We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Fantastic place with lovable hosts. The lodge is enbeded in a beautiful landscape at the Golfo Dulce. The free use of kayaks and snorkeling gear is a big plus. Also the well maintained jungle trails on the grounds of the lodge. There are several tours available, the tours we joined are highly recommended. The delicious food consists of many own grown fruits and vegetables as well of meat of own chicken and freshly caught fish. There is a choice of delicious fruit drinks from own production served. We spent 5 days at Saladero Lodge as a family and felt quite sad to leave this really recommendable place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
130
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st. paul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Saladero, in the wonderful Tree House. We were so impressed with the beauty of this resort, the attentiveness and friendliness of Susan and Harvey, our hosts. Every morning we had fresh pineapple and bananas from Susan's gardens included in our wonderful breakfasts. Lunch and dinner were also delicious. The grounds are beautiful and include lovely trails into the rainforest. The location is so quiet and peaceful. The sunsets at night were awesome. One of the highlights was the kayak trip down the river and through the mangrove channels where we saw flocks of parrots, egrets and herons. Saladero is truly is a magical place and we hope to return some day!

Room Tip: The tree house was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellystpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I (seniors) had a perfect 4 days with Harvey and Susan at Saladero. We felt like house guests enjoying their wonderful paradise with them. The beauty, remoteness and tranquility of Saladero, combined with the warmth and interest in the environment of our hosts, made it a relaxing and fun visit. The only downside was that it was too short. We are already planning another longer visit next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bstephens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattersburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It is a present and it was definitly my highlight on my 7 week-trip through Costa Rica, when I got to Saladero Lodge. Enjoying an nature reserve and being introduced to plants by wonderful people who took care of me in a very special way is something I didn´t experience so far. Susan and Harvey shared not only their home but also their knowledge with me. Also I got very tasty freshly made food every day and had some wonderful little adventures by paddeling along the golfo dulce in their kajacs together with seaturtles and dolphins.
If you want to experience the nature of Costa Rica in a silent, magic way, Saladero Eco Lodge is you place to go and stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uschi_serafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a wonderful camping experience at Saladero last week! We live in very southern Costa Rica, so we boated (with a motor on our ocean kayak) up Golfo Dulce four hours to Saladero Eco Lodge. We didn't stay in the cabinas but I have heard they're very nice, including the tree house. We didn't bring a tent as we knew that Saladero had one available. The campsites are right by the shore, though there is a beach wall protecting the camping area. Also provided is a picnic table and a covered food preparation area which includes a sink/running water. There is also a (cold water, but it's the tropics, so it's not really cold) shower nearby, discreetly shielded by some bushes and rocks. There is also a toilet and showers on the other side of the lodge/restaurant building, just a minute or two from the campsite. Those showers are so great (even hot water!), set in stones, quite unique. The restaurant/bar is open-air, and the food is great. We prepared most of our own meals, but did have a delicious dinner our last night there. There was plenty of food and home-made bread. And try the desserts! The coconut cookies are heavenly! Harv and Susan are perfect hosts, and their cook, Paulina, obviously is a good cook...she and Susan actually work together preparing the meals. But apparently Paulina is the master dessert maker there. Oh...we had engine problems with the boat's motor, so Harv towed us to Golfito, about an hour or 90 minutes away, and then would not accept payment for his trouble. So, would we recommend Saladero? Of course. Just keep in mind that it's rustic...it's not a five star luxury hotel...it's for those who want to be out of the way, and not see a lot of people. There's plenty of wildlife around the area, and the water is perfect for a swim (and perhaps plan a kayak trip with Harv up the mangroves nearby), and often you'll see pods of dolphin swimming offshore. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NamasteJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thanks to TripAdvisor recommendations and Harvey and Susan's email communications we chose Saladero Lodge as one of two properties we visited on our 3 week first trip to Costa Rica. Immediately we felt like family without responsibility. Our hosts were enough reason, alone, to return. The property, access to all things outdoors, fantastic fresh meals and the education we received regarding Costa Rican history, geography, ecosystems and current affairs were also priceless. We stayed in the Tree House with its physically demanding "88 steps" and were rewarded in 5 minutes with a parade of White-faced Capuchins in the fronting treetops. Perfect! We stayed 8 days and are sorry we ever left.

Room Tip: Be prepared to live without a lot of electricity. It is actually life-changing, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Saladero Lodge is a place that you will not be wakened by the noise of motorcycles, cars and trucks because there are no roads. This was our 6th trip to the Saladero Lodge because it has everything that we could want in a vacation. Harvey and Susan will pick you up by boat and take you on an amazing coastal ride to their remote lodge where you can truly experience Costa Rica’s unspoiled wild jungle and ocean. The unlimited use of the many available kayaks gives you the opportunity to experience the sights and sounds of Costa Rica on the usually very peaceful bay. If you are coming to Costa Rica for the monkeys, birds, butterflies and dolphins, Saladero Lodge is the place! The accommodations are superb and the abundant food is fabulous. No need for luggage full of snacks – Harvey and Susan keep you well fed and hydrated with many delicious local juices. A spectacular location and lodge with all that is Costa Rica. We already are planning our seventh trip for next year!

There is a rhythm to life at Saladero, you become in sync with the jungle and water. Harvey and Susan have done so much to maximize the utilization of the property from the fruit and vegetable gardens, new jungle trails and allowing a natural environment that welcomes the macaws, toucans and other colorful birds.

We thought MaxVerde truly captured Saladero and graciousness of Susan and Harvey. Ditto with exclamation points! (Another plus of Saladero is getting to know the other guests during meal times!)

The kayak fishing was tremendous. Golfo Dulce and the two dedicated fishermen in our party kept us well supplied with red snapper, tiger trevally and sierra mackerel.

One surprise was snorkeling in front of Saladero looking for a lost item near the drop off at low tide. The number and variety of fish were delightful.

Tips: if you kayak parallel to and slowly by the dolphins, not into them, they will let you go along side them; sunscreen and hats are a must, not many mosquitoes, but it had not rained in a while; all meals are great, you will find the fish soup and fish in coconut and ginger sauce unequaled in Costa Rica or elsewhere. For those fishermen who want to do a little more serious rooster fishing, Harvey hooked us up with Tracey, who works out of Puerto Jimenez, he has his own boats and gear to use, his email is JunglesEdgeKayakFishing@gmail.com.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
2.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
19.7 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing