We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”
Review of Beds on Bohio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beds on Bohio
Ranked #19 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Everything about beds on Bohio is great except the rooms and bathroom. The people who worked were really nice, they have a great little restaurant, you can rent boards from them for 10 bucks, and they have a nice hangout area. Although they cram the dorm rooms. We stayed in a tiny room with 6 people in it, and it was very hot. The bathroom was really gross and I didn't even use the shower because it looked bad. It is really close to the beach and it was a good place to stay for a couple nights even thought it was tight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed one night in a six bed dorm, and without a doubt the night was the worst one during my eight months trip. The hostel was full, and when we arrived in the evening the bathroom was very dirty. The guys who stayed in our room kept coming in and out for more booze throughout the night, and played some hide and seek switching on and off the lights after midnight without caring other people were already sleeping. The dorm room was very small, and the fan was on the floor and did not help the top beds where we slept. I´d say the only positive things about the hostel were its location and the restaurant at the front, which offered very good meals. We regretted not having booked a private room, which could have been a better option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmhuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just stayed here for the night. The dorms were alright, kind of dark and cramped but it worked for one night. Three or four dorm rooms shared one bathroom that was only stocked with four small rolls of toilet paper once a day. At nighttime there was no toilet paper, so bring some to be prepared. The kitchen was okay. Kind of dirty but it was being used by a lot of people so that's to be expected. There weren't a lot of seating areas. There was one area with hammocks that was used by the same people the entire time we were there. There are a couple of other tables but not located near any outlets, so trying to find somewhere to work on the computer was a bit harder.

Definitely a party hostel to go to. If you're into the scene, you'll probably like this place. Otherwise I suggest ear plugs!

Good location, just steps from the beach and close to many local restaurants, shops and coffee places.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hostel as supposed to be. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful stuff. Possibility to rent a surfboard and in downstairs is very nice Bürgermeister bar. Very style and safe place near to the beach and mání road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prudix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beds on Bohio was filled with a bunch of college kids and laid back surfers who stayed up late drinking and woke up early to hit the beach. I loved it but I happen to be a college kid who loves drinking... the dormitories were great, beds were slightly uncomfortable and the floors in the main areas were covered in sand, but what would you expect when you're a block away from the beach? The hammocks were awesome to hang out in and the kitchen was functional. The staff were great and the burgers were delicious.

I loved my time spent in Jacó. But if you're looking for a cultural experience, you won't find it. It's filled with ex-pats and tourists that are there to hit the beach, surf, and party.

Room Tip: Dormitories are where the parties are. If you're looking for a quiet time, book a room. Air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanbanvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Beds on Bohio is your home in Jacó! The location is amazing, only 1 block away from the ocean, Papas and Burgers restaurant is part of the hostel (amazing burgers and smoothies, get the Johnny Cash Burger and The Hangover Elixer). It is centrally located in Jacó so there are many bars, restaurants and shops within a 5 minute walk from the hostel. The owners, Chris and Claudio, are beyond welcoming and helpful along with the entire staff. I felt at home staying there and made amazing friends while having my adventures in Jacó and at Beds on Bohio. The private rooms are great spacious and clean and come with your own little outdoor patio. You can relax on the hammocks outdoor while plugging in your own music, the space has great energy and good chill vibes!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The dorms are nothing classy but it's the only thing that's keeping this hostel from being perfect.

It wasn't in the Lonely Planet so I almost went to the Han next door, but a guy I met on the ferry told me to go there instead. The facilities are clean, there's tons on hammacks in the back yard, it's a 1-minute walk from the beach, they rent surfboards, they're close to the cool restaurants (try the taco bar, delicious and original with it's all-you-can-eat salad bar and it's swings around the bar) and the bars.

And the staff is gold. We went out with them both nights we were there and had a blast. As a woman travelling alone, I wasn't too sure about staying in Jaco (I had read it was hardcore partying and prostitution) but it was great and I even stayed one more night because I was having so much fun. If you're lucky, you'll have Roxy, the hostel's greyhound following you around for hugs and kisses :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanouck89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0 mi away
Cabinas Gaby
Cabinas Gaby
#24 of 40 in Jaco
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#29 of 40 in Jaco
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riva Hostel Jaco
Riva Hostel Jaco
#10 of 68 in Jaco
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
0.1 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
1.1 mi away
Casajungla Hostel
Casajungla Hostel
#14 of 68 in Jaco
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds on Bohio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds on Bohio

Address: Calle Bohio | Next to Swell Bar, Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jaco
Price Range: £7 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds on Bohio is certainly one of the best hostels in Jaco with a perfect location in the center of Jaco and only 50 meters from the beach! It's a happening scene that also includes a restaurant with the best burgers in Costa Rica: Papas & Burgers. There are four dorm-style rooms, a beautiful garden and it's just a cool place to chill out and meet cool people from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Beds on Bohio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds On Bohio Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing