We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely decorated and comfortable rooms”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent a night at El Paso de Las Lapas and would really recommend this place. We were very welcome with a glass of wine, the receptionist was very helpfull, took his time, gave us a map of Jaco and recommended some restaurants.
The rooms are very big, nicely decorated and absolutely spotless, same for the bathroom equipped with complimentary quality toiletries. I still think the rooms are a bit overpriced.
We enjoyed chilling out by the pool with our friends: the land monitors.
My only disappointlent in the city of Jaco, I don't know why it attracts so many people, if you enjoy big buildings and a lor of run down places, why bother coming to Costa Rica ???

Room Tip: all rooms have a terrace on the pool side, I prefered the downstairs ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello! Your opinion it is very important for us. We really agree that in Costa Rica the best for enjoy is nature, that’s one of the reasons we are far enough from downtown Jaco, we believe plants, all the birds and animals that visit us every day, makes our boutique hotel a lot different, but close enough to get to the beach, restaurants and more than 45 tours and activities to do around the from 5 minutes to 1 hour drive, hope next time you can stay with us more than one night!!!! Let us know when your friends and family want to come by and hope to have you with us again. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is probably my most favorite place I have stayed at in Costa Rica. It's about 5 minutes from my fav town in the world, Jaco. It is outside the busy area of Jaco though, and in an area called Herradura, which is quiet and has nature. We booked on Expedia, and checkin was easy. We were greeted and asked if we wanted wine, then shown to our room. We were in room 14 and the awesome pool area was right outside our room. Room was spacious and had a kitchen area on the outside patio for storing food and drinks. loved that. We felt like we had the place to ourselves, only saw like two other guests while we were there and had the pool to ourselves. Really cute stone waterslide going into a second pool. Free breakfast, however, we did not partake in that as we had other plans and wanted to sleep in. Checkout was easy as well. Highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Jaco area.

Room Tip: We loved room 14. I would suggest staying on the ground floor so you can walk out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hi! We hope you had a nice trip back home. Thank you for you opinion it is very important for us. I feel sorry you didn’t know our breakfast doesn’t have schedule, because we want our guest to enjoy their stay during vacation and on our daily life we have enough schedules, no matter what time you wake up you can ask for your breakfast even room service at your suite, next time you will enjoy this part.
We are located just far enough away from town to be serene but close enough to get to the beach, shopping, and tours at the end of the day you come back to peace again. Hope to have your friends and family an specially you back soon! We miss you!!! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My first time to Costa Rica and my boyfriend's second. El Paso de las Lapas was a gem. We both loved it. Although we weren't greeted with the wine others mentioned, Juan Carlos greeted us and made us feel right at home. He was very helpful throughout our stay, lining us up with tours and recommending local places to visit. He was quick to tend to our every need. Our room was very nice and the patio was heaven to sit on and listen to the sounds of the rainforest. The location was perfect for us, just far enough away from town to be serene but close enough to get to the beach, shopping, and tours. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Director de Recepción at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

it was a pleasure to have you on our hotel, really grateful for your comments, and for us it was a honor serving you and your boyfriend, unfortunately we had run out of wine, but we promise that next visit we will ready for your welcome. Because our interest is you feel in the best way in your stay.
I hope you and your boyfriend come back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A very nice location with excelllent service by the staff members of the hotel. We had a great time during our stay in August, 2012. Traveled with wife and daughter, 15 years old. Contact with the natura was excellent. Nice pool to swim and cool down. The staff maintained our room Very well. The climate controll worked properly. There was also a very beautiful garden to walk in. All very well maintained. We have seen a lot of lizards during our stay. They also liked the fruit we gave them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Hello! Your opinion counts and is very important for us, we really appreciate. I believe the location is perfect, since we have a lot of vegetation, peace, nature but close enough to go downtown and all the different activities you can do around the area, but you come back home and enjoy the pool.
The lizards are getting bigger every day and always like to stay around. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we can have you back!!!! Best regards from all of us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

From the warm welcome we received on arriving after a long day of travel to the lovely, comfortable room, we felt immediately at home in this beautiful, tranquil oasis. Yes, the hotel isn't in the center of town, but we knew that going in, and made regular use of the fully stocked kitchen in our room. In the morning, we woke to the sounds of birds rather than traffic, and in the evening, we reveled in the peace and pristine air - all things we would have missed if we'd stayed down at the beach. At every turn, the staff went out of their way to help us enjoy our trip and make the most of our time there. They provided advice, conversation, and friendship, while helping us with reservations and transportation needs. One time, the manager even drove us to town in search of an elusive camera part... we felt more like cherished family than hotel guests. This lovely boutique hotel embodied the best of Costa Rica, and we will absolutely return there on any trip we make in the future.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms open directly out onto the pool, which is nice and convenient, but the upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Hi! there.
Thank you, we are pleased to know that you had a great time with us here in El Paso de las Lapas, the customer service you experienced is the service we try to offer all our visitors, considering all the time that each customer has different needs and try to please and serve all equally. I really did like to talk a lot and share good times with your family. Thanks for the invitation, I promise you on my first trip to USA I will visit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Traveled with wife and daughter,12 yo. The greeting upon arrival was warm, personalized with flutes of delicious wine and efficient (important post many hours of travel). Our room was very comfortable and well outfitted w/ a mini kitchen. Climate control worked wonderfuly in our main room. The staff maintained our room daily such that not one grain of sand was left behind. The pool was immaculate and perfect for unwinding after a hike into the rainforest.

The locus was an absolute treat for us. We wanted quiet family time and this resort offered that in spades. The grounds were beautifuly manicured and surrounded by a delightful farm and rainforest. Lots of unassuming lizards abounding poolside. The staff clearly takes pride in maintaining this pristine jem of a hotel.

Juan Carlos, manager, must be commended for his efforts to keep our family happy during our stay. Always greeted us with a smile despite his long hours at the hotel; he clearly put our comfort and needs as his top most priority. For example, I needed to procure another memory stick for my camera and aske Juan Carlos for a store recommendation. He could have told us where to go and called us a cab, however, he elected to drive us himself to a nearby store. Likewise, he went into the store and interpreted my needs to the store associate. Finally, he drove into Jaco and delivered us to our restaurant. Juan Carlos was not asked to do any of these things; he insisted on helping us in the most selfless manner I have ever witnessed. The service and people are unparalleled at this botique hotel.

We enjoyed the fresh friuts, beans and rice, eggs and ham served each moring. The tables offered spectacular views of jungle scenery--replete with bird calls, insect, frog and local fauna incantations unseen but everpresent.

The trip to Jaco is about 8 min from the hotel. This is a good opportunity to inquire about local attractions, restaurants, activities. Every cab driver was more than happy to share knowledge about this wonderful region. I am very happy in our decision to stay outside of the hubub of Jaco central. Each evening coming from dinner in jaco it was a return to a serene nirvana/ shangri-la (pardon the descriptive redundancy).

I have nothing negative to say about this Hotel and I am a critical reviewer--see previous reviews. This is a model establishment and we will without question return to this hotel if we return to the Jaco region.

Room Tip: Corner 2nd floor rooms have a ceiling fan and large patios. Really can't go wrong w/ any room. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderyonder43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Hello friends!
We are very proud to know that you were able to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in our hotel, your comments confirm to us that we are on the right way and that every day we keep improving and provide customer service that has characterized these last 4 and a half years, thank you, you are a very accessible and friendly family, thanks to your comments we know that we make you feel at home.
This is a very warm greeting from us and we hope you can visit us soon to share with you once more time, we'll remember at all times. As soon as a get to USA I´ll visit you, it is a promise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A very nice hotel, contact with nature was excellent ... The great room, spacious, cozy, well everything! Very close to shopping for any need. The nearby beaches .. excellent! All the best, and move on! I will have a next visit

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious, cozy, well everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you very much for your comments our goal is to make our customers feel more than satisfied with our service. We deeply appreciate your words. We hope to see you one more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £76 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing