We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooner's Paradise”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Honeymooner's Paradise”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It took my breath away as we walked into our garden suite! It was beautiful and the view was amazing! The people that worked there were very friendly and cleaned the rooms thoroughly.

I would refer Villa Caletas to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!!!!

Room Tip: The garden room suite 20 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice comments. Paradise will stay here, and will be waiting for your next visit !!. Have a great day . manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    220
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
202
757
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL IN COSTA RICA! I stayed in a beautiful villa with a direct view of the tropics and the ocean. The above average hotel staff were from start to finish, the most pleasureable group of people. When I arrived, I was greeted with a much needed cold towel and fresh iced tea! Then I was driven to my room which had a private entrance for me and the person with the room below me and that's it! I loved the fact that the rooms are so private. It truly felt like I was at home away from home. The spa treatments are affordable and the service sublime. After hiking for the first half of my trip to Costa Rica, my stay at Villa Caletas proved to be my perfect resting place! Many thanks to Randall and Giovani - these men work from the heart and were always ready to assist me with my needs as well as take care of things I didn't know I needed. Just so respectful and courteous! The only negitive I have to report is the food is a hit or a miss. For lunch chicken fucilli was amazing but the rib eye for dinner was lacking good taste. The private beach was a complete surprise! The beach made the trip up hill worth it and the views were the cherry on an already spectacular cake! If you are looking for relaxation, privacy, exclusivity, excellent service and comfort surrounded by a perfect view from all points...Villa Caletas is the perfect place to be!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your very kind words. All the staff feel proud of your comments and will be looking forward for your nest visit. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is not the typical property you find in Costa Rica. It definitely has a European flair. If you are looking to find Costa Rican culture you will not find it here. Having said that, this is a magnificent property. The infinity pool at sunset is incredible. The fitness room over looking the Pacific is great. Having drinks at sunset in the amphitheater is simply unbelievable. The restaurant over looks the Pacific from high on a mountain. While it is difficult to get down to the ocean (they do have shuttles) it is worth it. Beautiful sunbeds with canopies and a nice bar. The rooms are very nice and have all the amenities you would expect including bathrooms,etc. The food in the restaurant was very good and beautifully presented. While this property is away from anything at the top of a mountain, it is easy to get transportation to Jaco,etc. The only drawback- the sleep sofa in the room was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your nice comments. We strive to give a one of kind experience to each and every guests that visit the hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We visited Jaco as the third part of our trip. First, we stayed at Manatus Hotel (also very pleasing) in Tortuguero, followed by Tabacon Spa & Resort in La Fortuna, and then at Villa Caletas... this was by far our favorite place. After staying in a highly-priced suite at Tabacon Resort (that felt like any other resort -- in the room itself, you would never know if you were in Costa Rica or Vegas), this was a breath of fresh air... A lot of charm, character, and beauty. We loved the tropical Victorian décor. We were also lucky to have Room 11 -- a room with a GREAT view. Hopefully when we stay again, we'll get a room that is just as nice. The staff and restaurant were great, and we're only sorry we did not have time to stay longer than two nights to explore the rest of the grounds. While we enjoyed everything we experienced in Costa Rica, our stay (including the massages we got) at Villa Caletas were definitely one of the highlights of the trip! We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your words. These three words you used in your title sounds like silk to us !! We work very hard everyday to deliver this kind of experience to our guests !! We hope you will visit us back soon. Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

While the decor is not my taste, this resort is very lush and lovely. High end rooms with breath-taking views. Great service from the entire staff (front desk, housekeeping, restaurant staff, spa and the lovely gentleman that showed me how to make a basket).

Two days in to our stay a very large family took over several rooms around us and were VERY noisy. When we mentioned it to the front desk staff they immediately moved us to a different room & building that was even better than the one we were staying in.

We have photos of two scarlet macaws that flew around our room every day that we were there.
And the private beach is a little slice of paradise.

They just need to replace the cactus in the planters going up the driveway.
:)

Room Tip: The villa rooms are large and have a great view and a pool for just the 8 units in the building. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSMJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to know that our staff gave you the service you deserved and that their responsiveness make your stay with us even better. Have a great day !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was one if the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed! The views where breathtaking!!! The staff was extremely nice and great amenities ! I also loved how Eco friendly they where. Totally recommend!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcurryrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad to know that you had a great time with us and we praise your comment over Sustainable Tourism, as you were able to see we are active and committed !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I first came to Villa Caletas back in 2009 for dinner. Watched the sunset and enjoyed the grounds.

So when I returned for a stay in Feb 2014 I was let down. Not on was it not as beautiful as I remembered but the staff was especially rude. The gate guards were always rude and unhelpful. The front desk staff was rude on check in. And the maintenance guys were unknowledgeable.

This place is pretty and the sunsets are amazing but do your self a favor and stay somewhere else. For what you get it is overpriced. Just come out for dinner and the view.

On top of the staff our room had NO hot water for all 3 days. We complained several times but nothing was ever done. If you dont mind cold showers ask for room #1.

We spent one afternoon at the private beach which was nice. The bar staff there was very nice. However the cabanas were covered in wasp nests and we were constantly trying to get away from them.

The food was pretty good. No complaints. But this place could really use a staff change over. If they would have been a bit more friendly and fixed the hot water situation they would have 5 stars.

If you want to spend this kind of money for a nice place check out Hotel Belmar in Monteverde. We stayed there 1 night and it was the same price. The rooms were better and the service was perfect. Both Belmar and Villa Caletas are part of the distinguished club of hotels in Costa Rica but perhaps Caletas should be reevaluated.

Now I'm sure some manager is going to respond to this and say they are sorry like they do on previous bad reviews. But the problem should have been fixed the first day we were there not a month after we left with an apology.

Sean-N-Tori

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean-N-Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear friends, thank you for your review. I guess i am the "some manager" you mentioned in your description of the hotel. i would like to start with the positive part of your review, as you mentioned the the quality of the grounds, the beach, the food and the sunset. Now for the negative part, we train our staff on a daily basis to be as courteous and helpful as possible. after reading you, it seems that none of the personal that was serving you was able to satisfied your needs. We are going to work harder. For the technical part of your review, when guests have some problems with hot water or AC, most of the time these problems are solved just after a simple phone call to the main reception. We have a dedicated professional personal specially trained to repair all these issues. If in case there is nothing at all that can be done, we always find a solution, in your case, we would have never let you in a room with no hot water for three days in a row, and have better moved you to another room so you could enjoyed your stay with us. It is my duty to solved these problems when they happened, and it is the first thing i checked after my arrival tot the hotel every morning. I found awkward if you were with no hot water for three days that you did not tried to reach me and demanded a solution that obviously would have been granted..
We hope you will visit our beautiful country and enjoy the Pura Vida Vibe again. Best regards , manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing