We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Palm Hotel
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
usa tn 38451
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Checkin was easy. The hotel is located within a half a mile from the beach. There is a contruction site right next to the hotel they are working from 7:00 to 5:00 week-days I asked for a room on the other side of the hotel and got it. as I was the only guest for all but 2 of my 5 night stay. I was handed one towel and 2 keys one for the door and one for the in room safe. It was quiet for me but the security light came in the window above the door and filled the room every night. The hot water was a switch on the shower head the air conditioner made a loud roar when i checked it I found the window was loose and was making the noise packed some toliet paper in the edge and was much more quiet as I was coming back to the hotel the second night I was asked to pay again. I explainded that I had prepaid with Expedia that the night of checkin they found it, but now had lost the Expedia conformation so I emailed them another copy the third night they asked me for a 20 dollar deposit. There was a sign outside offering the same room I had for 29 dollars, 10 dollars less than I paid at Expedia. Not once in the five days did the room get cleaned. All in all not bad for the price in Jaco they did give me back the 20 when I checked out.

Room Tip: good place to eat about a block on the left Soda Garbado I think coffee 60 cents or 300 colones
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beestinger777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    29
    17
    14
    15
See reviews for
12
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Blue Palm Hotel is located perfectly to anyone traveling with a car, it has AC, TV nice reception and a pool.
No one to bug to but no need either, see wild Jaco a day or night and sleep at a safe close by place...

Room Tip: there are 2 types of rooms, take the bigger one for a large group or the smaller one for 2-3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

First room wasnt good : it smelt bad, it was noisy, just in front of some building work, and room wasnt clean enough for what we spent (80usd/night).
Recepcionist, Elvys, had been really kind and helpful and get us another room on day after.

Second room was bigger than first one and celing fan was quite better than a/c machine from first night (such noisy!!). Cleaner and clearer room, thats why we stayed : if we didnt get offered another room, we would have leave the hotel.

The hotel does not have restaurant and i didnt taste the pool.

It is 400 meters far from Jacó main street but need to take your car or taxi : i dont know how are other hotels in town, but i guess it's quite much expensive than other places in CR.

On my opinion, if you can shift Jacó as a place to stay, do it (crowdy and sick touristic city on west CR coast) : pick up some room in Playa Hermosa (5 minutes far from Jaco by car), which is far more worth of it!!

I wont recommend this hotel, but i wont recommend Jacó neither.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniElFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I are adventure travellers so we really don't care to much where we stay as long as we are well rested for the next day to enjoy our outdoor activities. We booked here thinking it could not be all that bad but really we should have looked elsewhere.

Upon checkin the front desk attendent was more interested in Facebook then us; fine, not a big deal. Upon entering the room we were hit with a bleach smell so strong I had to step back outside. We were then woken at by other people staying there having what sounded like a concert at 1,2,3, and 4; finally we just got up and left. We were suppose to stay two nights but left after one.

The one plus was we contacted the owner who gave us a full refund. A great hotel if you have no intention of sleeping though!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dcaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in early July 2012. Other guests were correct about the energy saver (the electricity turns off until you enter the room again-so don't use the fridge).
Pros: Ultra friendly and helpful staff (especially Susana!). Close to Jaco beach and all the restaurants/shops. A/C was a major perk since the heat index is high.
Cons: In person the hotel looks much more basic than the online photos and there is a construction site just meters away. It is off the main drag of Jaco, if you don't mind walking bit. But, you're on vacation to walk and explore, not to sit in your hotel room.
Overall- not the most posh place but if you're on a budget and just want a clean basic room this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moravia, san jose, costa rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

stayed 3 nights, left before the 4th one even though it was a free night..... hotel room large with kitchen : had no microwave, not enough cutlery for 3 people, and we had to give deposits for everything ( towels, cutlery, etc..), at this moment a huge construction site is next to the hotel, this creates alot of noise from trucks and heavy machinery you are trying to avoid when going on vacation, hotel management really needs a wake up call on the price charge against the service provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamorett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

If you are expecting an American beachy hotel you can forget it. This is Costa Rica and although the rooms are small, it was very safe and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much. The pool was the cleanest pool around and the grocery store is a five minute walk. Don't expect huge rooms with HDTVs. This is South America, not Florida.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#14 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palm Hotel

Property: Blue Palm Hotel
Address: 350 mts Este de la Pops Ice Cream Store, Jaco 75548, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Palm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Palms Hotel offers comfortable lodging at a reasonable price. New and fully equipped rooms. Clean, safe and friendly. All of our rooms are equipped with cable TV, a/c, private bathroom with hot water, comfortable beds, telephone, mini fridge and safe box. The hotel has a private pool on the back, security guard, parking, Wi-Fi for free, laundry service, tour desk at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palm Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing