We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
“Very nice place and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stay there for 14 days and feel like home. Very exciting place and everything is possible if you have any wish at the staff. Milton the manager at the desk was a very friendly and nice guy.
If you want to take a taxi to Jaco or beach the hotel will pay for you once a day the trip to town and back.

Room Tip: Room Number 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DirkOberschelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello! Nice to hear from you a very special couple that really enjoy our hotel in a long stay and made good friends, we always remember you, smiling and having a good time. The cicadas season is already gone, next year when they start making noise we will remember you. Thanks a lot for you comments, your opinion counts and it is very important for us. Our personalized shuttle ¨taxis¨works perfect to go downtown but stay surround by nature just a few minutes away. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    72
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
167
228
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel Pumilio...WOW! Our first two nights in Costa Rica were spent here. The hotel is GORGEOUS! In the jungle and only a short cab ride into town. They also provided with one free taxi ride to and from town per day which was awesome!! Milton, the manager there, was absolutely wonderful. He greeted us with a warm smile and lovely tour of the hotel. Also, our first night there he gave a certificate to go canopying the next day at los suenos resort! It was amazing! He was so pleasant and friendly and always made us feel so welcome. I could go on and on about how great Milton is.

The room we stayed in was right in front of the pool...spectacular view! The pool backs up against the jungle. Also, i think every room has a kichenet! Its outside so you can cook and eat and socialize while enjoying the wonderful weather and scenery. Its comes with a full set of pots, pans, plates, and a full refrigerator! Perfect if you'll be staying awhile and want to stock up on some groceries.

The breakfast is also delicious! Fresh fruit, eggs and of course gallo pinto. And its included :)

Hotel Pumilio is a wonderful stay, its a lot more like a resort experience than a hotel by far. Just far more affordable :)

WE LOVE YOU MILTON!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie110288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi! Thanks for your gorgeous comments, we hope the rest of your vacation in Costa Rica was very nice too, so nice to hear from you a very special couple that enjoys traveling like King's, every detail, view, breakfast, tours, always smiling, thanks for you comments about Milton, he really enjoys helping with our guests needs and very important he loves his job as the rest of the staff, we really care about unforgotten experiences with us and know the value of vacations days! We hope to have you back soon with your family and friends for a longer stay with us.
If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

very relaxing place.suitable for a family .nice kitchen and beautiful pool outside room.the owner was very gracious,staff is very helpful.i felt totally at home.seclude from hustle and bustle.we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi! Thanks for your opinion that is ver important for us and helpful for new visitors leaping into happiness at Pumilio! You are a ver special family that we always enjoying the environment surrounded by nature, when we builded worked the idea of having the kitchens outside the room so people don`t mss a second in the peace, landscaping and special the persons that are traveling with since for us vacations is the most valuable time of our life! Hope to have ou back some day with your friends and family. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

There's nothing on Hotel Pumilio that's not possible. The staff will do anything they can to make your stay pleasent. We had a very nice stay at the end of our journey, The only bad thing is that it was even harder to leave Costa Rica after staying three nighths at Pumilio :)

It is such a nice and peaceful place off the busy Jaco downtown. The owner welcomed us with a cold glass of white vine and showed us our room which was light, large and clean. There's a big balcony with a kitchen and all you need if you want to make your own food - or just a cup of coffee.

The beach is not nearby but the hotel offers you one taxi drive a day. And they can guide you and tell you which beach is the best at a certain time of day. The pool at the hotel is nice and they clean it every morning - like everything else in the hotel. It's clean an nice everywhere.

The only meal you can get on the hotel is breakfast, but they have a service where you can order food from restaurants in the area and they will bring it to you room - without any extra charge. We did that almost every evening because we didn't like Jaco at night. It worked out very well.

The owner and the other staff was very, very friendly and they took care of every little thing we asked about. At check out they let us stay late because our flight was late without extra charge.

If you don't speak spanish, the owner knows a taxidriver who is english spoken. I cannot remember his name but he was very nice and showed us a lot of things in the area and told us lot of interessting things. You can ask for him at Pumilio.

It was a very nice place to stay. And if you like a place away from noise and turists it's the best!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor and it gave us a bit more privacy. If you choose the rooms in the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SKS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi! You are so nice and special couple we miss you thanks for your kindly comments your opinion is very important for us to keep improving our services, taking care of the little things to make almost everything possible, we love to be part of our guest's plans before the trip and during there visit so depending on the purpose of the vacation you will go back with an unforgotten experience of Costa Rica. Victor is the name of our english speaking taxi driver, we love to use his services because he offers a good service and help us while people goes to the beaches or downtown. The Gastronomic Adventures works excellent so you don't lose time at a restaurant and can enjoy lunch or dinner surrounded by nature and peace, good you liked! let us know when you plan to come back it will be amazing having you with us again.
If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know know how to find the happy in you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We arrived at Hotel Pumilio early in the day before normal check in time ( not knowing that we would be the first stop on Interbus's schedule ). We were graciously received by Laura, the owner, and her staff. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and escorted to our room which was spacious, clean and modern. How we were greeted set the tone for our entire stay. Laura and her staff could not have been more helpful and friendly ! And their heartfelt welcome was extended to my sister and her family. One evening we all had dinner and great conversation with Laura, her husband and her younger daughter. Our delicious meal was prepared by Laura's son and his girlfriend and we dined outside in the thatched open air dining area by the pool. Laura and her staff made our trip to Costa Rica a special and memorable visit. Pura Vida to Laura and staff !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi! Nice to hear from you and hope to have you back some day with our parents and friends, you really leaped into happiness at Pumilio meeting with your sister and lovely nieces going into this sallying adventure, we have them in our prayers and we are following them in internet. It was very nice meeting such a nice couple and family we had a very good time with my son and girlfriend cooking experience and Eugenia's stories sharing a good time with you. Your family trip to Arenal was a good experience too, If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you! We'll keep in touch. Lots of hugs from all my family and staff! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were very satisfied with the service provided at this hotel. Quiet, private and off the busy track. The people were friendly, surroundings peaceful and the pool was lovely. Loved the ambience. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello! Thanks for your opinion that is very important for us, we feel happy you have good memories from your vacation and are planning to leap into happiness at Pumilio in the future, let us know so we can be part of your plans. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We appreciated the feeling of privacy and intimacy. The kitchenette on balcony was a plus for the early riser. They can get their day started without disturbing others. We had a first floor room, so we could step off our terrace and be in the pool. Which was a lovely area. The staff is more than accommodating on every level. The breakfast is very nice as well. The rooms are nicely decorated, very comfortable mattress and pillows. Bathroom is updated and clean, clean, clean! You won't find an unpleasant surprise. Everything they claim is true. Only downside is that it's a drive to the beach. If we make it to Jaco again, we will stay at Hotel Pumilio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank diane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks for your comments they are very important to us. Since we started this hotel adventure we keep taking care every day to improve our services, we designed the suite confortable, spacious, and the kitchenettes outside the room which allows to enjoy the nature, pool, birds, lizards that makes this boutique spot magical. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Property: Hotel Pumilio
Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing