We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaco Bay Resort Condominium
Ranked #30 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average, but nothing special”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The condos are large and clean and well maintained, and the pool area is nice. Some of the lounge chairs are broken and need to be replaced. There were very few people in residence at the time, which is nice, but also a little creepy. Where is everyone? The property is a long walk from the beach, driving is recommended. The kitchens have the bare minimum for functionality (cake pans, but no mixing bowls?). A/C in all rooms worked great. The maids wash the towels in the unit washer and dryer, but they leave them in the dryer, so if you don't check, you don't know they are there! We used timeshare RCI points to stay, but it wasn't worth the points that we were charged.

Room Tip: Request a pool view condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
25
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've read the widely -and wildly- different reviews and must say that I had no serious complaints. Four of the six buildings are complete, but of the 160 completed units, only 15 or so were occupied, some presumably by owners. The AC worked, the daily maid service was satisfactory, there were no cockroaches or mosquitos, and we never felt ill at ease. Service from the reception desk was spotty when we called for assistance.
Work on the complex was clearly ceased some years ago with the economic crisis, but the building we were in was adequately maintained. The grounds are immaculate and the large pool area beautifully maintained every morning. It's a 4-block walk into town or to the beach.
If we were to return to Jaco, I'd have no reason not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the buildings, facing the pool area provide a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annandale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marque, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This place is at best a dump!!!! We had to have the AC in the master bedroom fixed 3 times. The bed is a 4" matress on wooden slats. The maid service wouldn't leave clean towels even though we asked for more towels 4 time in 5 days. There is only one tv per condo. the wi-fi that's advertised only works in the office and a little by the pool. The office is open 8-5 and if you need anything after 5 you out of luck til 8 the next morning. If you want to make a call out you can only do it with the office phone, you can't make local calls from your room. And finally, the so called spa is one person in an empty first floor condo with a massage table! Other than that the country is great.

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

First impression of this place was really good, it looks fancy and clean from the outside, but once you get into the buildings everything chances, cracks on the the walls, bad paint jobs, broken elevator buttons, and 4 out of 5 of the A/C's where broken as well.

The ONLY good thing about this place was de pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SocialD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was a disappointment. The unit itself was spacious, but very cheaply furnished. Large cockroaches spotted scurrying across the floor. Strong sewage smell coming from the dishwasher when opened. Reception desk was useless. No recommendations or information about the area provided. Everything about the place seemed bare-bones, excepting the pool. I can't figure out why this property received so many good reviews. Trust me, I'm not picky, and this place was a big letdown. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I just returned from our first visit to Costa Rica. We had a wonderful vacation and plan on return visits. Included in our great vacation was a 5 night stay at the Jaco Bay Condos by Ramada. Prior to our trip I did read some of the less than satisfying comments and reviews. After our first night I was wondering what the expectations were of these visitors. This is not the 4 Seasons or Maui Westin in Kaanapali.. It IS a very clean, secure and well managed complex in a lazy beach town on the edge of a rain forest in Central America.
I recommend a stay at this condo and Jaco Beach to anyone looking for a family-friendly, safe and adventure filled vacation. Incredibly reasonable..five stars and two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DaveC59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The complex is a work in progress. It seems like it was being built and someone ran out of money because two of the towers remain unfinished. The two towers that are unfinished are a bit of an eyesore and should be wrapped to cover the blight. There is no full time reception desk; The reception desk is located in one of the unfinished units. The rooms are very nice and clean, no complaints there. The pool was great. We did not experience any of the the power outages. I think you would be hard pressed to find a room with an ocean view. The ocean is at least a two block walk and is not that great. Jaco Beach also is not the best place in Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank docexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.6 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#33 of 41 in Jaco
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diamante del Sol
Diamante del Sol
#9 of 65 in Jaco
139 reviews
3.5 mi away
Forest Hills Suites
Forest Hills Suites
#3 of 29 in Jaco
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acqua Residences Jaco
Acqua Residences Jaco
#21 of 65 in Jaco
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Bay Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Bay Resort Condominium

Property: Jaco Bay Resort Condominium
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaco Bay Resort Condominium 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Jaco Bay Resort Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Bay Resort Condominium Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing