We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place is wonderful. Great views from almost everywhere. My husband and I stayed here for three nights and it was the most relaxing place we have stayed in a long time. We upgraded to one of the best rooms they had and it was well worth it. The room was a villa on its own with an infinitely pool on the balcony. Talk about romantic. The only slight negative of the place is the limited places to eat. Otherwise it would be close to perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear friends, thank you very much for your very nice review. We hope you will visit us again soon. Best regards manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I got married at Villa Caletas on January 18, 2014, at the Zephyr Palace. This place is breathtaking. Zephyr Palace is off to the side of the property and provided one of the most amazing wedding locations I have ever seen. The hotel can be stingy on the pricing and you need to check your bill carefully, but in terms of location and beauty it is second to none.

We rented Master 16 Suite at Villa Caletas, which must be the best unit in the hotel. It is not easily accessible if you do not like going up and down many stairs. But we rather enjoyed the exercise and would do it every day of our lives to live in that unit. It was such a treat to wake up to this view everyday. It was like living in a dream. The sunsets from anywhere on this property are gorgeous.

The unit has an infinity pool, jacuzzi room, living room, and large outdoor patio. There are windows looking out into the ocean in every room. Absolutely gorgeous. I was brushing my teeth in the jacuzzi room one day and saw a few toucans in the trees. A few days later, we saw at least 6 toucans before sunset flying around from tree to tree. I also saw scarlet macaws flying in the distance. We were visited by a coatimundi, after having accidentally left some food outside. We were also visited a few days in a row around mid-morning by a large iguana, who was as curious about us as we were about him. We did not, however, see any monkeys. But we saw a lot of those in Manuel Antonio.

The rooms were nicely kept and clean. We had an ant issue in the bathroom, but not a big enough deal for us to complain about. The housekeepers missed a day of cleaning our room, so we had to call.

We had read some mixed reviews on the food, but we found the food to be really good at the teatro near the amphitheater. I'm pretty picky when it comes to food but their Caletas breakfast, lobster salad, and guanabana smoothies were delicious. The food was very good and even better for the wedding (especially the surf and turf). We were all pleasantly surprised.

This place is all about the view. Other than the villas, restaurant, common pool, and a small spa, which just has rooms for treatment, there is not much else to do at this hotel. It is a very large property, but did not feel as large since there were not a ton of common areas. If you are looking for a more resort-type place, we highly recommend the Marriott Los Suenos, which is a gigantic property. We had our welcome reception there.

Villa Caletas is a special place, and not just because we got married there. How it is only #5 on hotels for Jaco is beyond me. The first 3 hotels do not look anywhere nearly as nice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Friends, thank you so much for your very nice review. As you were able to experience, wedding are always magical moments in Villa Caletas and Zephyr Palace. We work very hard to deliver to our guests the perfect setting, ambiance as well as memories that will last for ever. We look forward to see you back with us soon !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I was here for about three hours with a group of friends. We stopped here for a few drinks and the sunset. The place is flat out impressive. There is about a two mile driveway straight up a mountain. Once your into the place you immediately realize your in a special place. The food, chicken wings and fish and chips was better than average. The drinks were drinks. The view was one of the best I've exsperienced. If you have the oportunity to watch the sunset here don't pass on it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Friends, thank you very for your warm review. Paradise´s gates are wide open and waiting for your next visit. !!.. Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I booked a couple nights for a buddies wedding that was hosted next door Zephyr Place. Everything about this hotel felt right. The Views are spectacular. The Service Amazing! I needed a Cigar Cutter at 10:00 PM and sure enough called the front desk and they sent Giovanni to my room just to cut my cigar. Now that's service! I ended up staying an extra night cause just cause my girlfriend didn't want to leave. It's the type of place you would go if you want to propose, get married, or stay on your hunnymoon. AMAZING spot! And I've traveled a lot. Very memorable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear friends, Thank you so much for your nice comments !! We love to know that you had such a great time with us. We like to believe that our bells boys are world champions in service and kindness !! You prove us right. We hope you will visit us again soon. Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I have traveled a great deal and have been to some beautiful places, but the views, sunsets and surroundings at the Villa Caletas are second to none. We awoke on Saturday morning to a pink sunset shining into our master bedroom. The only thing that surpassed the hotel and the rainforest were the people who work there. They are always pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. It is one of the few times that I can say that it was truly worth the money.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view of the Pacific Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Readprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. Having being myself in Capri and Amalfi, i am very happy and proud to ear such comments. We work very hard to give the best service we can and we are very thankful for your words over our staff. We are looking forward to see you back in the Italian part of Costa Rica !!.: ).. Pura Vida. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

this time is the second time I living in. Here, I own a tourism company and the first time my clients charm them to the point of return after 2 years and is just as nice and excellent service, not to mention that we were 18 people and yet the cheek in was fast and after our amazing room, the bellman was very informative and taught me everything I had to know about this place. I hope to return soon

Room Tip: the view from the suites are unreal and very tranquil and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Friend, thank you very much for your warm review. It is always a pleasure for us to ear such nice comments not only over the place but also over our dedicated staff that will go the extra mile to give the best service they can. Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of being able to have dinner while watching the sunset from the gorgeous hotel. We walked around the property, which is amazing to say the least. The infinity pool is like nothing we've seen and the amphitheater built into the hillside was spectacular. Even the iguana hanging around seemed to really enjoy the view! We would love to be able to stay there if we ever return to Costa Rica again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, Front Office Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your dinner with us at our Amphitheater Restaurant. As you mentioned, the view from here is just amazing and staff does it best to give our visitors the best service we can. We hope you will visit us again soon and stay with us for the night so you can enjoy the whole magic of Villa Caletas. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
585 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: £125 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing