We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with kind and generous owners”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Paxton, MA
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful place with kind and generous owners”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family of three stayed here in mid-July 2014. We stayed in the Tree House which was nestled in the trees about 90 stairs up from the main lodge. The hosts are a very kind, generous couple who worked hard to make sure we were comfortable and happy. The jungle trails on the property are through primary rain forest and are very well maintained. We took an excursion into the mangrove swamp, which was beautiful and peaceful. During our stay we saw spider monkeys, howler monkeys, scarlet macaws, parakeets, osprey, herons, pelicans, dolphins, cherry tanagers and beautiful flowers and butterflies. We took a horseback riding excursion through a property owned by a nice man who moved from the US to Costa Rica many years ago. It was a beautiful, peaceful ride through jungle trails on his property and is highly recommended. We also went kayaking and snorkeling, which you can do for free using their equipment to your heart's content. While snorkeling we saw several colorful fish and skates. The water is warm and inviting in the Golfo Dulce. The food at the lodge was superb. There were fresh juices made with fruits grown on the property that I have never seen or tasted before in my life. We awoke one morning to hear a howler monkey howling in a tree about 20 feet from our window. It is very nice to know that places like this still exist and Harvey and Susan are obviously very conscientious stewards of the natural treasure surrounding them. Our family highly recommends Saladero Eco Lodge.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Tree House be prepared for a hike up with no electricity for fans to cool you dow...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
132
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hailey, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Saladero Lodge is the perfect combination of an idyllic, remote setting and a lodge that provides high quality, personalized service. Susan and Harvey and their staff are professional and attentive. Their property is beautifully maintained with tropical plants, many of which provide delicious food and drink for the guests. Primary forest surrounds the lodge grounds, and we spent much of our time hiking the three trails within the forest . Some of the many birds we encountered were Chestnut-backed Antbird, Black-hooded Antshrike, Scarlet Macaw, Eye-ringed Flatbill, Slaty-tailed Trogon, and Orange-chinned Parakeet . Chestnut-mandibled Toucans peeked in our Tree House windows in the morning, and nesting Boat-billed Herons called to us on our kayak trip. All in all we loved our stay at Saladero Lodge, and we plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wow! We stayed 3 nights at Saladero, and if you’re looking for a getaway from the noise and bustle of civilization, this is the place! Accessible only by boat, you are well taken care of, and you can choose your activities depending on your energy level—there are tours available if you want them, kayaks to use for exploration, and hammocks to lie in while you simply enjoy the sounds of the birds and watch the clouds move over the Gulf. The food is prepared thoughtfully and the hosts (who clearly love what they do) dine along with you, so meals are spent swapping stories and it really is enjoyable. We also appreciated how knowledgeable and curious Susan and Harvey were, and their genuine passion for the land and its conservation. We didn’t have issues with heat at night, probably because it was the start of the green season and it was stormy in the evenings, which cooled us down. Take the mangrove tour, and definitely look up in the trees during your stay because the howlers sometimes eat and nap above the beach house (they will also be your alarm clock every morning!). Overall, we were in Costa Rica for 10 days and our 3 nights at Saladero was our favorite part of the trip-- private, peaceful, and relaxing, in a beautiful setting. Highly recommended, if you’re looking to truly get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah_and_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

For three nights this past week, four of us (two couples) stayed at the very remote Saladero Ecolodge. My partner and I had stayed there in February, but we had camped (see my review from February 9th), and this time we stayed in the little bungalow close to the main building, and our friends stayed in the tree-house (those 81 steps were not very difficult to climb....). What can I say? It was all great! We noticed, too, that there are four new tent platforms (wooden platforms with tents set up on them, and huge rainflys completely covering the tents) set back from the shore.

First of all, if swimming is what you're looking for, it's perfect right in front of the property. We live a few hours south of Saladero where there is surf so swimming where there are no waves was quite nice. And, of course, the temperature of the water can't be beat (has to be in the high 80s F).

Harvey took us into the mangroves (via motorboat with the kayaks tied behind) and then we kayaked up the channels. This is truly a very special place, almost mystical in what feels like a world of its own. I recommend this trip if you've never been in a mangrove forest--it's worth the cost.

There are a few trails to follow through primary forest and we hiked the newest trail (#3), which was well-maintained like the others.

The food was delicious of course, with almost everything freshly prepared; everything was prepared right there in their own kitchen with many of the ingredients organically grown on their property. Friday night we had fresh pizza, choosing our own (fresh) ingredients on the just-rolled out dough that Paulina had prepared right then. Harvey slid each of our pizzas in the brick and concrete outdoor oven and baked them over the fire. It was delicious! Breakfasts were a great way to start the day as well. In fact, each meal was more than satisfying in quantity and quality. It's hard to return home to have to cook for ourselves and not as creatively either.

We stayed in the little bungalow just a short way from the restaurant/lodge. It is perfect for one person or two. It's not big at all, and it does have a toilet and sink. The shower is outside but right next to it. The thing to keep in mind is that in this area, in this part of the gulf and right on the shore, it is hot and while there are breezes, it can feel stuffy at night. Saladero is 'off grid' and though there is solar-powered electricity, it's not as if you will have the convenience of home with a flip of the switch all the time. Yet all runs exceedingly well and it's very comfortable.

Hosts Susan and Harvey are very kind and thoughtful and we really enjoyed our conversations. With pleasure we recommend others to stay at Saladero and experience the peacefulness and solitude that this lodge offers.

Room Tip: Seems that everyone (including our friends) likes the tree house==but you have to be able to climb a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NamasteJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I found the Saladero Eco Lodge through an Internet search. Of course, making a booking based on a Website I haven't seen before in a country I haven't been to can be a bit risky but it seemed to fit exactly what I was looking for, this being my first trip to Costa Rica, a long held dream. As it turned out Saladero was great. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and meeting our hosts Susan and Harvey who added to our enjoyment with their own unique brand of hospitality. As a nature photographer I appreciate businesses that make an effort to support the environment through sustainable practices - even better when they work with biologists and park officials to help support research and practices that protect and nurture the natural eco-system.

During our boat trip to the lodge Harvey spotted a whale shark which we carefully followed to try and get a better view without disturbing it. On arrival we were treated to lunch and much of the food we were served during our stay was organically grown at the lodge - that was definitely a bonus and a taste treat, especially the international cuisine and Susan's teas and juices. There is nothing better then a coconut freezie on a hot afternoon. Our room (we were in the beach house) had the added benefit of being above the dining area which meant that, during the evening rains, we didn't even need to put on a rain coat. We chose the beach house for the view - what can be better than looking out over the beautiful Golfo Dulce, watching the dolphins race by, spotting a disturbance in the water that marks a feeding frenzy, seeing a Little Blue Heron feeding on the edge of the shore or waking up to the call of Howler Monkeys.

On our second day Susan took us on a tour of the plantation and introduced us to the many plants, flowers and fruits that grow there. This was a great way for us to start learning about the Costa Rica plants and wildlife. Just behind the Lodge is the spectacular rain forest of Piedras Blancas National Park. Harvey and Susan recently had three trails cleared behind their Lodge and I spent a great deal of time investigating and photographing the incredible diversity of this beautiful forest. I was absolutely thrilled when I came upon a Three-toed Sloth, on a tree, about 2 feet from me. Getting that close to a sloth doesn't happen very often as they only come down to the ground for a short period once a week. On other occasions walking through the trails I was able to take a number of photographs of Howler Monkeys above me in the forest canopy. Even after walking there twice a day, I left feeling like I hadn't even got started seeing all that there was to see. This was brought home to me when Harvey showed me the night photos from his critter-cam that he had set up on the trail a couple days earlier. At night the trail is a virtual highway to a number of different cat species, raccoons and other animals.

We had kayaks and snorkels to use whenever we wanted and part of our daily routine was a swim in the bathtub-warm water at the beach on the property (checking out the activity at the scarlet macaw nest in a tree on the shore at the same time), and a paddle along the shore to see fish, sea turtles, and a different perspective on the rainforest.

If you take a moment to look at the Saladero Eco Lodge's Website you will see a number of day trips offered by the Lodge. We took most of them and I highly recommend you do as well. The trip up the Esquinas River through the Mangrove Forest was magical as we kayaked through the channels completely closed in by the trees and watched the numerous species of birds flying up the river and nesting in the trees along the river bank. You also don't want to miss the botanical garden tour, an absolute must see if you are to visit the Golfo Dulce. I took an incredible number of photographs while I was there and have created a “Costa Rica Travel Log” on my Website (www.gconwayphoto.com).

Garry & Pam (Canada)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you ever have the pleasure of kayaking the shores of the Golfo Dulce in Costa Rica, (with Adventures Under the Sun www.adventuresunderthesun.com )in addition to the calm waters, migrating whales, and dolphins, you'll notice virtually NO development. Pure jungle coastline. And that is great! But at the end of the day the outline of the Saladero Lodge nestled in the jungle is a welcome site! Harvey and Susan have done a lovely job of providing comfort with minimal impact on their natural environment. Utilizing solar energy as much as possible and conserving water, using food grown on their own property, local fish, etc, you can enjoy a guilt free moment of relaxation. Their kitchen and food is wonderful, from fresh snapper done in a subtle curry, to the banana walnut pancakes. Oh, and their unending supply of ginger lemongrass tea, is a delight. You'll be up early thanks to the family of Howler Monkeys that shares the Saladero forest. I can't wait to come back, via kayak, and see them again.

Room Tip: There seems to be only one real Double Room, so if that is important request "the Bungalow"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyC282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Beautiful location and property. Very peaceful and relaxing. Food was gourmet and they offered lots of variety. All meals were made from scratch often using food grown on the property. The beach house was spacious, well ventilated, comfortable, and had a great view. It was great to have full access to the kayaks and fishing equipment. The property is surrounded by a national park and they have three short trails that are nice to walk. There are a few small snorkeling spots nearby, but Golfo Dulce is not a snorkeling destination. We saw lots of wildlife during our stay including howler monkeys, spider monkeys, dolphins, sea turtles, and lots of birds. Susan and Harvey were fabulous hosts. We really enjoyed our stay!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank little_bee_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
11.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing