas National Park on the other. Wildlife abounds on their unspoiled beautiful property: we were greeted by howler monkeys, toucans, scarlet macaws, parrots, bats, and dolphins practically every day . In addition to the wildlife we enjoyed the company of the two resident dogs Maya and Lulu, the rescue kitten Patches, and the parrot Ringo that decided to adopt Susan and Harvey during our stay. The beach house that we stayed in was very comfortable with magnificent views. Susan and Harvey are wonderful hosts, and we’ve seldom had better vegetarian food! They’re ably assisted by Paolina, Giselle and Frank to make the stay memorable. We enjoyed swimming, snorkeling, and especially kayaking in the Rio Esquinas estuary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wedged between primary rain forest and the beach, this is the perfect place to see lots of birds and other wildlife, do some relaxing kayaking, or explore the private forest trails. And, not to forget, get pampered with excellent food prepared by the friendly owners and their wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvsteensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed at Saladero Eco Lodge only 2.5 days after exploring Corcovado NP. This was exactly what I needed after my tough jungle trek. A beautiful remote place with very particular ambience, Harvey and Susan are really wonderful hosts. It was a great relaxing time with a lot of opportunities to explore the area. Interestingly the area around Soladero offers some experience that nicely complements Corcovado NP, in particular mangrove forests. Kayaking, snorkeling and exploring jungle around the lodge are all absolutely to be tried! Food is really great and simple but beautiful mariposa house where I stayed was far above my expectations.
What else to say? I give this place full-heartedly highest rating and strongly recommend it as a great option for exploring nature or just to have very nice relaxing time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed there three nights and loved it from the start. Harvey and Susan are such gracious hosts. The cooking is divine--from Thai curry, to gallo pinto, to cajetas, and coconut ice cream. We stay in the beach house, with a beautiful view of Golfo Dulce, listening to howler monkeys and scarlet macaws. It was a perfect location to spend our 10th anniversary. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huastecatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Enjoyed our visit to this unique and private eco-lodge. We spent a good part of our time on the water kayaking and fishing. We caught Red Snapper, Snook, Pompano, Barracuda, Trigger Fish, and Bonita. We kept a few of the fish for dinner and Paulina did a wonderful job preparing them using local spices. All our meals were freshly prepared and wonderful. The fresh fruit juices were also very special.
Harvey and Susan were gracious hosts and very knowledgeable about the plants and wildlife. We learned so much from them and thoroughly enjoyed their travel tales. The kayak mangrove tour was also very enjoyable.
I loved just walking around the property observing the various birds, butterflies, lizards, and monkeys. Everything just seemed in to be in harmony. We came to this part of Costa Rica for wildlife and we were not disappointed. Saladero is a very special place we won’t soon forget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
22.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
19.6 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing