We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That was real paradise!”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mattersburg, Austria
1 review
“That was real paradise!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It is a present and it was definitly my highlight on my 7 week-trip through Costa Rica, when I got to Saladero Lodge. Enjoying an nature reserve and being introduced to plants by wonderful people who took care of me in a very special way is something I didn´t experience so far. Susan and Harvey shared not only their home but also their knowledge with me. Also I got very tasty freshly made food every day and had some wonderful little adventures by paddeling along the golfo dulce in their kajacs together with seaturtles and dolphins.
If you want to experience the nature of Costa Rica in a silent, magic way, Saladero Eco Lodge is you place to go and stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uschi_serafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
130
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a wonderful camping experience at Saladero last week! We live in very southern Costa Rica, so we boated (with a motor on our ocean kayak) up Golfo Dulce four hours to Saladero Eco Lodge. We didn't stay in the cabinas but I have heard they're very nice, including the tree house. We didn't bring a tent as we knew that Saladero had one available. The campsites are right by the shore, though there is a beach wall protecting the camping area. Also provided is a picnic table and a covered food preparation area which includes a sink/running water. There is also a (cold water, but it's the tropics, so it's not really cold) shower nearby, discreetly shielded by some bushes and rocks. There is also a toilet and showers on the other side of the lodge/restaurant building, just a minute or two from the campsite. Those showers are so great (even hot water!), set in stones, quite unique. The restaurant/bar is open-air, and the food is great. We prepared most of our own meals, but did have a delicious dinner our last night there. There was plenty of food and home-made bread. And try the desserts! The coconut cookies are heavenly! Harv and Susan are perfect hosts, and their cook, Paulina, obviously is a good cook...she and Susan actually work together preparing the meals. But apparently Paulina is the master dessert maker there. Oh...we had engine problems with the boat's motor, so Harv towed us to Golfito, about an hour or 90 minutes away, and then would not accept payment for his trouble. So, would we recommend Saladero? Of course. Just keep in mind that it's rustic...it's not a five star luxury hotel...it's for those who want to be out of the way, and not see a lot of people. There's plenty of wildlife around the area, and the water is perfect for a swim (and perhaps plan a kayak trip with Harv up the mangroves nearby), and often you'll see pods of dolphin swimming offshore. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NamasteJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thanks to TripAdvisor recommendations and Harvey and Susan's email communications we chose Saladero Lodge as one of two properties we visited on our 3 week first trip to Costa Rica. Immediately we felt like family without responsibility. Our hosts were enough reason, alone, to return. The property, access to all things outdoors, fantastic fresh meals and the education we received regarding Costa Rican history, geography, ecosystems and current affairs were also priceless. We stayed in the Tree House with its physically demanding "88 steps" and were rewarded in 5 minutes with a parade of White-faced Capuchins in the fronting treetops. Perfect! We stayed 8 days and are sorry we ever left.

Room Tip: Be prepared to live without a lot of electricity. It is actually life-changing, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Saladero Lodge is a place that you will not be wakened by the noise of motorcycles, cars and trucks because there are no roads. This was our 6th trip to the Saladero Lodge because it has everything that we could want in a vacation. Harvey and Susan will pick you up by boat and take you on an amazing coastal ride to their remote lodge where you can truly experience Costa Rica’s unspoiled wild jungle and ocean. The unlimited use of the many available kayaks gives you the opportunity to experience the sights and sounds of Costa Rica on the usually very peaceful bay. If you are coming to Costa Rica for the monkeys, birds, butterflies and dolphins, Saladero Lodge is the place! The accommodations are superb and the abundant food is fabulous. No need for luggage full of snacks – Harvey and Susan keep you well fed and hydrated with many delicious local juices. A spectacular location and lodge with all that is Costa Rica. We already are planning our seventh trip for next year!

There is a rhythm to life at Saladero, you become in sync with the jungle and water. Harvey and Susan have done so much to maximize the utilization of the property from the fruit and vegetable gardens, new jungle trails and allowing a natural environment that welcomes the macaws, toucans and other colorful birds.

We thought MaxVerde truly captured Saladero and graciousness of Susan and Harvey. Ditto with exclamation points! (Another plus of Saladero is getting to know the other guests during meal times!)

The kayak fishing was tremendous. Golfo Dulce and the two dedicated fishermen in our party kept us well supplied with red snapper, tiger trevally and sierra mackerel.

One surprise was snorkeling in front of Saladero looking for a lost item near the drop off at low tide. The number and variety of fish were delightful.

Tips: if you kayak parallel to and slowly by the dolphins, not into them, they will let you go along side them; sunscreen and hats are a must, not many mosquitoes, but it had not rained in a while; all meals are great, you will find the fish soup and fish in coconut and ginger sauce unequaled in Costa Rica or elsewhere. For those fishermen who want to do a little more serious rooster fishing, Harvey hooked us up with Tracey, who works out of Puerto Jimenez, he has his own boats and gear to use, his email is JunglesEdgeKayakFishing@gmail.com.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As a 29 year old guy, I never thought I would enjoy being disconnected from laptops, phones, and TV's. Well, after staying 4 days and 3 nights at Saladero I found out how great it was especially with such gracious hosts as Harvey and Susan. We stayed in the treehouse, which was fantastic, as long as you can handle 80+ stairs of varying heights. Rechargable lanterns were provided by Harvey, but I would still recommend bringing a couple headlamps. No lights, no electrical outlets, no problem. After a day of kayaking and fishing, I was fast asleep by 7-8pm and up at 5am with the monkeys and birds as alarm clocks. We caught fish every day including Barracuda, Bonita (what a fighter), snapper, trigger fish, snook, pompano. Every day we brought back one fish to have our hosts cook as an extra bonus for dinner. The food was one of the best parts of the stay here. Authentic Costa Rican meals, fresh fruit juices and homemade desserts...You can explore the 3 shorts trails on the property and see a wide variety of birds, Jesus-Christ lizards, and monkeys (white-faced and howler).
A fantastic experience that I highly recommend. You won't find a place to stay in Costa Rica with better, more knowledgeable hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frugalphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Soladero is a truly remarkable experience. To simply call Harvey and Susan "hosts" would be a disservice, after our four nights with them we felt like we were leaving old friends. The meals were all wonderful, filling, and exciting affairs featuring many ingredients that were plucked directly from the grounds or the water (kudos to the Morrisons for the endless supply of fresh fish!). The property is open and fun to explore, supplying plenty of opportunities for wildlife viewings, especially birds. The main room/dining area is spacious and offers expansive views of the gulf and grounds - be sure to be back to the lodge for happy hour snacks and grand sunsets! We spent the majority of our time in the kayaks or in the water - after coming from 5 days in the jungles of Corcovado we were excited to explore the warm waters Golfo Dulce (not to overlook the fact that Saladero offers three, soon to be four, great trails into the wilds of Piedras Blancas National Park). The kayaks are there for the taking, as is the snorkel equipment, which we used everyday, taking advantage of some great spots just 15-20mins south of the lodge. We saw dolphins, numerous sea turtles, sting rays, a leering moray eel, and lots of colorful fish - be sure to go at low tide, otherwise a lot of the coral mounds can be hard to find (not that the beautiful, secluded cove is a bad place to spend a few hours). We also had a blast on the mangrove kayak tour with Harvey, as we drifted through shallow fingers of the towering groves before riding the tide back into the main river and treated to a full chorus of countless birds. The trip wouldn't have been complete without the companionship of the two very friendly dogs Maya and Lulu, one energetic jungle kitten, and one enigmatic red-lored parrot, of which we spent as much time enjoying its colorful gestures and personality as we did shuffling our bare feet and fingers out of the reach of its curious beak. We hope to return to Saladero, if not for the beauty and solace of the Gulfo Dulce, then for the camaraderie and character of the people who maintain this hidden gem.
Thank you Harvey and Susan!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalow, which is just removed from the main lodge. Small, clean, and quaint, it e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we had a great stay at Saladero Lodge. Our entire experience was great but the kayak tour with Susan was especially memorable. After just a few minutes of kayaking we spotted a 3 toed sloth, neotropical otter, and squirrel monkeys. I highly recommend this tour! this place offers a truly unique experience that a hotel cannot. Staying with Harvey and Susan was like staying with family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
24.5 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
19.6 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing