We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 45th Anniversary - Fishing Trip”

Reel Intense Adventures - La Vida Sportfishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2013 IGFA OFFSHORE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP 1st place TOP BOAT, Captain and Mate! Experience world-class sportfishing adventures out of Los Suenos marina, aboard EPIC, our 33' custom L&H walkaround. fully rigged for safe and successful days on the water. twin 330 hp cummins turbo diesels , 27 kt cruise. professional quality shimano tackle and gear, state of the art electronics, great stereo, generator, Air-conditoning , microwave, good seating and shade, fighting chairs, good lunches, and plenty of ice cold drinks, Incredible fishing, inshore and offshore for sailfish, marlin, tunas, roosterfish and more! snorkeling, spearfishing, and customized trips available. Friendly, energetic, professional crew, American captain owned and operated! I cater to experienced anglers who want to get involved with a hands-on experience, but welcome anglers of all skill levels, and enjoy introducing first times to the experience of sportfishing. I strive to provide an safe, unique, memorable experience and make memories which will last a lifetime!
Charlottesville, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome 45th Anniversary - Fishing Trip”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have been remiss in submitting a review since our trip with MJ and Randall was in January of this year. My wife and I visited Costa Rica for the first time to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Neither of us are fishermen, nor had we ever caught a bill fish before. Imagine how thrilled we were to land the first, and then release 32 more sailfish! And this, during just a day and a half on the water.

Captain MJ is a true professional, and wants nothing more than his clients to catch fish. He could sense where the fish were and when they were hooked and fighting, he skillfully maneuvered the EPIC to protect the catch. Randall, a bundle of energy, and most personable, kept us entertained with his excellent management of the equipment. He schooled us in the basics from baiting to landing the big ones.

Even though we fished during the annual billfish tournament, we never felt intimidated by others, and actually we caught more than some of the competitors!

As soon as we arrived home, we started to plan for our next trip and will be in touch with MJ for fishing next year, for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome experience at 2013 Offshore World Championship”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were lucky enough to have this boat and crew on the last day of the 2013 Offshore World Championship. Mike and Randall didn't disappoint ?We ended the day with a very creditable 10 sailfish releases including a QUAD hookup with all four fish boated. Unbelievable !
Epic won the trophy for the highest scoring boat at the competition and due the the teams efforts we finished a very creditable 8th out of the 65 teams.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pictonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Boat and Crew”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have fished a lot of charter boats at home and around the world and Captain Mike and Randall are top notch. We caught 10 sails (out of about 20 raised) and a dolphin (mahi) and missed a blue marlin on the left long, with us hooking all of our own fish. Randall worked hard all day and taught my wife to hook sails on circle hooks on her 3rd try. Lunch (really good pasta), snacks, drinks and beer were included. Randall also made sushi out of some of the dolphin, which was phenomenal. Awesome captain and crew, we will definitely charter them next time we are in Coast Rica.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fishing Charter”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Mike and Randall are the best captain and mate in the Costa Rican oceans. We caught at least 8 sailfish and a really nice 95 pound yellowfin tuna. These guys have to be the best team out there. Thank you mike and we'll definitely recommend you anytime. Randall has to be the best first mate. He was so awesome. We saw some whales, 10 turtles, sharks and hundreds of porpoises. Thanks again for a great trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roosterfishing in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My friends & I spent a fabulous day of fishing with Captain Mike and Randall on the Epic out of the Los Suenos Resort Marina. Early on the trip, Mike alerted us that the whales were in migration and we took a slight detour to watch the Pilot whales lead a school of Humpbacks through the Pacific waters and that alone was an awesome sight. After my friends landed several Amberjack, a beautiful Snapper, and other terrific catches, I told Mike that I really wanted to catch a Roosterfish. After a short cruise around the waters off Costa Rica, I was on one end of the rod and reel with a real fighter on the other end. Once we brought the Roosterfish on board, Randall measured him at 64", we took photos of the monster and then released him for another day. It was a great trip and I would highly recommend them for the best fishing experience in Costa Rica.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrandonMark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reel Intense Adventures - La Vida Sportfishing also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Reel Intense Adventures - La Vida Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing