We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Inexpensive Surf Lodging, Location and Food with Amazing Staff”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Olas
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Inexpensive Surf Lodging, Location and Food with Amazing Staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cost is very low, and expect to stay in a more "surf Hostel" environment with open air rooms, basic bath/showeer and overall very utilitatrian. However for the price you should not exepct much more. The location is fantastic, right on the beach at one of the best surf breaks in Costa Rica. Jason, Cameron and the rest of the staff are amazing, really laid back and very conscientious of their guests. If you want one of the best surfing experiences of your life, meet some fantastic people and you are on a budget Las Olas is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    3
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

This place is in a prime location - its cheap and given that food is expensive (Aug 2012) it's a nice place to save money BUT when the rains come it quickly becomes a sink hole with a swamp in the bathroom, and a leaky roof that dripped all over my bed. Yea if ur a surfer traveling with dudes you can put up with it - but even we were ready to GTFU after 2 nights

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanpaulbonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A surfers destination, waves for all abilities are at your fingertips! Cristian, Tex, and Nelson, will provide whatever experience you desire! The post surf food is fabulous...more ahi tuna then you can imagine! The hotel has a laid back vibe..the owners Cameron and Jason see to that. Will return this year for a 7th trip and can say every year has provided an amazing, different, wonderful trip! Don't expect turn down service, but what surfer does, be ready for a true, incredible costa rican experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for the best of everything Costa Rica has to offer, Las Olas is the perfect place to stay or to start your journey! if i had to backpack through C.R again, which i will..i will definitely return to Las Olas for another unforgettable experience!
From the best waves, most amazing black sand beaches, gorgeous sunsets to which you practice the best yoga i have yet to practice in the last 5 years! Spiritual, challenging and at the same time nurturing practices done by the wonderful Alejandra are better than any massage you can get after your surf! (which is also available) The energetic days surfing with really awesome surf instructor Nelson. Balanced by relaxing and invigorating yoga practice.
The food at the beach front restaurant is the best in all of Costa Rica! I've traveled all over C.R and i love good food, but never tasted breakfast, lunch, dinner, smoothies...you name it! Las Olas has the best food hands down! ((they are also famous for their beach restaurant, as many locals come there to dine, which is also a good way to meet new friends))
The staff at Las Olas are PURA VIDA!! ;-)) So chill & friendly. They go the extra mile just to make your experience the best! in my 8 day stay there they went the extra mile at least 4 times for me!!! Thank you so much Nelson for driving me when you were actually off work!!
Thank you Jason & Cameron for making sure i get to EVERY Yoga class in the special remote locations offered as a courtesy by the wonderful Alejandra!
Dear Tex, i can't thank you enough for saving me from being late to the airport and missing my flight (even 3 weeks after i left Las Olas) YOU GUYS ROCK!

When you have natural beauty & down to earth atmosphere with the most wonderful people i have yet to find in my 30 day journey in Costa Rica, having the best food EVER, and being given the chance to do my thing, make friends with the amazing local people from all over the world, or have a planned day, or have it all! This Experience out rules any luxury hotel out there! having a travel agent mother, i have been to many luxury, all inclusive, prestigious resorts & hotels. But NOTHING, and i mean Nothing compares to the LIFE you get to experience @ LAS OLAS.

Gracias por todo!
Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed at Las Olas for a few days in May 2011. Had the best time. Love the beach front restaurant. Views ;-) and food was great. Cristian, Tex, Jason and Mike really made my vacation fun! Accomodations are "rustic", but for the price, views and atmosphere...totally worth it! Will be back again! Maybe 2012...before the world ends? Ha ha...private joke btw Tex and I!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2011

THis was an awesome hotel. they provide you with the basics of essentials. its on the beach in what can feel like the middle of no where. Jaco is a short drive near by however. the staff is real chill and will help you with anything providing you need it. I was locked out of my room a few times. that was my fault but they were very friendly and helpful. THey pretty much let you do your own thing for the most part. the beach is an amazing blakc sand beach and the waves are prime. just enjoy the water the sun and the delicious food they make there at the restaurant.
I have to say thanks to Cameron for the baord rental. also have to say sorry I forgot to tell you that the leash broke from very powerfull wave. sorry man.
There was the first night when we stayed there that we had no running water but that was from the strom that occured earlier that day. every hotel in the area had no water so that wasnt a single problem with that hotel. our Key didnt work the first night we got there but cameron the owner climbed through some windows and stuff and got us set up. it was pretty cool. he pulled off some secret agent spider man moves.
All in all a really good stay and a nice time.
if I was going to mention a real issues it would probably just be the fact that the hotel is right off the highway so we can here all the cars driving by at night. not that big a deal in my opinion though.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterofdesgize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2009

What i loved most about this place was the location. Don't get me wrong, the place itself and the people that work there are awesome too, but the location was my fave.
It's far enough from Jaco to be quiet and peaceful but close enough that you can hop in a cap and be there in 5 minutes. It's also about 10 minutes from Los Suenos and Herradura Bay if you want to go fishing. The hotel is right on the beach so you go to sleep and wake up to the sound of waves crashing. You really cant ask for anything better.
About the place. If you want to be able to pick up the phone and ring down to the lobby because you need more towels or another sample size of shampoo, this is not your place. If you want room service at 3 a.m., this is not you place.
If you want to surf all day and just have a cool chill place and a comfy bed to come home to, definately your place.
It doesn't have air conditioning but you don't need it. The rooms are clean. I think a maid comes every day. I think all of the rooms have a mini fridge in them. ya know, to put that bottle of rum in that you got a the duty free store when u landed.
The people that work there are totally awesome and helpful. Just let them know what you need and they will get it.....it might take them a little longer *wink wink* but they will get it.
The restaurant there is awesome! Everything i had tasted great and one particular breakfast really saved my a$$ after a rough night the night before.
And you really can't go wrong with the price. I think i spent more on dinner the other night then i did for my entire stay there. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylahnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#19 of 41 in Jaco
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sports Bar and Hotel Oz
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#11 of 41 in Jaco
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: Playa Hermosa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing