We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but super friendly!”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Olas
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very basic but super friendly!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here in March/ April for 5 days and had a blast. The hotel itself is rudimentary, but the staff totally make up for the lack of amenities! Jason and Cameron (the owners/ managers) were super friendly and very accommodating. I broke my surf board the second day down there and they loaned me a board to use for the rest of my trip. The rooms are very basic with ceiling fans but no A/C. Be prepared for that. The weather is constantly around mid to upper 80's during the day so acclimating to the climate didn't take long. The rooms have safes in them and a small fridge and the bathrooms are useable, but not great.
The restaurant is great! Incredible views, especially at sunset, and the food is fresh, very reasonably priced and tastes great! The hotel is located on a great stretch of beach in the middle of all the action at Playa de Hermosa. The surf right behind the hotel is incredible and there is a surf contest every Saturday just 50 yards south of the hotel. The locals are all very helpful will translate (and teach!) Spanish at any time. I would highly recommend this hotel. The location and staff definitely made my vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms above the office. The rooms have a great view with a terrace that overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cltadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    3
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We came to Las Olas without a booking after a minor stuff up with respect to which Playa Hermosa we were supposed to be going to. Costa Rica is full of Playa Hermosas - Trip Advisor often lumps them together so make sure you know what the Province is!

Had I read the other reviews of this place from non surfers, I would have left it alone as a ‘non-surfing, party late into the evening family’ this really isn't that suitable. The day manager Kenneth (I think his name was) was fantastic - very friendly and helpful (we didn't meet Jason or Cameron). The food in the open restaurant was good but expensive compared to what we have seen of Costa Rica so far - think in the 5-7000+ Colones bracket.

Whilst we (4 of us) did get the Skybox mentioned in the Lonely Planet for $60 a night instead of $100 - it wasn't at all clean (we found shards of broken glass on the floor) and due to the open nature of the place, the pillows and mattresses are somewhat mouldy. I don't know how they can justify $100 a night. It's hot too - the breeze off the beach drops off overnight so make sure you have a working fan - we had to ask.

The shower is very reminiscent of the showers I have seen in Bolivia - the water is heated through electrical wires at the head of the shower. It makes for a prickly experience.

This place (particularly the Skybox) has the potential to be really good with a little TLC - the small pool is a welcome retreat from the heat but it has the feel of something that just isn't cared for at all. I suspect that this is because they want to knock down most of it and put up a multistorey hotel - check out their website.

Would I come back? Probably not, not just to Las Olas but to Playa Hermosa - unless you are a surfer, there isn't much else on. We chose this place over Jaco but in hindsight it may have been the better option for us.

All said and done the surfers love this place - check out their reviews. The beach is beautiful but no good for swimming in due to the dangerous rips and massive breakers.

Tip: If you do get the skybox be careful coming down the stairs from the top – I slipped coming down and landed very awkwardly resulting in a broken toe – no-one’s fault that but mine!

Another tip: If you don't have your own car - get cash before you get here - the nearest ATM is in Jaco 6km away and this place only takes cash.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cost is very low, and expect to stay in a more "surf Hostel" environment with open air rooms, basic bath/showeer and overall very utilitatrian. However for the price you should not exepct much more. The location is fantastic, right on the beach at one of the best surf breaks in Costa Rica. Jason, Cameron and the rest of the staff are amazing, really laid back and very conscientious of their guests. If you want one of the best surfing experiences of your life, meet some fantastic people and you are on a budget Las Olas is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

This place is in a prime location - its cheap and given that food is expensive (Aug 2012) it's a nice place to save money BUT when the rains come it quickly becomes a sink hole with a swamp in the bathroom, and a leaky roof that dripped all over my bed. Yea if ur a surfer traveling with dudes you can put up with it - but even we were ready to GTFU after 2 nights

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanpaulbonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A surfers destination, waves for all abilities are at your fingertips! Cristian, Tex, and Nelson, will provide whatever experience you desire! The post surf food is fabulous...more ahi tuna then you can imagine! The hotel has a laid back vibe..the owners Cameron and Jason see to that. Will return this year for a 7th trip and can say every year has provided an amazing, different, wonderful trip! Don't expect turn down service, but what surfer does, be ready for a true, incredible costa rican experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for the best of everything Costa Rica has to offer, Las Olas is the perfect place to stay or to start your journey! if i had to backpack through C.R again, which i will..i will definitely return to Las Olas for another unforgettable experience!
From the best waves, most amazing black sand beaches, gorgeous sunsets to which you practice the best yoga i have yet to practice in the last 5 years! Spiritual, challenging and at the same time nurturing practices done by the wonderful Alejandra are better than any massage you can get after your surf! (which is also available) The energetic days surfing with really awesome surf instructor Nelson. Balanced by relaxing and invigorating yoga practice.
The food at the beach front restaurant is the best in all of Costa Rica! I've traveled all over C.R and i love good food, but never tasted breakfast, lunch, dinner, smoothies...you name it! Las Olas has the best food hands down! ((they are also famous for their beach restaurant, as many locals come there to dine, which is also a good way to meet new friends))
The staff at Las Olas are PURA VIDA!! ;-)) So chill & friendly. They go the extra mile just to make your experience the best! in my 8 day stay there they went the extra mile at least 4 times for me!!! Thank you so much Nelson for driving me when you were actually off work!!
Thank you Jason & Cameron for making sure i get to EVERY Yoga class in the special remote locations offered as a courtesy by the wonderful Alejandra!
Dear Tex, i can't thank you enough for saving me from being late to the airport and missing my flight (even 3 weeks after i left Las Olas) YOU GUYS ROCK!

When you have natural beauty & down to earth atmosphere with the most wonderful people i have yet to find in my 30 day journey in Costa Rica, having the best food EVER, and being given the chance to do my thing, make friends with the amazing local people from all over the world, or have a planned day, or have it all! This Experience out rules any luxury hotel out there! having a travel agent mother, i have been to many luxury, all inclusive, prestigious resorts & hotels. But NOTHING, and i mean Nothing compares to the LIFE you get to experience @ LAS OLAS.

Gracias por todo!
Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed at Las Olas for a few days in May 2011. Had the best time. Love the beach front restaurant. Views ;-) and food was great. Cristian, Tex, Jason and Mike really made my vacation fun! Accomodations are "rustic", but for the price, views and atmosphere...totally worth it! Will be back again! Maybe 2012...before the world ends? Ha ha...private joke btw Tex and I!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 41 in Jaco
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
189 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#23 of 41 in Jaco
95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Posada Jaco
Posada Jaco
#25 of 41 in Jaco
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: Playa Hermosa de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing