We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Hills Suites
Ranked #4 of 28 Jaco B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

First of all, I have a confession...we booked Forest Hills as a stop off to break up our journey from Arenal to the South of Costa Rica. So we had relatively low expectations, more of just a place to lay our heads and have a break from driving. Little did we know, that it would become a highlight of our trip!

After getting lost when trying to find the hotel, we called Erica for help, and she came to meet us just off the main road. From that moment on, she made our stay fantastic. The property itself, is a wonderful, almost Spanish looking villa, with six well appointed rooms, and a shared living space where you can utilize the kitchen or living room. You basically make yourselves feel at home.

Due to the fact that it's a small boutique hotel, it's easy to get to know the other guests, either at breakfast, by the pool, or in the evenings over a cocktail. With Erica acting as the 'social glue', people are soon chatting and sharing stories. We enjoyed the conversation and company so much, we skipped on going out for dinner, and Erica drove us to get take out to bring home. If you get the chance, you should do the same, amazing local food which is quick to pick-up and very cheap.

The following morning we had the pool to ourselves, so we sat around drinking coffee, eating the delicious fruit that was provided and having a swim. In fact, we ended up leaving later than we planned as it was hard to let go!

We decided to stay at Forest HIlls for one extra night later in the vacation, once again, a fantastic experience. This time, the room we were given was even better - the 'Presidential Suite' - which is hard to justify in words. A private staircase, up to a large bedroom with a domed ceiling above the bed, and a little veranda over looking the swimming pool. In addition, a massive bathroom, with a small set of stairs leading up to a deep bath tub. Amazing.

Forest Hills Suites is certainly a great place to spend a few days, especially if you want to use it as a base camp to explore Manuel Antonio, or many of the excellent nearby excursions.

Pros:

- wonderful service and an excellent host who make the stay special.
- a simple breakfast, which is self serve, or the use of a very fine kitchen if you wish to cook.
- not too far from the main highway, but far enough away to feel remote.
- a beautiful building with great rooms and wonderful facilities.

Cons:

- none that I can think of.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_Boz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Wow! What a review! thank you so much for taking the time to review our property in such detail. Our guests adore the Presidential suite, and we are so pleased that you loved the domed ceiling and private veranda too. Erika's passion is making sure that our guests are happy, so it;s great that you enjoyed her company so much. It would be a great pleasure to host you again if you ever return to Costa Rica. Enjoy Chicago in the meantime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Forest Hills Suites was an unbelievable find in the midst of a neighborhood, just a short ride to the beach. There is a supermarket nearby so that you may cook your own meals if you so choose, but there are excellent restaurants in the area too. It is a beautiful property that feels like shear luxury and you will feel fully relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, General Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving us 5 stars. We are so pleased that you found the property to be relaxing and luxurious. It was such a pleasure to host you, and we hope to see you again! Enjoy Phoenix in the meantime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Door County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our family went with two other families for a week. All of us (12) had a wonderful time. Erika and the staff helped us with whatever we needed. The house is beautiful with plenty of room. We spent the first two days just relaxing in the pool and it was amazing! Can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you took some time to relax in the serene beauty of the pool and gardens, and that you felt you had plenty of space. It would be a pleasure to host you again. Please do let us know if you're ever in the Jaco area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, RI
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I took a quick 5 day trip to Costa Rica. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Forest Hill suites or "Casa Grande" as the locals call it. It was very clean, intimate, laid back and in a relaxing, quiet location but still a quick drive to town. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyannjones80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, Public Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. Please do let us know if you're ever in the Jaco area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It's a lovely mansion designed by some architect 15 years ago. the owner decides to share this true Costa Rican experience with travellers from around the world. This mansion has 5 bedrooms in total and a beautiful garden that has probably more wild life than you could have seen at Monteverde ( quit mediocre from my point of view). The property is peaceful enough for birds and butterflies.

It has fruits at the kitchen all the time. Morning breakfast is nothing lavish but home-made style. You will feel like home.

All you need is try it out as I personally think any pictures of this house will not give you the true image of what it looks like, and more importantly how you will feel like when you actually live there.

Stay 2 nights at least. Spend an afternoon just to explore this beautiful mansion. Grab a book and enjoy the living area. This is a place for meditation and a sense of inner peace.

Will definitely visit again!!!

Room Tip: choose the master bedroom. You will not regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, Public Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We're so happy that you found inner peace here at Forest Hills Suites, and that you enjoyed the local wildlife and our beautiful gardens. Your suggestion to "grab a book and enjoy the living area" is a great one.

Please do let us know if you're ever in the Jaco area again! We would love to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stopped to the Forest Hills and Suite hotel on our trip from San Jose to Manuel Antonio. This hotel is within 5 minutes from Herradura Beach and a 10 minutes drive from Jaco. We had the Presidential suite, it was just perfect. The most comfortable bed of our trip to Costa Rica. Breakfast is simple but good. You can also share the kitchen if you want to keep food in the refrigerator. The place was very quiet since there was nobody else in the hotel during our stay.

We were recommended delicious restaurants in Jaco for dinner and Playa Hermosa for lunch. Thanks!! You made our stay even more amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, Public Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Maryse,

Thank you so much for your beautiful photos and kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed the President suite. It is a guest favorite. Please do let us know if you are ever in the area again. We would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

An hour away from San Jose airport. Stayed here with 3 friends, four of us in total. It's a beautiful estate/villa. Bedroom was enough space for all four of us. Bathroom with his and hers sinks and large shower. Only a 10 min ride into town and beach. The locals were very nice and I never felt in easy or unsafe (great feeling especially since I live in NYC). Only thing make sure to buy groceries for breakfast as the hotel does not serve a real breakfast as they serve fruit and toast. Over all great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keikeilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and for giving us 4 stars!
We're so glad you enjoyed your spacious suite and the relaxing gardens of the estate. Please do let us know if you're ever in the Jaco area and in the mood to relax. It would be a pleasure to host you! Enjoy San Diego in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
551 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 41 in Jaco
101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
2.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hills Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills Suites

Property: Forest Hills Suites
Address: Herradura, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Hills Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush green mountains and minutes from the beach, this private seven-acre estate has a pool, landscaped gardens, and a mansion with five luxury suites that include full-time concierge service and daily complimentary breakfast. We invite you to step into paradise and relax in luxury. Enjoy the hospitality of your own private concierge hosted adventures while hiding out in this opulent estate. You will find this five-suite, one-of-a kind boutique hotel equipped with all the first class amenities that will create delightful memories. Each suite has a large-screen TV and Wi-Fi access, so you can always be in touch with the world you left behind. After a day of adventure or doing nothing at all, perhaps you'd like to unwind with a soothing massage by the pool? Your private concierge is there to arrange your dream trip, and all you need to do is ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Forest Hills Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hills Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing