We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for families !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Casino Amapola
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Althouth our main concern was to have a really good and safe pool for our young girls 5 & 2, we also made the decision to stay here based on price and location.

This hotel is just a little bit outside the main street in Jaco, thus making tranquility a certainty. We found the hotel very quiet at nights, and our door was on the pool, yet night swimmers never disturbed us.
The childrens pool is safe and there's a swim up bar for snacks etc within it. Would recommend a ground floor room with young kids.

We found the hotel staff very helpful and friendly, and the hotel overall very attractive and small enough to get around without walking a kilometer.

We went out and about for lunch and dinner, however the breakfast was very good. It is an extra $10 for each child under 6 for breakfast.

pm me if you have any other questions, enjoy your stay in Jaco !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dood456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Casino Amapola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is clean and have what you need. Is not at the beach but has a good pool, personal friendly and good safe parking. Rooms a little old but well maintain.
The location is good, excellent to pass by on a fair price

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscartico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked this hotel through a deal site promising 3.5 stars - COMPLETELY misleading. The hotel grounds are decent, but our room was terrible: to start, the room was tiny and outdated, the bathroom moldy, the shower doors barely worked and the sink was detached from the wall balancing precariously on its pedestal. The bed was uncomfortable, the AC quit at one point and to top it off we saw a roach in the room as we checked out.

The service was okay - we were pleasantly surprised when we were able to check in early, but disappointed to have not been asked whether or not we wanted the key to the safe. We were also told breakfast was included in the room rate, only to find out after we were seated in the restaurant that it was only for the two adults.

Can't say I'd rate it 3.5 stars or recommend it to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 303Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and 2 nights. It is a really nice hotel, rooms are clean and nice, and the pool is great. My room was right next to it so my son really enjoyed it. It has a playground, a gym and it is pet friendly (perfect!!). It does not have direct access to the beach, however it is very close, you can walk.

Although the fridge was rusty and there was a funny smell in the parking lot, the experience was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We went to this hotel at the end of our Nicaragua/Costa Rica trip in May 2013.
That was to spend good time in a good place.
The room was really nice, just besides the pools and the jacuzzi (not the best jacuzzi of the world).
The hotel is just after a curve on the main road (few minutes on foot) so it is quite and better cause the main road is really crowded.
We made massages (not so expensive cause 40$ for 2 for 1 hour) and that was goooooood.
The breakfast is continental, typical (the best) or american.
We did not diner at the hotel. I recommend the first on the right just after the curve when you go to the main street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheConfidential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We ended up at this hotel when our first choice had an issue and we had to move.

We arrived mid afternoon after a long bus trip from the Sarapiqui and were very tired. Our first room had a lot of mildew and the toilet did not work. The second room is much better but the shower head needs to be replaced. Both rooms smell musty...probably nothing that can be done about this with all the humidity.

We decided to have lunch at the hotel restaurant since my daughter and I were starved. We were the only people in the restaurant and yet, the waiter was so unattentive, I had to get my own water. After he finally took the order and delivered the food, we did not see him again until we stood up to leave. Then of course he was there with the check. I told him that he were my employee, I would fire him. Inspite of the language barrier, he clearly understood.

In the evening, we decided to go swimming since it was so hot. The pool is clearly in need of repair. The ladder is not attached properly. There were hundreds of missing tiles in the pool bottom and sides.

The upside of the stay was the waiter at breakfast this morning. He was very attentive and a very kind elderly gentleman. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klkerr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Don't say I didn't warn you. This place was the horrible but we had no choice because all the nice places had no vacancies. The room smelled of urine and very musty. There was no wash cloths and towels in the rooms and was given crappy pool towels. Breakfast was pretty good but I would never go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursenatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 41 in Jaco
107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#19 of 41 in Jaco
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#21 of 41 in Jaco
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#30 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Casino Amapola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casino Amapola

Address: | 200 East Municipality of Garabito, Jaco 61110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £75 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Casino Amapola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is perfect por families and also for business. We have conference center, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis under roof. The wi-fi sistem is free for all the guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Casino Amapola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Amapola
Amapola Hotel Jaco
Hotel & Casino Amapola Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing