We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better view of Costa Rica”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No better view of Costa Rica”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of being able to have dinner while watching the sunset from the gorgeous hotel. We walked around the property, which is amazing to say the least. The infinity pool is like nothing we've seen and the amphitheater built into the hillside was spectacular. Even the iguana hanging around seemed to really enjoy the view! We would love to be able to stay there if we ever return to Costa Rica again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, Front Office Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your dinner with us at our Amphitheater Restaurant. As you mentioned, the view from here is just amazing and staff does it best to give our visitors the best service we can. We hope you will visit us again soon and stay with us for the night so you can enjoy the whole magic of Villa Caletas. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    222
    93
    62
    27
See reviews for
204
769
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Villa Caletas. We stayed there for three nights in the Superior Suite. Our hotel room had its own plunge pool and beautiful views.

The first morning we took the hike down to the beach. It was pretty steep and long but we were able to see monkeys, birds, insects, and native plants. Being from Florida, we were not too interested in staying on the beach but the hotel does provide chairs, a jacuzzi, and a bar on the beach. Honestly, the pool is so beautiful that I do not even know why you would want to be on the beach. If you do want to spend your days on the beach then this may not be the best hotel for you.

The concierge also helped us book a Waterfall excursion. We had an incredible time climbing, swimming and jumping off waterfalls. I would really recommend asking them about an excursion. We left at 7:00AM and were back by 11:00 to enjoy our day at the pool.

We were also fortunate enough to go to the spa for a deep tissue massage. The spa was just as beautiful as the rest of the hotel.

The food and the service at Villa Caletas was wonderful. Everyone was attentive and helpful. Lastly, we ate every meal at Villa Caletas and enjoyed every one of them.

We cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your warm review. We are happy to know that your honeymoon was the way you wanted to be and that you had that dream moment you wanted so much. We hope to see you back with us soon !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I arrived at night so we couldn't see the hotel or the view, but the next morning we were in awe. The wildlife was everywhere, the staff was very helpful, the food was delicious and the pool was absolutely fantastic. This was definitely somewhere we will come back to. It was a little pricey but for views like that, we think it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We are gald to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us ! We are looking forward for your next visit to the hotel. Have a great day. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We attended a family wedding and experienced 5 Star Service in a breath taking scenic setting. The views were spectacular from any location of the property. Staff was sincerely congenial and genuinely happy to serve you. The boutique aspect of a small luxurious resort offers a personalized experience. Aesthetic Room decor includes special features that pamper the guest. A private beach offered adventure, fun and sun. We loved Villa Caletas!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear friend, thank you so much for your warm review. Weddings are magical moments, we are so happy to know that you and family will bring back home such wonderful memories. We hope to see you all back soon with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

On our third visit to Costa Rica we decided to go back to the Villa Caletas in January 2014 for the unparalleled views from every room and delicious food. We can leave Florida at noon and be there for sunset. This makes for a very easy stress free travel day. The hotel takes care of the transportation from the airport in style and their tours use knowledgeable local "Ticos" who can take you to the best fishing spot or teach you to surf on a beach with a perfect set of waves. This trip there were two weddings going on and so we were upgraded to a master suite. It is basically a house surrounded by a garden with a private pool. The toucans flew in every morning and hung out in the trees. It was like living in the garden of Eden. We received a second upgrade to something even more amazing. I have stayed at a high end hotel in Paris but this was well beyond that.

Room Tip: Master or Junior superior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very for your nice review ! As you have find out, our staff will do its best so each and every of your visit will make you feel like being at home ! We look forward for your next trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida ! Manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I found Villa Caletas by chance. We did not have reservations for the night and saw the sign on the side of the road. We drove up the mountain to find the perfect setting to end our two week vacation in Costa Rica. The property and grounds are absolutely exquisite! My husband made the comment that if any view ever deserved an infinity pool, it was that one! The staff could not have been more attentive and the dinner we had in the restaurant was the best meal we had in Costa Rica. We were only going to stay one night, but we were so impressed and having such a good time that we stayed another night. The first night we were in a standard room (which was anything but standard!) and the second night we were upgraded to a villa. Room service breakfast on our patio was an extra nice way to start our day. Then hiking the trail down to the beach was just beautiful. Thank you Villa Caletas for such a wonderful stay! We certainly hope to return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review ! Hopefully, life still have some nice surprise coming out from nowhere, we are so happy to know that we were able to participate in the making of new warm memorable moments ! We hope to see you soon back with us.
Have a great day. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at VC for 3 nights in December. After traveling around Costa Rica and staying at two other places my boyfriend and I were excited to be near the beach and have a relaxing time before heading home. When we arrived we immediately went to the concierge and ask her to make us a dinner reservation at a nice wine bar in town and told her we'd like to go to a nice white sand beach one day and surf. In terms of the dinner reservation she didn't get back to us until 7:30pm when we spoke to her at 3pm and she told us she would call by 7pm. This was completely unprofessional and not only did she not get us a reservation where we requested on a Sunday night but since she called so late, she didn't get us a reservation until later than we wanted to go.

As we discussed a white sand beach with her on the first day she told us we could go to this other resort 20 minutes away for $50 a person + $50 for taxi service but we had to tell her immediately. Later she decided that we didn't have to tell her right away because her "friend" could get us in if we called the next day. She told us this resort she was sending us to for $150 total would have towels, food, drinks, white sand beaches, beach chairs. She was wrong on all accounts and not only wasted our day, but my boyfriend cut his foot on metal on the beach and we had to hitchhike back to the lobby where they only refunded us $25. We called the concierge at VC many times to ask her to help get our money back since we didn't use any of the services at this "beach" but she was completely unhelpful and unapologetic and didn't even send a taxi to pick us up immediately despite my boyfriend having metal in his foot. The beach scene had a DJ, people had to bring their own towels, chairs, there was no food or drinks. The beach was dirty, the water wasn't clear and it was packed like cancun on spring break- there is a reason there weren't any gringos there. The pools had no available chairs. When we got back to the hotel I asked to speak with the manager about the poor concierge service and he neglected to get back to me. I had to go back to the front desk the next day to finally speak with him and all he provided was a $25 credit for the taxi service despite his staff being completely incompetent.

The last day at VC went to waste because my boyfriend couldn't do anything because he had metal in his foot from the incident at the beach the day before and most of all, we didn't trust the concierge to suggest an activity based on her horrible recommendation the day before that cost us a lot of money and wasted 3 hours of our day.

If you stay at this hotel, the food is alright, the villas are nice but DO NOT expect any service from the concierge, so plan ahead. This hotel could care less about it's customers or else the manager would have offered more than just a $25 comp on the taxi charge for the horrible experience they put us through.

Room Tip: villa was nicest we stayed in while in costa rica
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear friends thank you for your comments. We at Villa Caletas try to give the best service we can to our guests being inside or outside from the property. All the tours or activities that our Concierge has to propose have been physically checked and reviewed by our staff. Once again we are sorry that you did not enjoyed your tour. It is true that some places might be crowded during the winter vacation but we cannot manage these kind of situation. We hope that you will keep and overall good souvenir of your trip in Costa Rica. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
564 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing