We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All my expectations were realised - Finca Saladero is Paradise”
Review of Saladero Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saladero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All my expectations were realised - Finca Saladero is Paradise”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

After a very long trip from Europe I finally arrived at Finca Saldero. I was met at the airport by Harvey, my host for the two week stay and from that moment I began to relax. Harvey is charming, kind and informative about his adopted home in this pristine paradise. The moment I arrived by boat at Saladero I felt all stress begin to melt away - it takes very little time for the rythm of the place to embrace and calm a soul.
I was settled in the Beach House, a large comfortable place with amazing views in all directions.The Beach House is open to the breezes but screened in to protect from insects in the evenings. Its beautifully constructed with native woods and rattan furniture - I was very comfortable there and would highly recommend it.
My day usually started quite early - the birds and the Howlers are natures introduction to the new morning. The sea is usually very calm early in the morning and was the best time to view wildlife breaking the surface of the water. This is certainly not the place for sleeping in late - there is so much to experience. I saw some amazing sights just a short distance from the beach - two large turtles playing, dolphins swimming and a very large rooster fish breaking the surface at incredible speeds while chasing smaller fish.
I chose the full meal plan and was not disappointed, Paulina and Harvey made sure the meals were delicious and varied. I loved that we ate fish caught in front of the property, juices made from fruits trees on the property, eggs from the pampered chickens and healthy meals prepared with herbs out of the garden. Coconuts are everywhere and you havn't lived until eating one of Paulina's coconut heladeras.
The tours are well worth taking and I would recommend taking the River Tour and the Botanical Gardens. Both are close by and give one a much richer experience of the region.

Harvey has done a beautiful job establishing Saladero as a sustainable lodge sensitive to the environment and providing much needed work for the local people. There is a lot to learn here about living a simpler life.

This was the very best vacation I have ever taken and I would recommend it highly.
Well done Harvey !!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyanneSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
132
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2009

In traveling you want to get a feel of the land, it's people, the culture. We got just that. From foods prepared by Paulina and our host Harvey- picked fresh from the amazing property which borders a park on one side and Golfo Dulce on the other. To waters clear enough to see 150 feet down-and gardens to take your breath away. It is almost sensory overload. We would recommend this lodge not only for the obvious but for all the surprises we found on our own. We stayed in the treehouse, although there is a full two bedroom beach house available. Our host is kind gentle and respectful. He treds softly on the land and has an appreciation of Costa Rica which is contagious.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed at Saladero for 6 nights at the end of December 2008 and had a lovely time. As have been said by others, the owner Harvey is friendly and speaks both English and Spanish. The staff are helpful and we enjoyed getting to know them (especially Paulina the cook and all around go-to-person). We stayed in the Beach House and didn't take any of the tours that Harvey offered. Instead we used their Kayaks, ran and hiked through his property and lounged around with their two dogs and pet pava (costa rican turkey) named Chippy (who we fell in love with). The property is focused on rustic and sustainable tourism - this is not a place to go if you are high maintenance and want everything done for you. Some +/-s...

+ upsides
-We saw dolphins right out front and my fiance took out the kayak and was able to chill with them as they played around him in a circle.
-we loved the wildlife and the pets...
-the place was very remote - often times we only saw the other two couples who were staying at the property. You can kayak for hours and see no tourists.
-the staff were terrific
-the view from the lawn and the beach house is amazing - quite untouched by man.
-great kayaking
-we were able to cook for ourselves (we are vegan) by bringing in food from Jimenez.
-Harvey was willing to switch us to the meal plan when we ran out of food.
-cold drinks available for a charge.

- downsides
-the beach house is directly above the open air kitchen/dining area and in the mornings it was really loud. We could hear everything that was being said down below. We would have liked to sleep in a bit longer on our vacation but that is difficult to do.
-it is buggy. On our 3 week vacation I was bitten more here than anywhere else. I brought a mossie net for over the bed which helped but I think its just part of being down in the Gulfo Dulce...you will get bitten. There was a bat in our room one night which kind of freaked me out but it didnt bother us- you need to be ready to deal with big bugs and flying things :-)
-This lodge is solar powered, be prepared with head lamps and don't leave lights on when you are not using them (good practice anyway - not really a downside just something to be aware of).
-Once you arrive here there is nowhere to go by foot. There are some trails but after a day we had explored them all. Kayaking is the best way to get around and look at other parts of the gulf.
-when we arrived Harvey was away and so we didnt get the grand tour of the place.

Overall, our time a Saladero was worth it and I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — buggy
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usgringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The owner of this lodge, Harvey, was very helpful from the start. I had complete confidence in our vacation before it even began. The property is gorgeous and well-maintained. Harvey speaks english, and the staff only speak spanish. Communication was not difficult though, and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were on the meal plan during our stay, and the food was always fresh and tasty. We got to try some yummy Costa Rican dishes, and they are very flexible with meal preferences. We stayed in the tree house. It is a quaint little cabin that is luxoriously rustic. There isn't any electricity in the cabin, but it wasn't necassary with flashlights, candle light, and the jungle breeze. The cabin was well-built, clean, and had comfortable beds. We enjoyed many exciting activities like snorkeling, kayaking, horseback-riding, and hiking. There are also great hammocks for naps! We loved our honeymoon at Finca Saladero, and we hope to go back someday!

  • Liked — the natural elements
  • Disliked — the bug bites
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PACIFIC PALISADES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This was our fifth trip to CR and we wanted to visit the Golfito area so we looked for a remote lodge and ended up at Saladero.
We knew in advance that the Golfito area is very tropical with lots of rain forest. What made the experience fun was the attitude of the owner and his staff. The owner Harvey, was very knowledgeable about the area and was a great host offering just the right amount of advice and encouagement. The screened in beachouse was roomy, well built with utilities ,and a perfect location. The staff were very friendly and the food was authentic home cooked Costa Rican cuisine. Paulina the cook was a gem and actually made deserts for us at her home after work. The kayaks enabled us to visit the mangroves and coastline and we did some kayak fishing and were not disappointed. With hiking trails on the property in primary rainforests and a great horseback riding trip nearby to a waterfall we found all the adventure we sought without ever feeling like a tourist. If you've
ever dreamed of having your own lodge in a tropical area then you owe it to yourself to visit Saladero for the experience as it might open your eyes as to what it takes. I highly recommend
Saladero for couples and adventurers who want a taste of the tropical side of CR. The animals,birds,and butterflies are truly amazing. Be sure and opt for the meal plan as the fresh fruit with every meal, the banana and walnut pancakes for breakfast, and the pinto gallo with each meal was fabulous. Don't forget to ask for Paulina's fish stew made with home grown yucca,beets, and fish.

  • Liked — Roomy
  • Disliked — Outdoor Shower
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRUBROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft lauderdale fl
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

july 2 2008 i had stayed the last 3 years at a tent camp next to the corcovado park. the costa rican south pacific is the best place in costa rica because of its remotness. i was searching the golfo dulce and piedras blancas area on google earth. google earth has enhanced software that lets you go down to 300ft. around the rio esquinas i saw a google panoramio blue bulb and i clicked on it. a photo of the saladero lodge came up. it was very close to the rio esquinas. i checked it out on google and tripadvisor and i said why not. i contacted the owners and booked for a week in may. it turned out to be the best place i have stayed at in costa rica. harvey woodard and his wife barbara have a very well maintained property (400 plus acrea nestled right up to primary rainforest) it is very remote. the only way in is by boat. the food was great and they have 2 kayaks for guest use. they also have snorkle and fishing gear. i spent most of my time on the golfo dulce and rio esquinas. something i could not do over on the osa pacific side as the ocean was too rough for non surfing activities. i will definitlely be back next may

  • Liked — the remotness and location in jungle and water access
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Staying at Saladero Lodge gave us a rare experience to live in a thriving rainforest on an uninhabited beach while staying in a beautifully spacious, clean and comfortable home.

On our first day at Saladero, we were greeted by a baby whale swimming with dolphins in the Golfo Dulce in our front yard and scarlett macaws choosing to nest in a tree in the jungle in the back yard. Though we never saw the whale calf again during our week long stay, the sightings of the dolphins, monkeys, toucans and scarlett macaws right on the property became a daily attraction.

Kayaks and snorkels provided by the owners, Harvey and Barb, gave us the opportunity to enjoy other private and secluded beaches along the coastline. The Golfo Dulce is so tranquil and clear in the morning, that you can hop on the air mattress and view fish......no equipment needed. Hiking on the jungle rainforest trail gave us a different view of the contrasting environment surrounding us in this special place.

Harvey and Barb were very hospitable hosts and quickly became good friends. They shared their organic lemons, limes, grapefruits, bananas, oranges with us........basically anything that was ripe at the moment. The local Ticos provided us with fresh fish. Barb's pet chickens provided us with fresh eggs for our breakfast each day. We miss our happy hour get togethers with them (Harvey and Barb....not the chickens!) while watching the beautiful sunsets over the Oso Pennisula.

If you love the great outdoors, this place is for you. One of the most beautiful places in Costa Rica. We'll definately be back next year!

  • Liked — The location and cleanliness and spaciouness of the home
  • Disliked — For us, absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naturebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfito
4.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
11.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
18.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
11.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladero Eco Lodge

Property: Saladero Eco Lodge
Address: Rio Esquinas | Golfito, Costa Rica, Golfito 60701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Golfito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Golfito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive beachfront eco lodge with 450 acres of primary rainforest. Three tropical screened cabins. The second floor of the Beach house sleeps 6, the Tree cabin sleeps 4, the new bungalow sleeps 2 and the Mariposa sleeps 4. The room prices Include boat pickup and return to Golfito or Pto Jimenez, 3 meals a day (much of our food is grown here organically), afternoon snack, natural juices, unlimited use of nature trails, snorkel equipment, fishing equipment and kayaks. Two coral reefs and the Rio Esquinas mangrove estuary close by. 1/2 Mile of beach front, 30 acres of tropical gardens, 450 acres of primary rain forest. Birding is outstanding and fish right in front of the property. Many optional tours available including the river mangroves by kayak, river mangroves by boat, canopy tour, snorkeling coral reefs, horseback riding, botanical gardens and chocolate farm tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saladero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladero Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Golfito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing