We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where the pool is shaped like a guitar”
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mango Mar
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The pool is shaped like a guitar. I will give them that. The place needs to be renovated. My gf and I went for one night after our transfer from arenal to manuel antonio was deferred because of rain. The staff was more then helpful and bent over backward to help. The room felt like a 1984 vibe with no change to the bedsheets from then. You are literally right on the beach which is a perk but thats the only true advantage.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

You can't beat the location right on the beach and the staff is well-meaning. However, this hotel has seen better days. It hasn't been upgraded since I visited 5 years ago and is showing its age in a way that isn't reflected in the pricing of its rooms. The main issue is security. The locks on the doors are flimsy and. the safe in my room didn't work. As a solo traveller I just wasn't comfortable leaving my belongings whle I went out. ' there are big spaces between the door frame and the wall and the floor which means all manner of insects just make their way inside at will.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

It rained most of the time we were in Costa Rica and had it not been for the nice accommodations, we would have gone crazy. The room was large and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The patio facing the ocean and pool was nice for watching the rain. While the pool is small, it is kept immaculate and has a very nice design. The gate to access the beach is kept locked and there is a night watchman, so you feel very safe here. Our room had a kitchenette which was an added plus.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leishatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

while hidden behind the more famous Cocal this was a great place to stay --clean, owners friendly & willing to happily provide extras e.g. towels, coffee, directions, etc. It didnt cost a fortune to hear the ocean waves roll in each & every night & have a great ocean view --i'd stay again in a heartbeat. Also, fabulous location on the strip--across from all the amenities of Jaco and not far from the supermarket, Mas X Menos for the late night coke lite run

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We found the Hotel by chance and we liked it at first sight. It is located ocean front. The pool and the garden is small, but the view from the upstairs apartments over the ocean is great. The apartment had two rooms and balcony and was clean and cozy.
Just in front you find the sandy beach of Jaco.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamaca561234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Mango Mar staff is incredible. Very accommodating and honest. I shopped around for a hotel or condo on the beach and Mango Mar offered the best value and clearly spelled out a couple of issues with the room before I committed. There was a minor issue with the wifi and they moved it for better reception. Everything was casual and I would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Mango Mar is the perfect location in Jaco. RIGHT on the beach-- there is a private entrance from the hotel onto the beach. Close to restaurants and bars. Taco Bar and Rioasis are nearby restaurants worth trying.

The rooms were fine--nothing special. But for the money, it was about right. The free breakfast is not much. Most mornings we got toast and fruit. A couple days we got pancakes.

The staff did not speak much English, but it was doable.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank oregonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 40 in Jaco
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#8 of 40 in Jaco
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#18 of 40 in Jaco
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#13 of 40 in Jaco
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Address: At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar has 12 standard suites, and 2 apartment suites. They are all equipped with air conditioning, TV, safe box, coffee maker, microwave and bar fridge to meet your needs for your stay with us. Each room has a balcony or patio with table and chairs and a great ocean view!. Most of the bedrooms have two double beds but we also offer rooms for 5 and 6 people. Hotel Mango Mar is located at the end of Calle Cocal, in the middle of Jaco Beach and oceanfront for you to enjoy every sunset and relax at the beach. The Hotel has beautiful tropical gardens. The swimming pool is right in front of the beach with plenty of lounge chairs for tanning. Also the front gardens provide outdoor tables with a BBQ for those who wish to BBQ under the palm trees in front of the beach. Hotel Mango Mar is a completely private and secure. We have security guards at night and maintain access to the beach for guest use only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing