We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW...What a Wonderful Honeymoon...”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW...What a Wonderful Honeymoon...”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica for a late honeymoon. Villa Caletas was an amazing experience. The majestic views begin with your drive up the steep mountain to get to the front desk. Upon arrival, you are greeted with first class service. Our room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The view from our balcony was phenomenal. The private Jacuzzi on the balcony was the perfect touch. The view from the amphitheater is so picturesque that is seems surreal. However, I will agree with previous posts that the food at the hotel leaves a little to be desired, but it is not awful by any means. I suggest taking an early morning walk down the mountain to the private beach. It is a wonderful walk and we saw a lot of wildlife(including monkeys). Also, Caletas beach is prettier than Jaco and Herradura beach by far. In all honesty, I was not in love with the town of Jaco, but Villa Caletas was so phenomenal that it makes up for what the town lacks. All in all this trip was the honeymoon of our dreams. We truly enjoyed the Costa Rica and Villa Caletas. We hope to return in the future.

Side note***While in Jaco, Lemon Zest is a must. The food and service is great and consistent (we went twice).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCORLANDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Dear friends, greetings from sunny Villa Caletas!!

We are more than happy to know that you had a great time in Villa Caletas on your belated honmeymoon, thats what is all about!!

We are lucky to be in a mountain top with such a nice panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and the primary forest, where you can see whales, toucans, sloths, small wild cats, agoutis, coati mundis and a lot more animals. Villa Caletas is definitelly priviledged in the location, and we are happy to have developed the hotel in a way that we can share with almost anyone staying in one of our rooms.
We are always very grateful and open to any suggestions that can help us improve our service and quality of what we offer, please feel free to let us know what should we improve in our restauran ts so that you be 100% happy, we would like to know.
Thank you for taking the time to write about us, we really appreciate your feedback.
Have a wonderful day!!!
Your friends at Villa Caletas.

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    220
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
202
757
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The experience of sitting at breakfast watching a pair of Scarlet Macaws fly around in the jungle below our mountain location, is one I will always associate with the Vila Caletas.

We stayed at the hotel for four days for my nephews wedding. The hotel is located on the top of a mountain overlooking jungle and ocean. The employees provided excellent service and were very friendly.

My wife attended the free yoga lessons with Anna and thoroughly enjoyed them. The shuttle to the private beach drives down the mountain and passes the hotel nursery. The nursery is worth a visit. When we were there the plants were attracting a lot of butterflies.

We stayed in a deluxe room which had a jungle and ocean view. We enjoyed waking up in the morning to the view. The only downside was the room was a bit musty smelling. But it is the rainy season so that my explain it. Opening the windows cleared it out.

The gardens are excellent and we saw many varieties of birds and animals. From our room we observed monkeys and had a Coati visitor to our balcony. (He was scared or us and ran away if he saw us.)

All in all an excellent place to stay in Jaco, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben60025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Dear friends,

It is always so nice to hear good experiences from people who visited our hotel!!! We thank you for letting us know.

We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Villa Caletas, including the Yoga lessons with Ana, she is great at yoga, massages, reiki and all other wellness activities.
The nursery is definitely worth a visit, that is the place where we reproduce plants, germinate seeds for our friends of the forest reforestation program, and where we have a collection of orchids, bromeliads, heliconias and all kinds of tropical plants.

Regarding the wildlife that can be seen, among other animals like toucans, anteaters, sloths, monkeys, white nose coatis and raccoons, not too long ago, we were having our weekly staff meeting at the Mirador Terrace while watching 7 Humpback whales, some with calves, jumping out of the water playing just outside our private Caletas beach for about 3 hours. Needless to say, an amazing show for us and all the tourists around.

We feel lucky working in this little piece of paradise and feel glad to share it with our clients!!
Best regards,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Just the drive up to the villas is impressive, and that is just the beginning. Our room felt so private, almost like we were on our own at the hotel. Large, private patio with a hot tub that is cleaned every day. Sweeping views of the ocean and mountains. Gorgeous sunsets. We had monkeys and other creatures swinging from the trees just off our patio. Since we had rented a 4x4, we were able to drive down to the beach very early in the morning and had it all to ourselves. Food was delicious and everything was reasonably priced. One downside is that since is it such a beautiful place, many weddings are held there (3 out of the 5 days we were there) and they will close off either the dining room or bar area to accomodate the guests.

On another note, it is an eco-friendly hotel meaning that they don't use pesticides so be prepared to find bugs and spiders outside for sure, and ocassionally in your room. We had one incident with a very large spider but that was it. We decided not to bring food into the room to reduce the risk of seeing more insects.

Anyhow, as much as I hate spiders, I loved this place and would gladly return next time I am in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 30 October 2010
Dear Friends,

We thank you very much for letting us know about your nice experience in Villa Caletas. We are are a romantic spot in the middle of the jungle and yes, people come here to get married !! We apologize if for a wedding you couldnt experience one of our restaurants.
Villa Caletas beach is beauitiful, as it is very private, we are glad you had it all to yourselves, thats the idea, feeling privacy in a beaitul environment at the beach.

Vila Caletas participates in a program called Certificate for Sustainable Tourism, which encourages the use of natural pesticides, produced by our gardeners in our nursery, from organic waste, in order to protect our envirnment from the dangerous and harmful chemicals!
Again, thank you for your visit and for taking the time to let us know about your good experience!!!

Your friends form Villa Caletas,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

my wife and I really enjoyed our stay; found a little cute Pizote (small furry puppy like creature) outside our back glass sliding patio door, he likes almonds! staff was very attentive and helpful; very nice cafe, dining room and bar with incredible views, up high off of a cliff. Tried to extend our stay but the place was booked up for the weekend so we ended up at the Los Suenos Marriot for a preplanned wedding which was, well, just like a Marriot but right on the beach, but we wished we were back at Villa Caletas.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Good afternoon, and thank you very much for your kind comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us that we are doing things good. Please let us know if you have any suggestions to help us improve the service, and believe me, we are very sorry to have been fully booked so that you could have stayed one more night. When in Costa Rica again please visit us and we will make sure there is a room waiting for you!!
Best regards,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I actually stayed here prior to November 09 but there was no choice to change that date. It was my first visit to Costa Rica and after reading some of the poor reviews...I felt I had t write something. I stayed in one of their best rooms, appointed nicely, very clean, private pool with ocean front view...amazing! Now the food was good, little pricey but what are vacations for? If you don't want to eat at the hotel, Jaco is very close. Someone mentioned being far away from other choices but if you have a car...town is just down the street.
I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE. It's a little pricey but you pay for what you get and to stay in a hotel like this with a private pool in North America....you'd be paying double at least.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Good morning friends,

We are very grateful for your comments, we thank you much. We are glad that you noticed our hard work. We feel motivated to keep doing a great job to make a difference in your experience in Villa Caletas.
Thank you for letting us know and our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

From the time that we drove up the long mountain road to get to Villa Coletas we knew that we were going to enjoy our stay. Our first night was in one of the Villas with an amazing view, but be prepared to walk many steps and enjoy the beautiful scenery along the way. Our last 2 nights were in an upgraded suite with no steps and an exceptional view of the mountainside and ocean. Be prepared to share your balcony with the local habitat as we saw monkeeys playing in the trees and tucans every were you look. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly and would share stories of the hotel and surrounding area. The food was good and the price was very reasonable and since we went during the slow part of the season we didn't have to wait for a table.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear friends,

We thank you very much for taking the time to let us know you had a great time! Knowing this is a great motivation for us to keep doing our jobs better everyday! We know that Villa Caletas is a little piece of paradise on earth and feel very lucky and very proud of working for this hotel.
Sincerely,

manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed here with my wife after several years. We do live in CR and had stayed at the property before. They upgraded us - if that is the term - to a room which was at the Zephyr Palace, their top suite as per the website.
The room is not worth the price.
The service was spotty at best.
The food was mediocre and the staff unprofessional.
Welcome and departure was timely.
Has seen better days. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ticopica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments, we can always use your comments and suggestions to improve our service and quality. Would have liked less time go by before posting your comments since what you are saying happened 4 months ago and its now more difficult to track what went wrong.
I`Il be happy to hear the details directly from you so that we can work on your suggestions,
Kind regards,


manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing