We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CINCO CHICAS - BEST STAY EVER”
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I truly enjoyed staying In El Paso de las Lapas. From the minute we walked in we were treated wonderfully. We enjoyed a glass of wine and our room was impeccable not to mention the beauty of the hotel itself and the view from our balcony. We were 5 young ladies in one room and we had space and comfort the entire stay. We’ve been praising our stay in the hotel since we left and Ana was the most amazing hostess. This place is the hotel to stay in. And the breakfast is delicious!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borregov26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

This place was AMAZING!! Not only is it beautiful but the staff was great! The food and service was fantastic! Rooms were beautiful!! Highly recommend el Paso de las Lapas to everyone!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank chica12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I would say this is the place to stay if traveling to see Jaco and it's surrounding area's in Costa Rica. Private, secure and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willyone1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Hello! Hope to have you back some day. Sorry we didn't response before, we really appreciate your nice comments and it`s the best way to keep improving our services and hotel. We changed our hotel name at the end of last year, know is Hotel Pumilio, a lot easier for travelers, we made more improvements in our little spot and have a lot more activities to offer so our guest can explore Costa Rica like been at home. We know the value of every minute of our guests vacation and keep doing our best hospitality. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I can not say enough about what an increadible place this is. We went during the rainy season which means there were fewer people at the B&B than usual. Either way, I'm sure that the service would be 5 star like we recieved. Ana & her staff were incredible. It's like we never left home. She was helpful from the second we walked through the door. She helped with everything you can think of. She helped with the tours with the canopy & ATV; setting up the spa massage; telling us what places the locals go to eat; & even dropped us off at the beach and downtown with her own car. Service was first rate all the way around.

Since this is a B&B, breakfast was delightful experience. Fresh fruit, plantains, beans & rice, and eggs made differently everyday. It was the complete island breakfast.

The rooms are hugh! 2 queen beds with a futon and we had plenty of extra room to roam. The rooms we decorated with a modern island theme. My only complait was the beds are very hard. They take a few night to get use to.

The rest of the B&B is as beautiful as the rooms. The pools are great to lounge around in and are right next to the rooms, so you can go back & forth to refill your frosty bevereage ;)

Be aware that the B&B is about a ten minute car ride to downtown Jaco. Nothing is within walking distance. If you do not have a car, taxies are convenient , unless Ana is availablle. Thank you again Ana!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTime12921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We received a warm welcome from Ana who was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated, plus the scenery was beautiful. Spending time on our patio (right by the pool) was relaxing and peaceful. I would not hesitate to stay here again, in fact, I cant' wait to return. It could not have been better!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Ana and her staff are top notch! They all exceeded my expectations. I don't think I have ever recieved such exemplary customer service. Ana is a true pleasure, she is not only kind but very helpful. She arranged for a private driver to pick me up from the airport and then drive me back to San Jose when I was ready to leave. During my stay she cut fresh fruit every morning for all the guest on top of cooking a full breakfast for everyone. She also arranged for me to do a zip line tour. All with a smile!

On top of great service this B&B is absolutely beautiful! I walked around Jaco and I did not see anywhere else that could even compare! If you stay here you will feel like you have truly reached Paradise. The pictures do not do this place justice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel as a part of Honeymoon and would recommend it to anybody, expecially couples. The hotel is down hidden among personal residences off an unpaved road but once you enter in the gates it is awesome. We were greeted with a glass of wine by the hotel manager, Ana. The hotel is very small and we were lucky enough that we were the only guests in the hotel for 3 of our 4 nights. Ana was very nice and offered lots of advice about the area and Costa Rica in general. When we were shown to our room, we were blown away by the comfort. The room had two beds and had a large sliding glass door that looked out onto a beautiful pool with lots of greenery behind the pool. Behind the hotel is a small river. In the morning, we heard the monkeys in the trees and saw the lizards/frogs hanging around the property. We felt like we were very close to nature and also had a closed in room with AC. It was very quiet at night as the hotel is off on a hidden road. However, we were 3 minutes drive from downtown Jaco where the clubs and parties hang. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for beauty and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloverAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#1 of 3 in Punta Leona
1,357 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £83 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing