We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Place”
Review of Posada Jaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Jaco
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in Feb for 3 nights on our first trip to CR. It was an easy drive from the San Jose airport. The hotel was easy to find. It is an easy walk to the beach. The hotel felt very secure. The rooms were nice and clean and as described. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. It was easy walking to restaurants. There is a bar on the corner that was playing very loud music on Friday night that we could hear from our room. We didn't hear it the other nights. It did quiet down by midnight though. We stayed in 2 rooms while here. We made the mistake of leaving our a/c on all day as we do here in the States and it had froze up and didn't work when we returned for the evening. We waited and relaxed out in the courtyard for about 30 min but it still didn't work. Rob very kindly moved us to another room with working a/c and we turned the a/c off while not in the room for the duration of the trip. Overall at great stay. The owner's are very friendly as was the other gentleman working there (can't remember his name). We ran into him down the street looking for a place to eat. He recognized us and gave a suggestion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We purchased one of Posada Jaco's packages. Our arrival was delayed by 10 hours, but our transport was there waiting for us. Rudy (our driver) accomodated us and and introduced us to Costa Rica on our 90 minute drive from San Jose to Jaco. Marg was there to great us and help us find some food before bed. In the morning, we talked with Rob and Marg and planned our stay. We were within walking distance to beach, restaurants, spas, and shops. Most other attractions were a very short drive. Accomodations were as pictured and the owners were able to supply items we needed to borrow (coozies, cooler, umbrellas, etc). Rob, Marg, and Moe (our walking buddy most mornings) helped us feel extremely comfortable away from home. The Wifi let us 'Facetime' with our family in the states. We left Jaco excited to bring our kids to meet our new friends at Posada Jaco.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret S, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I hope your children do not get to jealous of everything you did and maybe we may see you down here with them in the future. PS Moe does miss his morning walks with you.
Rob and Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel was well situated, close to shops, bars and the beach. The rooms were spacious and clean, with full kitchen facilities. Laundry was available for a fee which was returned very quickly. The owners were friendly and extremely helpful. The pool was a great size. I highly recommend this hotel for a chilled and hassle-free holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret S, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

So good of you to write about us. I hope the rest of your trip goes well with no more health problems and you arrive home safe and sound. If we ever get to London we will definitely call in for some of the best Fish and Chips in England.
Rob and Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I really liked being right near the beach and the price was fantastic. The only complaint I had was that it was very noisy. It is down the street from a bar that likes to play loud music. They did have it turned down by midnight but I am an early to bed, early to rise person. The hotel was clean and the rooms are large. It is great for the younger crowd. I was very happy that the hotel management helped us arrange our zip line trip and the river cruise. That was very helpful and both excursions went very smoothly.

Room Tip: There is a pool, but no spa or restaurant. It is very basic. I think the second floor is the best c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Had the best stay, owners super helpful, clean spacious rooms with working aircon!
Pool is clean and massive bbq area and seating.
Really close to beach and right in the middle of town.
So happy there!
Thanks for the Vegemite, saviour haha

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My family arrived in Jaco, and had originally booked other arrangements which did not work out. We drove around and found Posada Jaco. We were very pleased with the location, price and care takers.
Robert, Margret, and Moe (the dog) were soooo accommodating. What ever we needed they were there. It was clean, had hot water, and A/C which was a necessity. It also had security. Gated and security patrolled in the evening, which made us feel secure. You could see the beach from or balcony and it was a 5 min. walk. The pool was great. It was refreshing and nice to have after a day at the beach. We had the river next to us that had many birds, iguana, and horses enjoying the water. The strip was a 2 min. walk which was great. No noise at night. I can say only exceptional things about Posada Jaco. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family who may venture to Jaco.
One more thing, Moe was the best meeter, greeter as you entered the hotel. He was a happy dog. If I were a dog that is where I would live.
So, in a nutshell, Posada Jaco made our first experience in Costa Rica a memorable one. Much thanks to Robert, Margret and Moe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkn1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada_Jaco, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thankyou very much for your recommendation for our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in this lovely country. You are right about Moe he really does love living here.

Thankyou for staying with us and for your great review

Marg, Rob and Moe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Staying at Posada Jaco was the best choice we made for our Jaco Vacation. The atmosphere they have created is perfect for couples. They had everything we could ask for on a vacation, wifi, air conditioning, surfboards and a great staff. The room we stayed in was amazing, it had a huge bed and was very clean. Our favorite part was just relaxing by the pool. During our stay we got to know the owners and even had dinner with them one night, they are very hospitable and kind. If you want have a relaxing time and be surrounded by good people i would go to Posada Jaco. If i return i will definitely be staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada_Jaco, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thankou very much for your review David. We are happy that you enjoyed the room and the pool. We have some rooms which are set aside for couples and we are glad we could accommodate you and Danni. We hope to see you again when you are next in Jaco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Green
Hotel Green
#21 of 40 in Jaco
61 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#6 of 40 in Jaco
102 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
0 mi away
Cabinas Gaby
Cabinas Gaby
#24 of 40 in Jaco
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Jaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Jaco

Address: Calle PJs, Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £11 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in the heart of Jaco. Beach and ocean views. Walk to restaurants and bars. Swimming pool with swim up bar. All rooms come with kitchenettes. 24 hour security. Very quiet and private. Able to offer tours and special packages. Owner operated and run. 60 meters to the beach. Personalized service and friendly advice to make your stay memorable is guaranteed. 24 hour reception for convenience of guests in booking in or out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Posada Jaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Jaco Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing