We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed one night in route to Manuel Antonio and only wish we had stayed longer! The outdoor kitchen was great. Breakfast was included and served outside with the lizards. The pool was very nice and clean and the grounds beautifully kept. However, the staff was the best part! We were welcomed with a glass of wine and they even overlooked the fact that I had accidentally booked the wrong night. We were sad to leave the next day and would love to get the chance to return. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which gave us a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliemccpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your kindly comments, your opinion counts, the outdoor kitchen is great that way the room doesn’t smell food and people can enjoy the nature while cooking. Our staff really enjoyed your visit and we are glad we could help you with the accidentally booked day, so we had the chance to meet you. Today we had a tucan new born in our trees, it is amazing! Hope to have the chance to come back some day and be able to have your family and friends with us, let us know in advance and we will help you!! Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed a couple of nights en route from the peninsula to Manuel Antonio, and it was a great decision. It's a lovely boutique hotel, with the rooms opening onto the pool, surrounded by quiet farmland. The staff are really friendly and helpful. If you aren't driving and want to go into Jaco, you get a free cab ride, or even better, you can order food in for an evening meal and eat on your terrace.
Breakfast was good, and it was lovely to sit outside and drink a coffee by the pool before having another dip..
I personally don't know why anyone would make a special trip to stay in Jaco city, as it seemed a bit plastic, but this is a great base for exploring the area or breaking a journey. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hello! We hope had a good trip back home, it was a pleasure meeting such a special couple. You are right our boutique hotel is a great base TO EXPLORE COSTA RICA, Manuel Antonio, Volcán Poás and coffee plantation, Tortuga Island, adrenaline, sports, Carará National Park, canopy, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others, it is so much to do and come back home at night and enjoy our personalized service that makes an experience unforgettable, thank you for your kindly comments, your opinion counts and it is very important for us, thanks for breaking a journey and stay with us. Hope to have you back some day and be able to have your family and friends, let us know in advance and we will help you!!! Have a nice weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great place. Quiet. Air conditioned comfortable nicely appointed rooms. Balcony refrigerator & mini-bar/sink. Optional connecting rooms. Badminton. Nice pool. Breakfast included & served in thatched open air dining area. Terrific, helpful staff. Really felt their mission was to make our stay enjoyable. Have linkage with and assist with ordering bring-in meals from several restaurants. Football (soccer) enthusiasts enjoyed outdoor TV near pool. Only negative was the poolside lounge chairs. They were of a design with comfortable fabric against your back and legs, but connected with a rigid and uncomfortable metal bar across your buttock. Fortunately breakfast chairs were nearby.

Room Tip: I can't image there is a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello! We really appreciate your opinion, it is very important for us and counts to improve every day our personalized service, thank you for your service comments, we miss all of you and remember when it is a soccer game and hope to have you back soon, please let us in advance when you plan to come back, your family or friends, it will be a pleasure to help while you are planning the vacation. We are improving more places to order from Jaco, so you will have more options to choose from our Gourmet Adventures, you already know it does`t matter if you are too many.
Have a nice week!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is place is a hidden gem. We were looking for a place to stay around Jaco and decided to stay here. We are a family of 5, and the boutique hotel was perfect. It's located about 1km off the highway just north of Jaco. The grounds are very tranquil and the landscaping was very fitting for Costa Rica. The staff at the front desk let us store our luggage until later in the day, so we could go to the beach until check-in (we arrived at 9:30am) After a day at the beach, and a great dinner at I Love Sushi, we checked into our room. Two comfy queen beds and a sofa bed. The room was decorated in a contemporary Costa Rican theme. The infinity pools included a waterfall and slide. We enjoyed the evening in the pool. The resort is small with about 10 rooms, and they all look out over the pool and garden. There's an outside kitchen with dining table and chairs just off each unit. We used the fridge for our drinks. You can order food from any nearby restaurant, and the staff will pick it up and deliver it to your room! We loved the breakfast, and were able to sit in a quiet relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Great alternative to downtown/beach area of Jaco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Director de Recepción at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

We are happy you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel, just the idea is to welcome our client and make you feel at home, where families can come to relax and enjoy a good time surrounded by nature, the hotel facilities are dedicated to making the guest feel comfortable, we hope to have them back soon and can enjoy our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a lovely location. The other reviews complaining about the distance from Jacó city are true, but it was not a problem at all for us. The hotel offers a complimentary taxi ride into Jacó and then back to the hotel once every day. Generally, we found that to be enough for us, as we didn't tend to leave the hotel until we were ready to be out for the day. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, sitting out on our little porch and watching the natural setting around us, and feeding the iguanas at breakfast. We also took advantage of the spa with body wraps the night before we left, and they provided a lovely end to our trip.

I noticed several people complained that the breakfast options were limited, but I found them to be perfectly fine. While the amount stayed the same from day to day, certain elements of the breakfast varied from day to day, and we were certainly satisfied with the food. (I recommend the scrambled eggs with leeks if they make those!) We also took advantage of the order in option and found the food to be good and served by hotel staff as if it was actually room service.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Marcelo was especially helpful, as he was the only person there during a transition in management. He handled the task in an exemplary manner. He was able to give us good recommendations for dinner and helped us find a good surfing lesson. All in all, it was a fantastic stay, and I could see it being a lovely place for a couple or a family who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of central Jacó while enjoying the beauty and opportunities provided by the Pacific coast region of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms walk right out to the pool area, which was wonderful. However, if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springdove42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello! We really appreciate your opinion, it is very important for us and counts to improve every day our personalized service, since it is a boutique hotel is the perfect size to take care of what our visitors are looking for on their vacation. We like to make different breakfast every day so people can try different styles from Costa Rica, of course we always have our typical “gallo pinto” (rice and beans).
As you say we are located far enough from the hustle and bustle of Jaco with a spectacular view of a virgin mountain jungle, a river and the constant crossing of red macaws and toucans...but ...yet close enough to enjoy the night life, easy access to different National Parks as well as diverse islands and beaches in the Central Pacific. We are a mountain, beach and adventure boutique hotel. And we decided since we opened instead of having a shuttle going and coming we have a personalized one “taxi”, that’s why we pay them and have special ones that work with us.
We miss you and hope to have you back soon, please let us in advance when you plan to come back or your family and friends, it will be a pleasure to help while you are planning the vacation. Have a nice week!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We (2 adults and our 12 year old daughter) just stayed 3 nights at this exquisite hotel (March 2013) and could not have been happier. It is the perfect blend of eco - toucans, gorgeous green "jungle" setting, and the lovely amenities of a top hotel. Everything was perfect - the rooms were lovely and sparkling clean, the staff were incredible (thank you Anna for all your help!), the pool was just beautiful. So much thought has been put into this place. We loved the little "outdoor" kitchens and that we could eat on our patio. And it is so close to everything. (If you are not familiar with this area - do not, i repeat do not stay in Jaco - this lovely hotel is just 3 km from there). Fantastic value. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely. But we chose a ground level so we could walk right out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello! You are a very special couple and your daughter is so cute, can wait to have you back for more than 3 nights, so you can enjoy all the activities around from 5 minutes to 1 hour, beaches, volcano, mountains, surfing, bird watching, adventure, islands, etc. and come back home every day. We are having more toucans every day right know they have their nest in our trees, we really enjoy them every day. It was a pleasure to be helpful during you stay and that you enjoyed our outdoor kitchen so the room doesn’t smell the cooking, in Costa Rica our weather allows us to have them outside so you can be submerged in nature while you prepare your meal. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again soon. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had a great time. The owner is super nice, the room has great decoration and everything works perfectly. Great air conditioning and wifi. The pool is in a beautiful garden and the atmosphere is very relaxed. THe owner lives there and personaly takes care of all details and the staff was very kind to us. We spent 4 nights in 2 rooms. We are a family of 6.

Room Tip: They have only 10 rooms. Rooms are big and have a kitchen. I suggest the ones on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Hi! We really miss all of your family members, you are a nice and active family, it really was a pleasure to have you with us. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. The ones on the second floor are more private we are glad you were on those and to see you again in Costa Rica surfing!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,345 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £78 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing