We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was hard to find. Follow the directions to go to the butterfly farm . When we got here they let us check in early, and had a glass of white wine for us. if we did not have a car they would pay for the taxi to go to town to eat and come back. The room was great, beds a little hard but it's ok. The pool is beautiful . Full kitchen in each room on the patio.
Daniel at the front desk was the perfect host

Room Tip: Get second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello, thanks for your opinion that is very important for us. Sorry about the road signals to make our guest easier to find us, it's something we are trying to improve soon, last week we worked some changes and by now we have a bigger deck around the pool, hope to have you, your friends and family in a near future leaping into happiness at Pumilio again. We know the value of each vacation day and love to be part of our guests plans and help as much as we can to make remarkable vacations for our guests. Best regards. Pura Vida from Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I were traveling from San Jose to Montezuma, and because of the taxi boat timing from Jaco we knew we were going to need to spend a night in the area. We are pretty laid back, so I was looking for a low key vibe place to stay, probably not in Jaco maintown. Luckily I found Hotel Pumilio online and booked ahead. It was a great decision, and by far the nicest place we stayed during the trip. The staff was really welcoming and wonderful, and the hotel and grounds are gorgeous. Its tucked away, completely peaceful, and if I had to do it all over again, I would have stayed longer here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brackish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hi! Thanks for your opinion that is very important for us. It was a pleasure to have you with us at least one night during your Costa Rica vacation and hope to have you soon for a longer stay to enjoy all the nature and tours to do from Pumilio and come back to a peaceful, confortable and the best service in the area, all our staff knows the value of every single day of vacation and we work to help with our guests dreams and needs so people can have unforgettable memories. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards and have a nice weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff and service at Hotel Pumilio was superb. The staff really made our stay special. The views and relaxing environment is amazing. I definitely recommend staying at this hotel. The rooms are very nice with modern finishes. The hotel is located in a remote area but close to town about a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Nice to hear from you thanks for your opinion that is very important and helpful for us, we enjoy offering our guest the best service to make a remarkable experience of their vacation surrounded by nature on the heart of Central Pacific to explore Costa Rica comfortable in a spacious and very clean rooms, we hope to have you back soon, let us know in advance to be part of your plans. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We live in Costa Rica, and travel from time to time to see the country. On the way back from the Nicoya, we checked for hotels on the Internet. One similar to Pumilio offered a little better price, but when we checked further, they were adding on about 50% in misc. Pumilio gave me a quote and stuck to it. No hidden charges. We liked the room next to the pool, and the Tiki torches at night were a great touch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dyeboy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thanks for you opinion that is very important for us, nice to hear we helped making your wife happy, It was a pleasure to have you with us. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you and very close to San José, hope to have you back soon, we really disappoint with the hotels that work with hidden charges, we work to have almost everything included in the kitchen’s, breakfast without schedule, transfers downtown, internet, etc. at a reasonable price. Best regards from all our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay and were treated well from the staff at check-in to leaving the property. If you are tired of the tourist areas & want a tranquil environment, look no further. The property is a small 8 room hotel, with all rooms facing the pool and mountain view. The hotel even included a free cab ride to nearby Jaco and back, free breakfast (even cooked our eggs to order) and the front desk greeted us with a glass of wine ! Our room was clean, neat and modern with full kitchenette and apartment sized fridge (not the tiny under the counter style) and large patio facing the pool. My wife prepared a full pasta & shrimp meal for dinner with ease. We will stay there again when we get back to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It was a pleasure to have you with us, a very special couple, as you named our great hideaway hotel is very comfortable and tranquil, but very close to a lot of activities, restaurants, supermarkets, etc. surrounded by nature. Thanks for your opinion that counts and is very important for us. Our wine glass welcome, our personalized service, breakfast and nature are perfect to enjoy a remarkable experience. At Pumilio is no to-do list to distract you, no finish line just out of reach to put blinders on you, no people to please, no image to live up to, no race around the clock. Let us know in advance when are you going to come back and we love to be part of our guest’s plans. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We - my wife and me - have had a very pleasant stay at the PUMILIO.

A very familar resort with a great, well stuffed and perfectly cleaned room with a lot of space.

Fully equiped Kitchen and an amazing pool just before our terrace.

Topped by very friendly and helpful staff.

Once a day we got a free ride downtown Jaco - and back - by taxi.

We highly recommend this Hotel for all searching a small and comfortabe accommodation in a silent surrounding.

Bernd and Martina
Couple - both 51 years old

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandstifter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Bernd and Martina thanks for you kindly comments, they are very important for us to keep improving our services, this place is amazing since we are a few minutes away from the hustle of Jaco but close enough to go and enjoy all the activities, restaurants and more and come back to our cleaned and spacious rooms surrounded by nature just beside the pool.
Hope to have you, your friends and family with us in a near future. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is the finest small Hotel I have stayed in. It should be the standard for which all hotels are measured. It excels in all respects. The owner lives next door and is very involved. It is close to town but totally isolated. Transportation is provided to town. You can't go wrong staying here

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello! You are the best! It was a pleasure to meet you and have you leaping into happiness at Pumilio, thanks a lot for your kindles and true comments, we really care about the value of every single day of our guest vacations and work to make them the best! We love to be part of your plans and try to help us much us we can with recommendations. The hotel surrounded by nature, birds, peace but close enough to all the attractions near by and we our personalized shuttle named "taxi" is a perfect transportation for our guest. My house next door is part of the hotel because I love to have people walking in my garden and share with all of you. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £77 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing