We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confirmed...avoid this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tropical Garden
Ranked #30 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed at this place during the rainy season. The place was completely flooded. Toilets would not flush. The septic system was backed up for days. There was standing water ankle deep throughout the property which more than likely was contaminated by the sewage from the backed up septic system. Absolutely disgusting. The lady who name was Veres would not do a thing about it and did not seem to care.

The owners of this place do not care about the workers nor the hotel. They surely do not care about the people staying there.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supaihiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2011

Things have gotten worse since the last review in 2008. We stayed on a Monday night so it was quiet and few people were present.

We're Oregonians living in Costa Rica and went to Jaco for the day as it's the nearest beach to us. This place was cheap but it's best to pay more and enjoy your time at the beach.

The foreign owner was rude to his workers and very scolding of a young man who was getting water from a sink on the side of the building.

I was shocked to hear that they would not provide any towels unless I gave a $10 deposit per towel! When I told him about my amazement his answer was "Well, you know this is Costa Rica." I saw this as a most demeaning ethnic slur. We've traveled all over Costa Rica and have never heard such nonsense. He reduced it to $6 per towel!

I had reserved the two-bedroom "suite." It was dingy with a sloppy kitchenette. The old refrigerator door did not close properly. I asked for another room and we settled for two rooms to accommodate five people. We wanted AC but he could only get us one with AC and the other had a ceiling fan. The kitchenette in one had small ants all over the sink and the refrigerator did not work though I plugged it in.

They advertise wi-fi in every room but there was none. I had to go to the small office to plug in our computer. It was uncomfortable and of course had no privacy. I was unable to recharge our computer as all outlets in our rooms were 2-pronged and I needed 3-prongs. This leads me to the electricity question.

The shower heads in both rooms had exposed electrical wires taped together with black tape. A sure electrocution danger that should not pass code anyplace. I advised my family not to use the shower as we would be home in a day.

It was curious to see the owner yelling to my wife and daughter not to stand under a palm tree because a coconut might fall on their head while he left electrical wires exposed in the shower.

The workers were all very nice.

Best to pay a little more and avoid this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Tropical Garden Hotel was the most expensive place we stayed at our entire trip. We were not expecting much, as it was one of the cheaper hotels in the area and we knew the cost was due to its location. However, we were expecting at least a clean and moderately comfortable room.

Check-in was difficult, as there was some confusion as to my pre-payment, and the parking was very tight. Our rooms were shabby and did not feel or look clean. Being down at the beach there was quite a bit of humidity and the single ceiling fan in our room was not enough to bring the temperature of the room down for a comfortable sleep. As if the loud band at the bar next door was not enough to keep us awake all night the screaming kids (at midnight or later!) and yelling parents or the howling dog would chime in periodically. It felt like we were smack-dab in the middle of a community fair rather than being in bed at 1am trying to get some rest for the next day.

The receptionist was very helpful when I called for directions, though, as it was down an alley way and very difficult to locate. The rooms were also as advertised: kitchen, large room, bathroom and individual porches with a small swinging chair although the pool was not something I would have ventured into. It was in close proximity to all the night life and beaches in Jaco. Many people looked like they lived in the rooms full time so the place gave a feeling of an apartment complex, but not a very nice one.

I'd recommend paying a bit extra and getting into the best western or some other decent hotel in the area instead of trying to save a buck or two.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alimariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTropicalGarden, Director de Recepción at Hotel Tropical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolootto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank mnelamarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: todas son parecidas alrededor de la piscina llevar toallas de piscina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTropicalGarden, Director de Recepción at Hotel Tropical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#20 of 40 in Jaco
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sports Bar and Hotel Oz
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tangeri Hotel
Tangeri Hotel
#14 of 40 in Jaco
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#6 of 40 in Jaco
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropical Garden

Address: Pastor Diaz St | Center of Jaco, Front of Comercial Center " Il Galeone", Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and quiete place in the center of Jaco Beach. Big lush gardens sorounding the pool. Private beach access. Kitchen equipped rooms. A/c, cable t.V, private terrase.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Garden Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing