We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Jacó, Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Perico Azul
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Best hotel in Jacó, Costa Rica”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Me and my girlfriend were supposed to stay at Hotel Perico Azul for 3 nights, we ended up staying there for 2 weeks.

The environment is perfect. It is calm and relaxed and you get to meet a lot of nice people that are travelling. The rooms are clean and nice and you can decide by yourself if you want to have a small kitchen in them or not. Outside the rooms, you have a small area with a pool and a sofa where you can hang out during the days when you're not at the beach, which is great. They also have a big kitchen that you can use that is fully equiped.

Perico Azul is located 3 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the Jacó town, which is great because you don't hear the noise from the bars at night but you still don't have to take a cab.

They also have a surf school at the hotel, called Tortuga Surf School. I surfed with the school almost everyday, which was one of the best experiences of my life, The school can honestly teach anyone how to surf, it doesn't matter how old you are or in what phisical condition you're in. You can have classes with them or only rent boards. If you want to learn how to surf or improve your surfing skills I strongly recomend the Tortuga Surf school.

Last I just want to say that the staff at Hotel Perico Azul/Tortuga Surf is awesome. There are mainly 3 people working there: Celine, Mike and Doggy. They helped us out with everything and they're wonderful people with big hearts.

If anyone is going to Jacó, Costa Rica you HAVE to stay at the Perico Azul and try out the surf school because it's the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
72
61
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I think it is one of the best hotels in Central America - familiar, comfortable and with relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are a bit small but it is definitely worth to stay there. The owners are extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berta2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently had the great pleasure of staying at Perico Azul. From the beginning to the end everything exceeded our expectations.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. You can get a room with or without a kitchen. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the center of town and a block away from the beach.

The couple that run the hotel, Celine and Mike are extremely accommodating and friendly. The hotel and its staff have a very personal vibe. It has a nice pool and a communal Kitchen that everyone has access to as well as a seating area with a hammock where a lot of guests like to hang out. It has a laid back atmosphere so if you are looking to party all day and night this is probably not your place. But if you are really looking to experience Costa Rica the right way Perico Azul is the way to go.

When we arrived we had only planned on staying at Perico Azul for 3 days and we were only supposed to stay in Costa Rica for 1 week. We ended up staying fin Costa for two weeks and staying at Perico Azul the whole time.

Mike and Celine make it such a special experience for everyone who stays there. They go above and beyond to make everyone's stay unique. They took us on hikes, zip lining, to different surf beaches, on little adventures, they took us to the best places to see sunsets, they had advice on what restaurants to go to and where to go for various activities. They even allowed us to participate in rescuing some turtle eggs and taking them to a shelter. Mike also runs the surf camp there and is an incredible teacher.

We literally had the time of our lives and our experience would not have been the same if it were not for Mike, Celine and Perico Azul. You aren't just a room number and a credit card like you are at a big resort when youre at Perico. It feels like you are staying with family.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone that I could. You will never regret staying there!!! If you really want to experience all that Costa Rica has to offer , without a shadow of a doubt, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelin2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Although a lot of the guests here are attending the surfing camp, Tortuga Surf, this place still works out just fine if you only want a hotel. We stayed one night and it covers all of the basics. Simple but pleasant and sufficient rooms with parking. Small pool and lots of sun space for drying out bathing suits. Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful, even with a short notice reservation. We also took a surfing lesson with Mike who was awesome. I recommend this place for young vacationers who want to be thrifty but still want to stay above the 'hostel' scene. No included breakfast but there was coffee, and the town isn't far and the hotel has a little communal kitchen if you need a fridge or a microwave.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxredsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The rooms were clean with private bathrooms. We cooked breakfast twice and dinner once in the community kitchen. Fully equipped kitchen, but no microwave or spatula. Nice, clean pool, but it closes at 7. Quiet time begins at 10, so if you're going in a big group that's going to party, maybe consider somewhere else. You can come in later than 10, you just need to be fairly quiet. 5 minute walk to the beach, 15 minute walk to the center of the city. Good location and service for the price. The staff is awesome and bilingual.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmapkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

If you are looking for a chilled out, friendly and fun place to stay in
Jaco, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be. The beach is just around the
corner, you get excellent surf advise by the staff and boards of the surf
school are available right at the beach everyday (even early(!) in the
morning). Although we initially didn't even plan to go to Jaco, my sister
and I stayed the longest time of our trip at this great spot.

Doooooo it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepy_dj_and_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great time from start to finish we were here for 4 days. Mike the surf instructor for tortuga surf school (tortugsurfcamp.com) was an amazing host as well as a kick butt teacher on the waves. Thanks again to both Mike and his partner Duggie. Celine (owner) was full of information and hospitality. She helped us with mapping out our trip from Jaco to Nosara.

In a nut shell this an amazing hostel/hotel it is a short walk to the beach and downtown Jaco. With a communal kitchen and common area to hang with the cool people you will meet. A perfect place to stay. It is clean, comfortable, and is where I will be staying when I go back!!! I can't say enough good thinks about Hotel Perico Azul!!!

THANKS SO MUCH FOR MAKING OUR TIME HERE AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triprizzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 41 in Jaco
439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Property: Hotel Perico Azul
Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perico Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing