We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway for fishing with good friends”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Jaco, Jaco District, Garabito Municipality, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MADPORT
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for fishing with good friends”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a perfect rental home for what we were looking for. Worked everything directly with Jim U the owner and never had a single hiccup. Jim made sure we had everything we might need ahead of the trip and stayed I touch leading up to the arrival date. Jim met us when we arrived, went over all the aspects of the home and turned over the keys until we left 7 days later. I would absolutely recommend his optional chef(Carlos) and house keeping services, it really made the leisure time that much more relaxing. The view and access to the ocean is amazing and I've never been in such a great swimming ocean, very cool waves but not dangerous. Ps. the fishing was also incredible, 48 sailfish!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, big, clean, great layout and location
Liked least: Jaco is not the cleanest, best place to take family/kids, which we didn't.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your amazing review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scooperbo...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great house, great beach, great fun!”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was an amazing house to rent for our trip with two families. The owner, Jim, contacted us before we left to see if he could help us organize activities and to help book our excursions. Once we arrived, the house exceeded our expectations and was beautiful. Amazing beach access, nice amenities, great pool, and Carlos and Milena were wonderful people. We'd love to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests !
Hope to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregw1988
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Home-Highly recommend for any occassion”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such an amazing home. Comes with absolutely everything you could ask for in a rental home. Highly Recommend!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark3467
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good times for all at Casa Rio Mar!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Jaco and Casa Rio Mar exceeded my expectations- Our host Jim and his staff made us feel right at home. Great for kids, teens and adults of all ages. The location can't be beat!!!! Will definitely be back in years to come!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Carlos.
Liked least: Couch downstairs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana...
louisiana
1 review
“Great house in great location”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My wife and I traveled with another couple to Casa Rio Mar. We had a great time from start to finish. Mark and Carlos had the house ready for us on our arrival. The house is very well maintained and clean. Carlos is an excellent chef and I highly recommend him. He cooks and does light housekeeping. The grounds and pool area are great. The beach is really nice and would be a great place to take young kids which we will do when we return. There is a nice outdoor bar just south of the house which we visited a few times. Casa Rio Mar is apparently a very well known property in Jaco as none of the numerous cab drivers we used during our stay ever asked for directions. They all knew where it was. Every ride to and from the house to Jaco was $4.00 total or less for the 4 of us. We felt very secure during our stay as there was a guard stationed off to the side of the house during the entirety of our time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and Carlos
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambulatri...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Jaco Beach House that's great for families”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We were a group of 4 children ages 5-9 and 4 adults (2 couples), this house was perfect for us in terms of layout and amenities. Here I'll extol the virtues of this house as a family accommodation even though I can see its value as an adult party house, too (and I understand it is often rented for that purpose). It is sensibly designed for its location and climate, with an upper and lower front porch that have deep overhangs (about 8 feet) to shelter you from the intense midwinter sun. It was possible to sit on these decks on a 100 degree (F) day, while gazing at the surf, and feel comfortable. The pool, while small, is a great place to cool off and especially good for young children who don't swim well, as you can keep an eye on them. The backyard is completely fenced in and shaded, and would be a nice place to let toddlers run around, although we didn't have any children that age.

A washer and two (!) dryers allow you to keep towels and laundry moving so that you always have the fresh supply you'll need if you're going to take advantage of the many fun activities on offer in the area.

Carlos, the chef employed by the company that manages the property, and his wife Milena cooked delicious meals for us while we stayed here - breakfast and dinner. He would probably cook lunch as well but we did not ask for that.

There is wireless in the house, and although the signal is not super strong it was enough to support the 3 adults in the group on laptops who (sadly) had to check in on work periodically.

Another advantage of the house is its location within Jaco. While Jaco is a busy, commercial town full of tourists and expats (as well as native Costa Ricans), with a bustling nightlife and many restaurants, you don't need to be affected by its rowdier aspects while staying at Rio Mar because the house is located on the quieter, low-rise southern end of the beach. It is within walking distance to good surfing instruction (Surfer Factory) and right on the beach, so you can walk directly into the waves from your door.

Advice on local transport: It is easy to rent a car in Jaco as there are several rental companies, we chose not to, however, because for longer excursions TJ transfers (the company recommended by the property manager of Rio Mar) was always available and tour companies also offer transportation as part of packages. However, I *would* recommend renting a couple of bicycles with baskets, as it can be strenuous to walk into town for groceries and taxis are not always easy to find.

Now, a bit about Jaco as a destination for families. If you've read about Jaco as a haven for partygoers, it probably is, but the area also has a lot to offer families. If you are staying on the southern end of Jaco beach you can enjoy a tranquil vacation while still having access to good supermarkets, and excellent ceviche shop and some good bakeries, all likely the result of Jaco being densely populated with expats and immigrants. Because of its location on the Costanera highway it's also easy to get from Jaco to some of the calmer and more picturesque towns that lie to the south, such as Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, overall design and layout of the house
Liked least: finishes were a little shabby and worn; bikes and a few more pool toys would have been nice
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing